We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little Euro Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CityFlatsHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CityFlatsHotel
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little Euro Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed one night in GR, and were expecting to be at the JW Marriot or the Amway Grand. Well, they were full, and honestly they seemed a bit predictable anyway. We came across the City Flats Hotel on trip adivsor. One room left, we took it and were glad we did.
Small, 28 rooms or something like that. Ours was prob not their best, as it was all they had left.
That being said, it was clean, modern and not at all worn feeling. I've stayed a number of places in western europe, and this could have been any one of them. Intentionally or not, this place pulls of the small Euro feel. Also wanted to comment on the bed - very good with (what felt like) high quality linens. I didn't search for tags or anything.
MY ONLY Gripe : in our room , and maybe the others are different, the bathroom door was a sliding barn door style divider. Its cool, and modern looking, and in the space was fairly efficient, being that it was a small room, but it was completely useless as an actual bathroom door. If you desire even the slightest sound proofing when you are doing your business, then this is not for you. It may as well have been a curtain. Seriously. That being said, we laughed about it and had a great time making jokes about the circumstance but from a design standpoint this was poorly considered. I suspect there are others that may be far more perturbed than we were.
Overall a very cool little boutique hotel full of nice midwesterners who are very polite and warm and where you don't have to be especially edgy or crazy trendy to fit right in.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathroom doors!! There is a bit if street noise, but modest at most I'd say.
See more room tips
Green Features: City flats seems to be in the vanguard of up and coming modern thinking in GR. It feels like GR is embracing an effort to create a counterpoint to the stuffy, conservative, traditional sentiment that has been so prevalent there for too long.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjohnson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review! We are so happy you liked the look and feel of the hotel, and yes, it does seem that GR is definitely embracing the 'green' lifestyle. All of our rooms are individually designed so no two are the same, so some of the rooms have the barn doors and some do not. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    64
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
38
87
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The location of the Hotel is right in downtown of Grand Rapids, very good location. and the staff is very friendly. always smiling and willing to help.
And the room is very clean and good designed, the ceiling is very tall which makes us feel good.
But the only downside is that, although the hotel offers free breakfast, but only have bread and cookies. not very good.

Green Features: The hotel wins a reward for his environmentally-friendly design, therefore i think it's good
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micro-Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed our brand and look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Met a safety ambassador within minutes of our arrival, and Veronica was wonderful helping us find our way around the downtown area. We are stoked to come back again.Everything about the hotel was awesome and would recommend for friends and family. Rooms are perfect size, because when I come to visit I spend most of my time out discovering the town....(not in the room).
See you soon Grand Rapids
Girl in Ontario

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlinOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for the review! We are so happy you had such a good time at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids as well as in GR! I passed your compliments to Veronica along to her office. Thanks again for staying with us and enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed at City Flats for only a night on our return from vacationing in northern Michigan. We much prefer boutique hotels to the massive, big-name hotels such as the Amway and Marriott which are both close by. The hotel is very conveniently located to lots of restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are a little small, but that was fine with us since we were not spending time there. If we had booked the room for a number of days, it would have been a little cramped and, perhaps, uncomfortable since the room's decor is minimalistic or at least European---clean lines, a utilitalian desk and chair, a chair without cushioning, a sink outside of the bathroom, and no place to put clothes in the bathroom. However, everything was clean, fresh, and the bed and linens were AMAZING! The hotel does offer a continental breakfast---very basic, but ample. There was no assistance with luggage, so be aware of that if this hotel is your choice. Our room was on the second floor facing the street. I worried that the traffic might be too loud in the morning, but it didn't bother me at all. I liked having a view of the street. Hotel staff was polite and helpful. We enjoyed an evening walk after dinner through that section of downtown----really interesting architecture and clean. I might add that we had dinner nearby at XO Asian, and found it to be a unique menu and delicious food! Also, be sure to visit the Gerald Ford Museum. It's one of the most interesting museums I've ever visited.

Room Tip: Higher floors mean less street noise; however, we were on second floor and weren't disturbed. 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids and taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, however brief it was. Please visit us again soon and if you are interested in the linens you can visit: shop.cityflatshotel.com

Thanks again, and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a great little unique boutique hotel in a very good location in downtown Grand Rapids. It's walking distance to most of the shops, restaurants, children's museum, and DeVos center - basically anything you'd want to get to in Downtown. We spent last night there with our 2 kids, ages 4 and 9 months. It's not a "family" hotel in the sense that it's really small (28 rooms), no pool or kids activities or anything. Nevertheless, though we didn't see any other kids there, we weren't treated rudely at all and in fact were given excellent service by the front desk, bartender, wait staff at the restaurant, and housekeeping when we requested extra pillows. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating, even transferring us to a different room when we asked for one with the beds father apart due to the kids so they wouldn't wake each other up. We were promptly switched, and the front desk staff even showed us a map with the floor plans of the different rooms. The beds were some of the most comfortable I've slept in for a hotel- truly amazing comfort in the linens, beds and pillows. They also have Direct TV in the rooms so you have hundreds of channels including sports, movies, and kids channels, all free (unlike lots of hotels where you have to pay to watch movies or kids shows). The only negative is that the 2 rooms we saw both had only one window to an interior courtyard so you couldn't really see outside - just a brick wall- which made it feel a little dungeon-y. Nevertheless, this was the only drawback, and I'm sure you could request a room with a better view. Even so, for the cost, we'd definitely stay here again due to the excellent service, location, and great food. For example, there is a happy hour every day from 4 - 7 with cheap, delicious drinks and appetizers. The bartender, Emily, even made our four-year-old daughter a smoothie and didn't charge us for it (she said she was making one for herself and gave our daughter 1/2). The waiter at breakfast was so nice, and the food was soooo good. Good coffee at the front too. We stayed at the JW Marriott last time. That is a very nice hotel too but different - this one is much smaller and has more character. JW may be better with kids if you want a pool - there isn't a pool here. It also has much worse views than the JW, but a better value and more personality, bigger rooms and more comfortable beds. Really neat decor. Kudos!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for writing a review, we truly appreciate it, and are very happy you had such a nice time. We have tried very hard to create hotels with a different feel than your normal stay. If you find your way back to West Michigan soon you should look into our property in Holland. It would be a great beach vacation with the kids! Please let us know if there is anything we can ever do for you in the future. Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

There is no lobby, just a desk at the restaurant entrance. No place to sit while waiting for a ride, and unless you want to hover over restaurant patrons, you go outside. Which is where you might want to be, as cell phones don't work in the hotel. (One staffer said, cheerfully, "it's a problem with the building.") There is only one elevator, which became an inconvenience once during my stay. The bed and bathroom were great. There was a nice desk, but no real office chair, just a wobbly plastic chair on wheels. Sound proofing is not good; I could hear whatever anyone said in the hallway (not good when people returned after the bars closed). No gym, access to a gym several blocks away. But it had limited hours on the weekend that made it impossible for me to use. This is a stylish hotel, environmentally conscious, with a young, enthusiastic staff. And great food in the restaurant. I would return there to dine, but not to stay.

Room Tip: I had a room with a view of rooftops and a steam vent; you might ask if there are any with better vi...
See more room tips
Green Features: That may have been my favorite part about the hotel, except for the quality of food in the restaurant, which was very good, with a good selection of healthful foods. I just wish the place was more friendly to the business traveler.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We take each review as an opportunity to better our stay for our guests. We will definitely meet as a leadership team to see what we can do to improve upon things. Thanks again for your input and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the City Flats Holland before and loved it and figured tris would be the same experience. Our room, 303, was a bit on the tight side and was a far cry from he spaciousness of the CFH room we had before. Everything else was great. Love the bed and the linens. Once we figured out the parking garage situation that was nice as well. All the one way streets make navigating from the front of the hotel to Ionia to get to the the Monroe Center Ramp a bit hectic for someone not familiar with DT Grand Rapids.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 290karenm290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thanks for staying with us at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids! Our rooms are a little different between GR and Holland. In Holland we built from the ground up, and in GR we went into an existing building, so we had to fit our design into that space so the rooms ended up being different sizes. Hopefully you will have a chance to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel

Property: CityFlatsHotel
Address: 83 Monroe Center St NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CityFlatsHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids is located in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, MI. Built in 1874 this renovated building was once the famous Fox's Jewelry and is now Grand Rapids only LEED Gold certified hotel. Built entirely from local materials and renewable resources, our hotel prides itself on being the first eco-friendly hotel in the Midwest. With just 28 rooms, we offer an intimate stay for all our guests. Cork floors in every room, exposed brick, free wireless Internet, spacious walk-in showers, and notoriously comfy beds are just a part of the CityFlatsHotel experience. We accommodate all guests, whether you're looking to book a room, host a corporate event, or hold a wedding reception.On the first floor you will find CitySen Lounge serving lunch, dinner, weekend breakfast, and offering Happy Hour specials daily from 4PM-7PM. You will also find CityBru Coffee, located in our lobby, open 24 hours. Please stop by and see what we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your CityFlatsHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing