We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
132
90
35
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
132
90
35
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city flats boutique hotel cork floors like sleeping on a cloud small window within walking distance art museum great happy hour heart of downtown comfortable sleep modern feel parking structure van andel arena rooms are modern staying downtown bars and restaurants bottled water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 282 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the City flats in Grand Rapids. Initial impression: nice. However, after we checked in we headed out to our evening event to return to a room which we were unable to enter. Come to find out the card reader on our door had died. So, we were put in a different room for the night with NONE of our belongings. They were unable to get access to our room until the next morning at 9. The staff was extremely friendly and apologetic through all of this which I greatly appreciated!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AbiLamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotels, Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2018

Thank you for the feedback, we are so glad that you enjoyed your time in Grand Rapids this past weekend. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the door reader dying, we are looking into this issue to make sure this doesn’t happen to future guests. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2018

The room was very nice and clean. As other reviewers have stated though you can hear toilets flushing and anyone walking around in the hallways. The staff were nice and pleasant. Nice comfy beds and lots of pillows. We went to a concert at the Van Andel arena which was about a 15 minute walk which was great. It's located in the downtown area and there are a few parking garages around the corner.

Room tip: Top floor would've been good considering we could hear walking above us.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vhrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotels, General Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

We are so pleased you enjoyed your room at CityFlatsHotel! Our location is great for concerts at Van Andel Arena, thank you for choosing us! Also, thank you for the kind words about our mattresses and pillows! We sincerely apologize about the noise in your room. We truly appreciate your feedback, as we know there is always room to grow and improve our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

The room was not clean. Tons of mold in the shower, ewwww! We stayed in the city Flats in Holland Michigan numerous times and really enjoyed it. This was nothing like our experience there. The room was much smaller. The thing we liked the best previously was the mattress This mattress was really old and not comfortable. On the plus side it's a great location in downtown Grand Rapids. The style of the hotel is also modern and sleek.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank catherinemN7969KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotels, Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you so much for all your feedback. We apologize that you found your room dirty, our staff works extremely hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay with us. I will personally look into the issue of housekeeping. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our downtown location and modern rooms. We hope to see you next time you’re in Grand Rapids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

Check in was quick and efficient. Room was smaller than expected. First room had a dirty toilet, bathroom door, which is a sliding barn style door, was very dusty behind it. Called the Front desk and we were moved quickly. The second room was even dustier behind the door and the vent on the wall there had an inch of dust caked on it. Bathroom walls could have used a wiping down as well. Was surprised the room had no fridge. Front desk was very concerned and provided a discount with no prompting. Was happy the way they handled it but they obviously have a housekeeping issue

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotels, Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you so much for all your feedback. We apologize that you found your room dirty, our staff works extremely hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay with us. I will personally look into the issue of housekeeping. We hope you will give us another change for your future visit to Grand Rapids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2018

Stayed at CityFlats Hotel during the State Bar Convention in late September. The rooms at the AmWay Grand (location of the seminar), were about $80.00 per night MORE, and, they were sold out for one of the nights I needed. So glad necessity forced me to go to CityFlats. Stayed on the 3rd floor, in Queen room. SUPER roomy and comfortable. Loved the bed linens, shower, coffee maker in room, and cleanliness of the place. Staff were great. Not much of a view from the room, but, who cares. Easy walk to the seminar location, and lots of coffee shops, restaurants, and retail establishments around. Great place.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JesMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotels, Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending CityFlatsHotel to other travelers! We are happy that you enjoyed exploring the beautiful and vibrant downtown Grand Rapids during your stay. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews