We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its like a secret Park in Grand Rapids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blandford Nature Center

Blandford Nature Center
Ranked #15 of 77 things to do in Grand Rapids
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blandford Nature Center is a non-profit that features 143 acres of land and wildlife. There is a Wildlife Center and Interpretive Center that is open M-F 9 to 5 and Sat. Noon to 5, as well as 4 miles of trails that are open from dawn until dusk.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Its like a secret Park in Grand Rapids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Like I said in the title, "Its like a secret Park in Grand Rapids" this park is a 13 acre park with a small animal rescue center mostly birds and owls
the nature trails through out the park are beautiful from bog lands to open fields. tons of events there one I love the most is something called SiteLab when a bunch of Artist converge for a one day/evening event of nature based art installations. This Place is so worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohninGRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MI
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stopped by this hidden gem on a sunday morning on our way back home from our weekend. The gate was up, but a sign said to go ahead and enter, so we parked along the street and walked in. I am sooo glad we did. I love nature walks, The trails are well maintained, no trash or trip hazards anywhere! Lots of paths to take. The highlight of our walk was looking over the cliff near the nature center and just watching the leaves and the beautiful colors of fall. IT was amazing! The animals were an added bonus. I wasnt aware that we'd be able to see them even though we didnt pay. It was great. We got lots of pictures and enjoyed them tremendously. Loved the bobcat and vultures. I wish we werent rushed to get home or I would have spent more time there. If I would have known how beautiful it was, I would have packed a snack or lunch to sit down and eat.

Even when its closed, its an enjoyable experience! An absolute hidden gem!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank karenl0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kid Fun that's good for Adults too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Want to learn something new with your kids? Then make a trip to Blandford. They usually have some sort of educational program going on. The animals are well cared for and change as they get new guests. Staff is wonderful and will answer questions no matter how many your kids might have!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PinkFlamingosrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

One of the places we used to take our children too. Enjoyed the spring events with the maple syrup making. Walked the trails many times and enjoyed the nature center. Many things always happening through out the year so check there website.

Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
213 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Back to Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great learning for kids and adults too! At certain times they have special events which are even more fun!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Partsman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blandford Nature Center also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Blandford Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing