We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but great”
Review of HopCat

HopCat
Ranked #5 of 943 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: 49 Drafts, 250+ bottles -- all craft beer, plus food you mom would make if she loved craft beer.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Busy but great”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Hopcat is pretty popular. Thus there is barely any seating on a great night. The beer choices are exciting and the menu compliments it (fries!). The wait staff can get a little confuzzled and behind. But that's what happens in a busy place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RW82014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    257
    69
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Not enough seating but great selection of beer”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

There's a reason why Hopcat is the number one brew pub in the USA. Their beer selection is amazing and their bartenders are very knowledgeable. But the one downside is that they did not have enough seats at the bar OR their tables. We had to spend the whole time we were there standing. Luckily, it's a great atmosphere and people around us were very friendly. I would definitely check out Hopcat and try out their unique selection!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome Food + Beer”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Loved the food at HopCat (especially the fries!) and the multitude of beer choices. Also, this place has a great atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlyssaSieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Huge Beer Selection, and Good Food”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I was in Grand Rapids for business for a week and stopped in at HopCat on a few different occasions. There beer selection is huge with a variety of regional Michigan beers as well as others. They have a good menu but you have to order any that comes with crack fries. I'm not sure what makes them so great, but they have a seasoning that makes this the best french fry I've ever had. Also, the atmosphere is fun and the bartenders/waiters were very friendly. There is a reason this place has been rated #1 brewpub, they deserve it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great times with friends”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We arrived a little early and were greeted right away. We got seated immediately even though we were waiting for friends. The server brought menus and explained how the beers were sorted and how they focused on Michigan craft beers. We decided on an appetizer and drinks while waiting and the place continued to fill. We ordered when our friends arrived and the food was very very good. Just be careful of the 'crack fries.' They are called that for a reason. Once you start, it is difficult to stop eating them. Overall, good food, good service and good atmosphere. We will definitely go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HopCat also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to HopCat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing