We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choices in Whiskey”
Review of Stella's Lounge

Stella's Lounge
Ranked #24 of 932 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Choices in Whiskey”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Like whiskey? This place is for you, it has about 300 different whiskey ranging from the cheap stuff to the most expensive. Classic arcade fills the corners and great art is on the walls.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mitteneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    109
    27
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food Coma”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our friend told us they they had the best burgers in the US. We went there and they were were right. OMG, good. Stuffed Bacon Cheddar Tater Tot very good. Were real fond of the fries, but with a burger that size, did not need more. Definitely will be back! Thank you to Roach..... awesome bartender! Parking is very hard to find.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abc354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
663 reviews
556 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“HUGE MESSY BELLY BUSTER BURGER with Napkins to match!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife LOVES a huge, messy hamburger with ALL THE FIXINS, so a few weeks ago, we headed downtown to Stella's before a hockey game at The Van. The place was 1/3 full at 5:00, but people were waiting for a table less than 15 minutes later, so GET THERE with time to spare. Our waitress was right on the table for a drink order, we told her we were first timers, there on a recommendation from a friend and she led us thru the menu. We both ordered burgers, one with fries and the other with rings. True to form, Stella's delivered as promised. The food was huge, messy and good quality ingredients. One thing of note. I have a pet peeve of restaurants that serve messy food, but cheap out on the quality/quantity of the napkins. NOT SO AT STELLA's...they do it right! Big, thick, absorbent and plentiful!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HDFLHPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dark, dirty, nope”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place is dark and dirty and what happened next was probably a good thing. We were in town for the night to go to the Griffins game. We sat down at 4PM on a Saturday in the front section, no where near the bar. Server asked to see our IDs. Three of us are in our late 20s and one of us was 20. We gladly presented our IDs, but informed our server we are just here to have lunch, none of us are drinking. She told us we had to leave since the 20 year old didn't have a parent with him. It would have been one thing if she was nice about it and explained their policy politely, but she gave us horrible attitude from the start for apparently inconveniencing her. Considering that two of us were the 20 year old's older brothers, that should have been more than good enough, since we weren't DRINKING and it was the middle of the afternoon! We debated back and forth with our server for a minute before we realized our best bet was to take our business elsewhere. If it was later at night absolutely this would have made sense, but not at 4PM. We walked across the street to Buffalo Wild Wings, were seated and served no problem. I've already told what happened to several people, some of which work at restaurants, and no one has agreed with Stella's policy. If you are into the whole dark hipster scene, sure you'd like this place. If you want to grab a beer and watch the game, definitely go somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_Conway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
215 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Easy going place with great food and extensive whiskey list”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I've been to Stella's before but this visit was the first for the bloody mary bar. We loved the make your own and there were some great speciality infuse vodkas to choose from. Service was friendly and fast. The burgers are great. We like it here because the atmosphere is retro hipster without looking like they try too hard. Cool retro shows on the TV and all my favorite vids from my youth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GroovyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's Lounge also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Stella's Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing