We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it was different...and loud”
Review of CityFlatsHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CityFlatsHotel
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I really wanted to like this place. I love the philosophy and the eco-friendly attempts that they've made in their design. However, our room was really small & cramped, oddly designed so it was hard to move around (especially since I had a wedding dress to deal with).

All of that I could've dealt with because it was nice enough, and we'd wanted something different from the Marriott & Amway Grand that we've stayed at before.

But it was LOUD. We had loud neighbors that we could here through the walls at 11pm & then when they came back at 2:30am (I did call the desk that time & it seemed to help). Everytime someone on a floor above us flushed a toilet, it sounded like ice cubes were being poured down the walls. It actually startled me awake at night. I put ear plugs in, but could still hear it, although not quite as harshly. We missed breakfast because I was finally able to sleep in the am & it only went until 8:30. Thankfully they gave me some leftover fruit when I asked.

We needed ice & had to take the bucket down to the bar, which was a little weird. There was zero information in the room as far as maps, amenities, restaurants, room service, etc. That was frustrating to me even in a familiar city (but new hotel). I like looking at the welcome packets to get my bearings.

I think most frustrating was that I mentioned this (the noise mostly) to two different front desk associates & other than a quick apology, they made no effort to remedy the situation or offer financial apology. Instead they just told me to email the next time we came & they'd get us a quieter room...something I'd asked for when I made my reservation.

While I want to like this place, I'm not sure I'll be back. It shouldn't take a special email to get a room that doesn't have loud jarring noises built right into it.

Room Tip: They told me to ask for a room with an outside view next time, which would cut down on the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zebe912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear ZeBe912,

Thank you for your honest review as your feedback helps us to improve for our future guests.

I would like to sincerely apologize that you did not have a better experience here at CityFlatsHotel. If you would like to discuss the situation further, please feel free to contact me directly at 616-796-2105.

We hope that you give us another chance. You might also want to check out our other location in downtown Holland, Michigan. Being a larger property, the rooms are more spacious. Also, since it's not located in such an urban/downtown city-life environment, you might find it more quaint and peaceful. :)

Katie Madonio
CityFlatsHotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 245 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Modern. Best bed I've ever experienced. Nice staff. Great little bar with super food.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psjofors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I found my overall expierence to be good here. The bed was very comfortable. The style and decorations of the room were great. The room was very small. Our small window view was of a brick wall. The continental breakfast was coffee and mini muffins. I felt like I didn't get my money worth.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcs1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I travel quite a lot and this hotel is one of my favorites!

It is expertly designed and appointed, the rooms are clean, modern and the staff at the hotel is so helpful and kind! I was there almost a week and had a perfect stay!

It also has one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

It is so superior to all the other hotels in the city!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you're after a great view of the city from your window, this isn't your hotel. We walked in the ultra modern room, no carpeting, bamboo? tiles on the floor, and were immediately struck by the brick wall outside the window. It was some kind of shaft. Almost would have been better if they'd put no window in at all. And by the way, looking at the layout of the hotel, there appears to be rooms that do not have any window at all.
Nonetheless, the room was very comfortable. I agree that I could have slept for 24 hours. Very soft sheets and blanket. Four fluffy pillows on the bed, room darkening shade, not hard to love this.
Then we decided to have a drink on the outdoor patio and were pleasantly surprised by the creative drink selection. The "Fresh" cocktail was one of the best mixed drinks I've ever had, so we took a look at the menu. Their 2 for $25 appetizer, entree and dessert special was excellent. Again, the food was the best we had all weekend and we ate at Ruth Cris Steakhouse in the Amway. City Sen inside the hotel beat RC. Small plate concept, but seriously good, and as creative as the drinks.
But for the view and the satellite TV cutting in and out, I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you want a window room, you might want to actually call the hotel for reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Located in the heart of Grand Rapids this boutique hotel is fresh, ultra-modern and beautiful! The desk staff are friendly and very helpful.
The accomidations very comfortable and quiet. Lighting and plumbing fixtures are new and in good working order. The bedding and mattress are high quality.
Expect to pay near $20 a day to park in a structure behind the place. Saturday street parking is free at all meters EXCEPT on the street in front of the hotel. Sunday all street meter parking is free.

Room Tip: Even rooms near the elevator are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I grew up in East Grand Rapids...my latest visit was for a wedding. I decided on the recommendation of my friend to stay here. I was not disappointed. Finally, this town has an interesting place to stay within the city limits. The rooms are compact...clean, and user friendly. The decor, pleasant...the staff, helpful and courteous. I had to kill some time and could that this hotel's location is walker-friendly. I trekked to the Founder's Brewery...the Art Museum was next-door...interesting shops within the block. A bonus for my husband and me was a visit to HopCat...a brew pub ranked one of the best in the country...great atmosphere...ask for Ian or Rod...they were great and most knowledgeable in beer choices. We had a great time there...we were in evening clothes from the wedding and we felt right at home in a casual atmosphere...anything goes!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mac4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel

Address: 83 Monroe Center St NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $180 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CityFlatsHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids is located in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, MI. Built in 1874 this renovated building was once the famous Fox's Jewelry and is now Grand Rapids only LEED Gold certified hotel. Built entirely from local materials and renewable resources, our hotel prides itself on being the first eco-friendly hotel in the Midwest. With just 48 rooms, we offer an intimate stay for all our guests. Cork floors in every room, exposed brick, free wireless Internet, spacious walk-in showers, and notoriously comfy beds are just a part of the CityFlatsHotel experience. We accommodate all guests, whether you're looking to book a room, host a corporate event, or hold a wedding reception. On the first floor you will find CitySēn Lounge serving lunch, dinner, weekend breakfast, and offering Happy Hour specials daily from 4PM-7PM. You will also find CityBrü Coffee, located in our lobby, open 24 hours. Please stop by and see what we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your CityFlatsHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing