We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delta by Marriott Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our family reunion took place here; impressed by the availability of handicap rooms and overall cleanliness of rooms and cheerfulness of staff. When Aunt Peggy needed a hospital stay and then returned to the motel, she was allowed to stay in her room after check-out time to await her afternoon flight home! The motel staff even checked on her periodically before her flight. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,424 - 1,430 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

I bid $40/night for a 2-1/2 Star hotel on Priceline, and won a stay at this property. It is an older property, obviously developed near the same time the adjacent Woodland Mall was built (which was in 1968). All the same, it was clean and well-maintained. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The TV in my room was a new, large flatscreen, which was very nice. The bed was very comfortable. The negatives: the wireless Internet was 1990s-style slow (at least in my room, which admittedly was on the top floor at the far end of the hallway); and the keycards did not open the locked exterior doors on the far side of the property, a problem which I noted others were having. I did not use the pool/waterpark area.

The property is located right in the heart of 28th St. suburbia; the huge Woodland Mall is next door (though, in true suburban style you have to climb a grass berm and hike across a parking lot to get there). If the national chain store or restaurant you're looking for is not in Woodland, it is definitely within one mile in either direction along 28th St. Downtown Grand Rapids is only about a 10-minute drive, however, and provides a great selection of local shopping and restaurants in an environment that actually has character.

I would definitely pay $40-$50/night again to stay at this property; I have paid this much at "list price" for other hotels that were downright filthy and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

First, this is a very inexpensive hotel. If you are looking for the Four Seasons this isn't it. However, I found the lobby to be clean and welcoming. My room and bathroom were clean and I was very happy with the very big flat screen in the room. I didn't use the pool area or the exercise room but I walked through it just out of curiosity. Nothing special except a water slide that wasn't functioning for some reason. Maybe it is seasonal? I'm not sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chwilliabiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I had my reception at this hotel. My contact was Kristin Ingersoll the Sales Manager 3333 28th Street Southeast • Grand Rapids, MI • 49512-1677 Phone: (616) 949-9222. Since I was out of state we had a lot of talking, planning etc. She was able to work with me and my wedding planner who was also out of state. There was not one glitch misstep or mistake. I was even over an hour late to my reception and Kristen held it all together. Kristen was available it seem 24 hours…she kept me informed and kept track of all my requests. We also had discounted rooms for the guest along with the suite for the wedding party. The staff that served the food was ever so gracious and took care of the wedding party like royalty. My relatives are still talking about the reception hall and the rooms. Even the children had fun with the pool. I highly recommend Kristen (Ramada) for any of your parties, reunions etc. She is great and I am so appreciative of the way she handled my wedding party and guest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherrie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The level of noise coming from the floor above us and from the hallway were too much when combined with an older bed. My wife put in earplugs and did ok, unfortunately I didn't have any. Nice TV in the room is about the only positive. Very inexpensive and it shows.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djkelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed at the Ramada Inn with family back in April to celebrate Spring Break. I regret ever using my debit card. For 1 the hotel is in need of a major make-over. Dirty dingy carpet a rancid odor in the halls and some appliances didn't even work (tv and remote). Don't even get me started on the filthy pool area that somehow has been deemed a water park more like a hazard with the excess amounts of chlorine. The bathroom was no treat either and i had the biggest suite available in this hole. We ended up checking out the next day and were told we only had to pay a fee of $77.04 because of our inconvenience everything else would be refunded which it was. So it was to my surprise when I looked into my account yesterday a month later and found it to read -394 dollars USD. Apparently the night my card was swept in April at the front desk some type of "glitch" occurred and they didn't receive their money. Yet they managed to refund me the difference of the $308 that was suppose to be charged to my card that night. So when I contacted the Ramada Inn they did nothing for me they told me they had a "glitch" in the system and my card didn't run correctly that night. Which is their fault yet somehow I have taken full responsibility for their irresponsible business behavior and malfunctioning computer system and am left with a $394 balance that I can't afford to pay for till next month. So unless you like glitches and unexpected charges that send you into overdraft stay away from this facade of a hotel. They will tell you you spent money that wasn't yours if you receive a refund. When in actuality they didn't take the money that was waiting for them in the account you charged your room to because of "glitches". I've never experienced "glitches" at any other properly running establishment never will visit a Ramada again.

Room Tip: Go 2 Another Hotel 4 A Good Room None Available Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

If you plan on staying in this hotel make sure NOT to get a room with window facing the so called waterpark that the hotel has as your room will reek chlorine fumes unbearable to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waldemar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South
Holiday Inn Express South
#22 of 48 in Grand Rapids
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Grand Rapids Airport
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
2.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta by Marriott Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta by Marriott Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 3333 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $122 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta by Marriott Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Delta by Marriott Grand Rapids Airport! We recently completed an extensive renovation and conversion to the Delta brand, and are excited to introduce guests to our new, streamlined, 21st century hotel experience! The Delta by Marriott Grand Rapids Airport offers 183 spacious, comfortable guest rooms and suites, an indoor water park, fitness center, on-site Starbucks and lounge, close proximity to Gerald R. Ford airport, shopping and entertainment, plus plenty of on-site event space for your next meeting, corporate event or wedding! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delta by Marriott Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Ramada Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing