We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Green Delight”

Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: View modern sculpture in a stunning garden setting at this combination botanical garden and sculpture park, which features exotic plants, desert and Victorian gardens, wetlands, meadows, and sculptures by famous artists throughout.
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Green Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

There is green year around at Frederik Meijer Gardens. From butterflies to orchids to Christmas decor, the indoor gardens are full of color and beauty. The outdoor splendor of spring, summer, and fall are evident on every trail and it's a peaceful stroll on a sunny day. The sculptures add to the artistic atmosphere and I have particularly enjoyed the Chihuly glass exhibits. Even Art Prize exhibits make an appearance here in September. There is a special sculpture garden for children and special activities throughout the complex. This is a great destination for all ages!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loralind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,697
    311
    41
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Butterflies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I love Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park in Grand Rapids. I usually go in the spring or summer, so this particular trip was a new, wintry experience. The butterfly exhibit was a great respite from the cold weather. We saw a ton of butterflies, enjoyed the warmth, took some great pictures, and had fun watching kids and adults enjoy the atmosphere. The staff was very respectful and friendly.

Though this wasn't the intent of my recent visit, my absolute favorite part of the park is their summer concert series offering. It is an amazing (outdoor) place to see a show and worth the ticket price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mojomuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For Art and Nature lovers this site in Michigan is a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have been to this site twice, all the way from Norway.
I think it is fabulous.
The Green Houses is such an exciting experience and also very well "educational".
The park with the sculptures as fascinating.
Go first around with the "train" and listen to the very knowledes guides and drives who bring you into fascination of this large, natural park with so many different sculptures you feel you must come back.
The staff is very service minded and they answere every questions with knowledge and proud.

And when in Grand Rapids, discover Michigan's second largest City.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Something new to see every time we go. Well maintained and the staff was very helpful. It great to watch the activities of the butterflies this time of year especially when the sun shines.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJHtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The butterflies were out in force”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a wonderful place to visit when you are staying or just driving by Grand Rapids. I have been here several times over the years but when the butterflies are out in March this is definitely my favorite time of year.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lar3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing