We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing close in the GR, Rockford, Ada area. Period.”
Review of CityFlatsHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CityFlatsHotel
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing close in the GR, Rockford, Ada area. Period.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

If you're looking for a modern, cosmopolitan feel in the Grand Rapids area, your search has ended. Heck, if you're just looking for a great hotel in West-Central Michigan, there's really no competition. It's not as stuffy as the Amway Grand...not as boring as a big chain. The staff is helpful, the decor/design is unbeatable. CityFlats might even make you think you're in Europe for a moment. Great property...solid pricing.

My only gripe is that my view was horrendous...hoping my next stay will get me a room facing the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dowdy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us! With each room being different hopefully you get to experience something new and wonderful the next time you are back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    66
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
39
88
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

A very trendy modern decor in good downtown location. Parking $14 daily. We left after one might of two scheduled. No AT&T phone service or WiFi would work in room. The 1 window faced a brick wall (could have requested 'front' if we had been told when booking). Bedding was unusually warm and room thermostat took hours to readjust itself. electrical wiring very unusual, for ex, main switch had to be left on or the rest of the lights in the room wouldn't work.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valstewart557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityFlatsHotel, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at CityFlatsHotel and writing a review! We will pass your comments along to our team. With our LEED certification we put in the master power light switch by the door, but you are still able to control each light in the room with their individual switches. Safe travels and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I love this type of hotel (modern, stylish, eco-friendly) and was excited to stay. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to my expectations.

The location is great if you want to be downtown, close to restaurants, the arena, etc. The beds were incredibly comfortable and, for the most part, staff were friendly. The breakfast items were excellent and enjoying by the window with a nice breeze was fantastic.

Our room, however, looked very little like the stylish ones shown on the website. Pretty dull in fact. While we packed up early, we didn't actually check out - had to make an ER visit after our child fell on the hard floors. That didn't stop housekeeping from coming into the room (we even had a "do not disturb" on the door), cleaning up and throwing out some of our personal items.

To top it off, they tried to charge us for breakfast which was to be included with the room. A girl at the desk simply said it wasn't included and after persistence offered a manager who acknowledged that it was showing breakfast included on booking.com and, though the issue was with that site, agreed to remove the charge. Appreciated, but no real apology was given for the inconveniences. By the way, we would have booked on your website had it been working.

Overall a hugely disappointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFotog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for writing a review, we are sorry to hear your expectations didn't meet up with our standards. Our general manager is working with our housekeeping team to see why they cleaned your room though your do not disturb sign was up. As for breakfast, we have a complimentary continental breakfast during the week and that is what used to be up on booking.com, not our full menu for free. We are working with our rep to change the verbiage back (and are unsure why it was changed in the first place), and are very sorry for the misunderstanding. If you need anything else please do not hesitate to let us know. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our first room at this hotel was an inside room and the windows were higher up. I'm 5 feet and could only look up to see out. All I could see was buildings. We were moved to a room facing the street that was much better. This room was also bigger. If you stay here request a room over looking the street. Do not take an inside room. It was very clean and updated. I liked the floors, corklike, not carpet. The breakfast was ok. Bagels, donuts holes. Don't plan to make a meal out of it.

Room Tip: Only stay in a room facing the street. If you can't get one of those rooms, don't stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audrey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and preferred a room on the street side. Hopefully your travels bring you to Grand Rapids again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I really liked the bed, everyone was nice and it was a treat to be right downtown. As a former long time resident of Grand Rapids, until 1986, I am impressed by the changes to the downtown social scene. Craft beer and trendy eateries are the norm. There are lots of things outside downtown area including the Lake Michigan beaches. This is a place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontiacdan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We attended a wedding in the ballroom and decided to stay at the hotel for the night. It was the best decision. The room we had was very nice and clean. I loved the modern decor and the green and brown colors. The beds were super comfy as were the pillows. Our room had 2 double beds and 2 closets. I understand all the rooms are different which is unique. The bar area was small but very nice. We ate our breakfast in an outside eating area and it was good and not a bad price. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 . There was no view out the window ( a brick wall) but the room itself was wo...
See more room tips
Green Features: I think it is wonderful ! That is what made me want to stay here.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are thrilled you had such a nice time and enjoyed your room so much! Hopefully you get another chance to stay in Grand Rapids soon and you can check out another room design! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed one night in GR, and were expecting to be at the JW Marriot or the Amway Grand. Well, they were full, and honestly they seemed a bit predictable anyway. We came across the City Flats Hotel on trip adivsor. One room left, we took it and were glad we did.
Small, 28 rooms or something like that. Ours was prob not their best, as it was all they had left.
That being said, it was clean, modern and not at all worn feeling. I've stayed a number of places in western europe, and this could have been any one of them. Intentionally or not, this place pulls of the small Euro feel. Also wanted to comment on the bed - very good with (what felt like) high quality linens. I didn't search for tags or anything.
MY ONLY Gripe : in our room , and maybe the others are different, the bathroom door was a sliding barn door style divider. Its cool, and modern looking, and in the space was fairly efficient, being that it was a small room, but it was completely useless as an actual bathroom door. If you desire even the slightest sound proofing when you are doing your business, then this is not for you. It may as well have been a curtain. Seriously. That being said, we laughed about it and had a great time making jokes about the circumstance but from a design standpoint this was poorly considered. I suspect there are others that may be far more perturbed than we were.
Overall a very cool little boutique hotel full of nice midwesterners who are very polite and warm and where you don't have to be especially edgy or crazy trendy to fit right in.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathroom doors!! There is a bit if street noise, but modest at most I'd say.
See more room tips
Green Features: City flats seems to be in the vanguard of up and coming modern thinking in GR. It feels like GR is embracing an effort to create a counterpoint to the stuffy, conservative, traditional sentiment that has been so prevalent there for too long.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjohnson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review! We are so happy you liked the look and feel of the hotel, and yes, it does seem that GR is definitely embracing the 'green' lifestyle. All of our rooms are individually designed so no two are the same, so some of the rooms have the barn doors and some do not. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel

Property: CityFlatsHotel
Address: 83 Monroe Center St NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CityFlatsHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids is located in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, MI. Built in 1874 this renovated building was once the famous Fox's Jewelry and is now Grand Rapids only LEED Gold certified hotel. Built entirely from local materials and renewable resources, our hotel prides itself on being the first eco-friendly hotel in the Midwest. With just 28 rooms, we offer an intimate stay for all our guests. Cork floors in every room, exposed brick, free wireless Internet, spacious walk-in showers, and notoriously comfy beds are just a part of the CityFlatsHotel experience. We accommodate all guests, whether you're looking to book a room, host a corporate event, or hold a wedding reception.On the first floor you will find CitySen Lounge serving lunch, dinner, weekend breakfast, and offering Happy Hour specials daily from 4PM-7PM. You will also find CityBru Coffee, located in our lobby, open 24 hours. Please stop by and see what we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your CityFlatsHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing