We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel in the heart of GR”
Review of CityFlatsHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CityFlatsHotel
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Solid hotel in the heart of GR”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Was in town to partake in the wonderful ambiance found in Beer City, USA. Great location, within walking distance to numerous breweries as well as the art museum and the river. The room is very small (I had a queen) but was comfortable and laid out very well considering.
The breakfast that is included is a pretty basic continental. There are not ice/snack machines on every floor but a small snack bar at the check in desk. Makes things more green friendly as well as personable.
Bar seems nice, good selection but I did not partake.
Parking is at a discounted rate of @$14-16/night but I parked out front for free (meters and they start checking at 8am.)

Room Tip: I had 203. Window on a "light shaft"? Could hear water, et al going down the pipe betwe...
See more room tips
Green Features: Seems pretty green to me. The low-flow faucet was annoying cause you needed to have it on full blast or the flow would curl back and end up on the counter......then proceed to drip into the wastebasket just after you get in to bed!
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crfmackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, General Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi CRFMackenzie,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us while you were in town to take in Beer City! We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Keep and eye out for our Beer Packages that we will be offering soon!

Regards,

Dave W.
General Manager
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
616-451-1892
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    68
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
39
92
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

City Flats is a fabulous place to stay. I always sleep like a baby here- beds are amazingly comfortable. There is a great little bistro in the lobby with excellent cocktails and a great selection of appetizers and meals. Upscale without being pretentious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goassamergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very good location , huge room size , but very strange interior design to the extent that you will never relax. The breakfast is extremely poor!! So you have to get it Fromm the very nice Resturants close by at the high street. It will never be my choice for the next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maldeiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin . texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

my daughter + i really loved this hotel. true boutique hotel. very friendly staff. great location within walking distance of fantastic restaurants. the best part is the bed. 14 yr old says it's like "sleeping in a marshmallow." we have stayed in some really expensive hotels and the beds were horrible. the bamboo sheets, blanket and mattress are heavenly. didn't want to leave it so i asked at front desk and they gave me the info to purchase them for home, which i immediately did. hope that they add twin size as an option in the future.

Room Tip: we asked for a quite room and i felt like we had one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave W, Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Gtrher,

Thank you for the kind words that you posted about your stay with us! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our custom made beds as well. It's fun to see the number if guests that fall in love with our beds when they stay and have to have one at home. Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Dave W.
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
616-451-1892
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip, and would be open to staying again in the future. The front desk is friendly, the bar/restaurant has good food, and the rooms are clean. The one thing to call out is the rooms are not carpeted. That said, sounds echo... across rooms. Later in the evening another room kept dropping or bouncing something, which ended up sounding like it was in my room. Another miss was the lack of an iron, and an inability to provide one. Outside of these very minor things, it was a very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmr8503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is a very unique hotel, with European-esque qualities. The room was rather small, which wasn't a big deal for us, but if you're looking for a plush and comfy feel, this isn't it. The room didn't have carpet, which gave it a cold feel, and made it very echo-y. There is a big sliding door for the bathroom, which doesn't provide much in the way of privacy. I had requested a quiet room at check-in, and we were on the 3rd floor in a room overlooking the street (just above the hotel lobby). This room was anything buy quiet, we could hear people on the street (bar crowd) well into the early morning hours, which meant we didn't get much sleep. The room was clean, but sparse. There isn't anywhere to sit besides the bed. The location was great, centrally located in the heart of Downtown, within walking distance to the arena and lots of restaurants/bars.

We used the parking garage (at $16/day) and had issues with the validated tickets they gave us not working to let us out of the garage.

Room Tip: The ones overlooking the front street of the hotel experience lots of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KristiEMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Front desk so friendly and accomodating. Offered bags of ice and free gatorade even after bar was closed. Were able to check in 2 hours early with no problem or charge. Rooms were picture perfect. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#12 of 48 in Grand Rapids
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel

Property: CityFlatsHotel
Address: 83 Monroe Center St NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CityFlatsHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids is located in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, MI. Built in 1874 this renovated building was once the famous Fox's Jewelry and is now Grand Rapids only LEED Gold certified hotel. Built entirely from local materials and renewable resources, our hotel prides itself on being the first eco-friendly hotel in the Midwest. With just 28 rooms, we offer an intimate stay for all our guests. Cork floors in every room, exposed brick, free wireless Internet, spacious walk-in showers, and notoriously comfy beds are just a part of the CityFlatsHotel experience. We accommodate all guests, whether you're looking to book a room, host a corporate event, or hold a wedding reception.On the first floor you will find CitySen Lounge serving lunch, dinner, weekend breakfast, and offering Happy Hour specials daily from 4PM-7PM. You will also find CityBru Coffee, located in our lobby, open 24 hours. Please stop by and see what we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your CityFlatsHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing