We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again - top notch!”
Review of CityFlatsHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CityFlatsHotel
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Once again - top notch!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is my fifth stay at City Flats. My company is HQ'd in Grand Rapids, and I request to stay here each time. Per usual, the hotel is clean and the staff personable and professional. Typically I am given room 406 or 407. This time I arrived and was given room 403. This room is smaller and in the back with no view. While the room is nice, clean and functional, I did not feel comfortable. It was too small with no view. I called and was quickly given a new room, even though the hotel was sold out that night. I was given my old stand by, room 407 within 5 minutes. I cannot thank the front desk clerk enough. Great customer service! I enjoy the happy hour when I am there, and dinner is always good. The location makes it easy to walk anywhere, and it is easy for my pick up to HQ. The morning coffee is great. The breakfast offerings are not too good, which is my only complaint. That is not a deal breaker though. Once again, I was impressed with this sweet little hotel. If you want a luxurious hotel, do not stay here. If you want a modern, clean room, polite, responsive staff, super comfortable bed, good drinks, food and an environmentally aware hotel...stay here. Ask for room 406 or 407.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms 306, 307, 406, 407. Stay away from the smaller rooms - 303 or 403.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us when you visit GR. We appreciate your continued loyalty, and so writing a review. I will pass your compliments along to the staff. We are also currently working on some new options for our breakfast during the week. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    66
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
39
88
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Quaint and fun hotel close to our business location. Excellent for walking to local venues like west coast coffee and central market which are absolute treasures.

The hotel isn't set up for business use exactly. Too dark unless you are there in daylight hours with the blinds fully open. Then too cold due to the blinds being open and it was minus zero outside and very cold on the window side of the room. On a plus side the food kept cold overnight on the sill.

No bathtub, no in house coffee, had to go to the bar for ice ( and remember your room key for the return elevator ride up).

Would be a fun hotel if you were bar types or hanging to be hanging out. Not a business thing exactly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids! We appreciate your taking the time give us a review. With 28 uniquely designed rooms, each stay is completely different, some being much brighter and 'cozier' and some have darker colors and more minimalistic design. Hopefully you will have the chance to join us again and enjoy a new room. Thanks again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I love this hotel. The staff is super friendly. It is in a great location close to all the best restaurants and bars. The rooms are unique and very comfortable. I can't wait to go back. The restaurant was excellent with great food and an excellent beer selection.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JZHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and taking the time to write the review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have stayed at City Flats multiple times, both as a couple retreat and with friends. The service is always excellent, the rooms are always clean, and you can't beat the location.

Parking is a little confusing, but to be expected in such a busy location. The bar and restaurant on the ground floor are a great stop as well! There isn't really such a thing as a continental breakfast here, but I think the food for breakfast is good enough to purchase anyway.

I would definitely recommend staying at CityFlats, especially if you want comfortable access to all the action in downtown!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malarkey4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing us when you stay in downtown GR! We truly appreciate your loyalty and that you took the time to write a review. Thanks again, and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Thanks for the great stay! The bed and linens were amazingly comfortable! We love how different and unique this hotel is. The atmosphere in the lounge was very clean and welcoming. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments on your recent stay at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids. We are glad you enjoyed our brand and look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
246 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at City Flats Hotel for an event held a few blocks away. The hotel is in the city's clean and safe downtown and within walking distance of countless bars, restaurants, museums, and other attractions. Our room was spotless and very modern. My wife raved about the soft sheets and liked the lack of carpeting (cork floors). Bathroom and shower were great. Bar, lobby, and restaurant were all nice and gave us a chance to have a drink at night and a great breakfast in the morning sitting in the open and airy restaurant. Negatives included rather dim lighting (like many hotels), some mechanical noise, not much of a view, and lack of a coffee maker for the morning. Ramp parking is available for $16 per night, but we parked on the street for free. Everybody that we talked to was friendly and seemed to take a lot of pride in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not adjacent to the mechanical room.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Hotel is certified Gold LEED and take a lot of pride in this...many of the employees wore shirts that stated this fact.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great location in downtown Grand Rapids. Easy one block walk to my conference at the Amway Grand and Monroe Mall for ice skating. The beds and linens were amazing - didn't want to get out of bed! Don't expect a beautiful luxurious room though. It was more like European rooms with sparse furnishings and basic decor. It felt cold and loud, a colorful rug would do a lot. We didn't care about that though since we weren't in the room much. The other hotels in the same area offer a lot more for the price though, especially if you have kids.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeideV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you enjoyed the beds so much, they definitely make it hard to get out of bed. All 28 of our rooms are uniquely designed, and some our much more colorful than others. Hopefully you have a chance to visit Grand Rapids again and can check out some of the other options. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel

Property: CityFlatsHotel
Address: 83 Monroe Center St NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CityFlatsHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids is located in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, MI. Built in 1874 this renovated building was once the famous Fox's Jewelry and is now Grand Rapids only LEED Gold certified hotel. Built entirely from local materials and renewable resources, our hotel prides itself on being the first eco-friendly hotel in the Midwest. With just 28 rooms, we offer an intimate stay for all our guests. Cork floors in every room, exposed brick, free wireless Internet, spacious walk-in showers, and notoriously comfy beds are just a part of the CityFlatsHotel experience. We accommodate all guests, whether you're looking to book a room, host a corporate event, or hold a wedding reception.On the first floor you will find CitySen Lounge serving lunch, dinner, weekend breakfast, and offering Happy Hour specials daily from 4PM-7PM. You will also find CityBru Coffee, located in our lobby, open 24 hours. Please stop by and see what we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your CityFlatsHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing