We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel 6 Loses”

Knights Inn Grand Rapids East
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Grand Rapids East
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This Motel 6 advertises WiFi. WiFi is NON-EXISTENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The signal is so weak that neither my laptop nor Xoom could connect. To add insult to injury they charge $2.99/day! The staff was very polite and helpful, except for the WiFi. The room was clean. We had to ask for toilet paper and a bath towel. Clydesdale horses were tromping around on the second floor above our room. There was a John and a prostitute checking in at 5:30 AM the second morning of our stay. There was an angry fight in the parking lot also that morning. The third morning there were four very seedy looking men hanging around the entrance to the Motel. The evening of the second day there was a serious male female fight in the room next door which lasted for over an hour with the female screaming at the top of her lungs for her "keys". "After all I have done for you...." The non-smoking room reeked of smoke. We will not be staying at the Motel 6 again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlptir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

Checked in late tuesday evening...sheets were dirty. Complained on Wednesday morning and they said they would clean our room. Never cleaned. had to change our own sheets we got from the front desk. Rooms were never cleaned during our stay, no fresh towels. Had to keep going to the front desk for towels and sheets and clean our own room.

On Friday when we returned a nintendo ds was missing from our bag. We had the nintendo packed under all of our clothes (so obviously the maid had to dig through our clothes to find it.)

Please stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank templeton31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

This is a very inexpensive Motel 6, even by their standards. The grounds are not very tidy, and the carpets need attention and more frequent vacuuming, and new bedspreads would be nice. However, the staff was friendly, I got no arguments about my rate (which I had read of in other reviews), and the housekeeper did a nice job in my room. It was quiet overnight, with no signs of troublesome activity. If you have a pet, there is very little grass at this location, but enough to make it work short term. (I was there for dog shows, and it was OK for me, just for overnights.) Lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank survivorMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I reserved a room online and had a confirmation code. When I got to the hotel, the staff argued with me stating that their rates went up and they could not honor the price I agreed to pay in my reservation. What is the point of making a reservation if they can change the price after you have driven 500 miles to stay there. Finally, a manager was called and she fixed it, but not until after I was already upset and the rude hotel staff made my greeting unbearable.

I understand this is a cheap hotel and did not expect much, but the non-smoking room wreaked like cigarettes. The bedding, inclduing comforter, blanket and sheets all had holes and stains on them. Worst of all, the air conditioner did not work. It was 90 degrees outside and I would have been coller out there than I was in the room. I barely slept because of the heat of the room, but based on my earlier experience with the staff was not about to complain.

Finally, I had a reservation for a Queen bed and got two doubles. So all in all, I did not even get what I paid for and had a miserable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tribefan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

The hotel is very near the airport, but the room was very minimal. Wireless internet is not even remotely available. I reserved a room on the motel 6 website, and the front desk worker proceeded to tell me that the price I booked the hotel for was not the correct price. Luckily, he did give me the price I booked for. He had fought with another customer before me.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Grand Rapids
Red Roof Inn Grand Rapids
#30 of 48 in Grand Rapids
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Grand Rapids - Kentwood
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#17 of 48 in Grand Rapids
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Grand Rapids
Travelodge Grand Rapids
#35 of 48 in Grand Rapids
453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Grand Rapids Airport
2.4 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Grand Rapids East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Grand Rapids East

Address: 3524 28th St SE, I-96 at Exit 43A/28th St, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1604 (Formerly Motel 6 Grand Rapids East - Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $33 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Grand Rapids East 1.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Knights Inn Grand Rapids East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing