We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Something for Everyone

The gardens were charming. There were both inside and outside gardens. They had an arrid garden... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Larry W. S
via mobile
Really glad we found----well worth out time

Grand Rapids should be proud to have this park there.We are tourist from Milwaukee and found this... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
suedo66
,
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Read all 2,870 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Grand Rapids
from $10.00
More Info
from $10.00
More Info
Reviews (2,870)
Filter reviews
2,870 results
Traveler rating
2,365
420
63
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,365
420
63
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews children's garden japanese garden butterfly exhibit meijer gardens tram tour christmas trees from around the world gardens are beautiful summer concert series beautiful place to visit world class tree house great lakes all ages year round something for everyone gift shop da vinci
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,870 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent about 5 hours here and enjoyed every moment of it. Be sure and take tram even though it is an extra couple dollars to get the lay of the land. Even though we are senior citizens we found the children area very enjoyable. The oriental garden was the only disappointment as it is very large for the little it has to offer.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank GrandPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I recently traveled from PA to spend a week in Michigan. Being a garden lover (especially Asian gardens), I had to visit here. We visited the day after Labor Day, a day with very light attendance, which allowed us to get a very close parking spot (and being a Tuesday, it was open late). The construction going on at the entrance was a bit of a distraction, but we knew the grounds would be lovely beyond that. Once in the visitor’s center, the three separate lines (first to pay admission, then to have our tickets checked, and then finally to get a map—each stop just a few yards from each other) seemed unnecessary. We took the narrated, 45-minute-long tram ride first thing; it was enjoyable and saved much walking to see the sculptures. Their conservatory and Children’s Garden were nice, but our favorite area the huge Japanese garden. It featured a large pond ringed with pathways, boulders, waterfalls, decks, etc.—very picturesque. It wasn’t truly authentic in its design or plantings but still very pleasant. They had some bonsai trees on display, including one pear tree that actually produced fruit (see photo).

The grounds here are sprawling, and my feet gave out before we got to all the far corners. We have visited many large, outstanding gardens across the country, and this one had less color and fewer actual show garden display areas than others we have toured; we have even seen much larger conservatories. We were glad to see the many sculptures here, but most really weren’t our taste and certainly weren’t worth walking way out to see, in our view; so, thank goodness for the tram. We had lunch in their café (with an odd menu that day); we did enjoy the Chihuly glass on the cafe ceiling. All in all, we spent four hours here, including lunch. We had free admission as AHS members.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank ellenbee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While recently visiting Grand Rapids Michigan we visited the Frederik Meijer Gardens and we amazed at the vast expanse of gardens and sculptures...a peaceful oasis in a large city. We were also impressed with the Children's area, a perfect place for young families. Definitely worth visiting!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Travellers1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely take the tram tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and passionate. Some interesting pieces in the sculpture collection.

We enjoyed dinner in the large atrium. Would be a great wedding reception venue.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank AlumniGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my first time here and I am not a garden guy, but this place was awesome. Remarkable how not a leaf seemed to be out of place, and I could see where all the seasons would be stunning in their own way!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank indianawantsyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews