We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I realized today after staying at this location numerous times that I haven't reviewed the property. As mentioned by other reviewers, the price to stay here is a little high compared to other near by properties. I have found that if you ask you might be able to negotiate a lower price. As far as the fitness center issues that have been mentioned, I don't find it to be quite as bad as mentioned. There are two treadmills, an elliptical, and free weights. All weights above 25lbs are missing from the rack. This should be addressed. If you are a hardcore exercise guru that needs more than this, you must realize this is a fitness center and not your local gym. If you need more than this you should be at the Marriott, JW, or Courtyard downtown. My stays have always been pleasant and the employees have been friendly. Breakfast is typical for a Springhill. The rooms have always been clean.

A side note, there are many great local restaurants within 15 minutes. Don't settle for the fair chain restaurants.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank regionaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Regionaltraveler,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your most recent stay. It sounds like you are both a seasoned traveler and a frequent guest of ours. We appreciate your patronage and honest review of your stay.
I have been working with a company to build up our selection of free weights and please be assured it has been a priority for several months to bring in quality weights our guests will enjoy using. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review myself and the entire staff appreciates receiving valued guest feedback.
We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids!
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    75
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
21
5
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Typical Springhill Suites, clean rooms, recently updated and convenient to freeways, although it sits way back off Alpine and would be difficult to find after dark. Friendly staff, nice breakfast, again...typical Springhill experience. $159/night for its location seemed pricey to me, as there is not much but restaurants and retail in the area. HI Express next door was $40 cheaper, but I try to book Marriott for the points. Probably wouldn't stay here again unless I could get a better rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waylontdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Mr. Waylontdog,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your latest stay in Grand Rapids. As a senior contributor to Trip Advisor you opinion and feedback is very valuable and appreciated.
I understand the rate seemed a bit pricey however I can assure you for a newly removed Marriott property with the proximity to downtown and shopping/dining our prices are competitive for this market. I cannot speak for the HI Express next door that has not been newly renovated.
We hope that you will still consider us as an option with looking for accommodations in Grand Rapids in the future. Thank you again for your kind remarks and we hope to see you soon.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very clean rooms! The breakfast was good and the service was excellent. This hotel is in a good safe location with restaurants nearby. I was traveling on business and I recommend this hotel. There is also a 24hr pantry with goodies and snacks. I didn't use the pool, but I peeked at it and it looked clean and chairs and towels were all put out really nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Octorafest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Octorafest,
On behalf of the entire staff of the Springhill Suites North I would like to thank you for writing a review of your most recent stay. Reviews on Tripadvisor not only help future guests but help the staff make improvements and celebrate memorable service, something it sounds like you experienced.
Service is the name of our game and to have experienced a clean room, good breakfast and excellent service is something we take great pride in providing to all our guests every stay. We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Thank you again for you kind review.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting my Grand Children and we had a pizza party/ pool party. They were very accommodating and let us use the lobby/breakfast area on a quiet Sunday night. Ashley was very helpful and professional with all of our questions. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigschnibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Bigschnibbs,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your most recent stay. From myself to Ashley to the entire time we were all delighted to learn you and your family were able to enjoy our hotel and that we provided you with the legendary service we are known for.
We hope to be able to provide you and your family with exceptional service during your next visit to Grand Rapids. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompsons Station, TN
Level Contributor
199 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was in GR for a quick business trip and stayed at the Spring Hill Suites North. This is a newer hotel on the north west side. The people are friendly & helpful and the property is in nice shape, the rooms clean, and the breakfast is a bonus. I didn't have the opportunity to use the pool or exercise room but they are available and look up to date. Go ahead, stay here; it's nice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Carl M,
Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. We appreciate your honest observations of our hotel staff and overall accommodations. We take great pride in providing our guests with exceptional service we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Work trip to town and picked this hotel based on reviews and realized as I pulled in to the parking lot I had been here a year ago. Hotel reception was even better than prior trip. They were having a "pink party" in honor of breast cancer awareness and valentines day for free - hand massages and free gifts. Got a room on the top floor (326) not a true corner like 325 or 330 but surprising how quiet. Had early morning meeting each day and breakfast was ready 15 min early (5:45 am) and was excellent - egg/cheese omelet, meat, bagel or english muffin. Waffels and many other oprions were available. Wonderful visit. Really like this place. Worked out both nights and treadmills were totally open both nights. Ear phones were available from front desk but I brought my own. Like they have clean towels on each piece of equipment and pool chairs waiting for guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nah1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Nah1963,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay. As a senior contributor your review and comments are especially valuable to our hotel as we look for ways to continuously improve.
In Grand Rapids in the month of February the city is partnering with several organizations to support proceeds of sales to the Susan G. Komen of West Michigan. Our hotel is participating in various capacities and a Tuesday managers reception is one way we are showing our appreciation for guests and the cause.
We read your comments this morning in our morning meeting and everyone was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, workout facility and arrival experience. We all take great pride in our s3ervice and accommodations and it is so rewarding to share guest experiencing like yours with the staff,.
Again, thank you for your comments; we look forward to serving you on your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of this hotel. The free buffet breakfast was a welcomed surprise, as it seems to be one of many fading amenities. The attention to detail included complimentary cookies at the front desk, flavored creamers for your morning coffee and a complete weather report in the elevator. The decor of the hotel is very current. I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Grand Rapids area. Plus, it's located just off Alpine Ave. which has everything you need.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MjW105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelCrowther, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Mjwieber,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. From the hot breakfast buffet to the delightful touches of fresh hot cookies upon arrival, deluxe coffee bar and redesigned elevator décor with up to date weather we take great pride in our service and accommodations.
We look forward to serving you during your next visit to Grand Rapids. It was our pleasure to provide such memorable service and accommodations.
Cheers!
Rachel Crowther, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
#14 of 51 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Grand Rapids North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
10.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North

Property: SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North
Address: 450 Center Dr NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544-8227
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids North Hotel Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing