We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Conference Center at Calvin College
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed here and once again, the room was immaculate. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast far exceeds any expectations-fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juices, sausage gravy, biscuits, eggs, etc. Yes, excellent breakfast that's included. Conference room large and very well climate controlled. I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: I did not score the pool because, if there is one, I did not use. Excellent exercise room though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Patti M,

I am so happy to hear that you not only had one good experience, but two. We are thrilled that you stayed with us again, and we hope that you come again.

We do not have a pool onsite, but we do on Calvin's campus that is available for guests when it is open. Let us know when you return and we would be happy to give you directions.

We look forward to you visiting us again.

Thank you!
Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    37
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
15
11
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
York, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

As we walked into this sunlight brightened lobby we were greeted by friendly staff. Our rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful with tech and other needs for presentations and workshops. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cknier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
cknier,

Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay in our guest rooms and had a great experience in our meeting space. We hope that you have a chance to come see us again in the future.

Thank you!
Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hotel is located on the grounds of Calvin College and is tied directly to the conference rooms. Has 66 double queen rooms and 3 king suites with queen pull outs and reasonable prices. Exceptionally clean and reasonably spacious rooms. Bathrooms are very small. Staff is exceptional in both the hotel and conference rooms. Great place for a conference. Was built in 2002, but looks and feels brand new. Only negative for me was that it was not as close to shopping and stores that I would have liked. When we pulled up to the center, it did not look correct to is so we looked around the campus only to find out we were in the right place the first time.

Could not believe the efficiency and competence of the conference center staff. They spotted soft noodles just before lunch and replaced, in seconds, the soft pasta. The food was excellent and the staff was ell above average. Would highly recommend with the exceptions noted.

Room Tip: Take the suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Remeigh

Thank you very much for the wonderful comments. I am happy to hear that our staff treated you well, and you enjoyed your experience in the guest rooms as well as the event space. The Centerpointe and Woodland Malls are about a mile and a half down Beltline Ave. I hope that you were able to find that well you were here. We hope that you have a chance in the future to come see us again.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangri-La County, China
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Fantastic experience! The staff were smiley and very accommodating. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the amenities were superb. There was a great breakfast with lots of options, and access to drinks and snacks 24 hours a day. There are great facilities on site, so this would be an ideal place to host large gatherings as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellofrome m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear hellofrome m

Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you have a chance to visit us again.

Thank you!
Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We recently stayed at the Prince Conference Center as part of our visit to Calvin College. The facility itself is beautiful, spacious, relaxing, clean and well staffed. The breakfast was fantastic and included healthy options as well as the usual fare. The work out room was small but well maintained. The ONLY reason I did not give it an "excellent" rating is the hotel room itself was a bit plain. Overall, I highly recommend this location and would readily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imabeliever2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Imabeliever2014,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and our onsite workout facility. You also have access to the Spoelhof fitness facility on Calvin College's campus if you stay with us. I hope that you are able to come back and stay with us again. Thank you for the kind comments.

Thank you!
Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a very pleasant first stay at Prince Conference Center. It was peaceful, comfortable, and clean. Very good breakfast buffet ... cookies, trail mix, fruit, coffee and tea always available. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Susan E.,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We make sure that there are snacks out for our guests. I am glad you were able to enjoy them. I hope to see you in the future.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I, too, was in the wedding group on NY Eve, and was the hotel planner for our group of 16+ people. I chose the Prince CC based on other Tripadvisor reviews and my conversations with the staff. Everyone commented on what a good choice the hotel was. Convenient to downtown, warm and friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and exceptional continental breakfast. I loved the huge stone fireplace in the lobby and my disc golfing daughter enjoyed seeing baskets in the woods looking out our window. I also liked the walk in showers in the bathroom. And the price was right. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Liz727,

I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. You will have to bring your daughter back and enjoy the disc golf course on campus this summer. Planning for 16+ people can be stressful, I hope that we were able to help with that. I look forward to having you come back and see us again.

Thank you!
Valarie Cook
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
422 reviews
2.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conference Center at Calvin College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conference Center at Calvin College

Property: Prince Conference Center at Calvin College
Address: 1800 East Beltline SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a peaceful, serene setting, just a bridge walk east from the main Calvin College campus, is the Prince Center. You'll find the atmosphere casual and relaxing with many windows to take in the view, two cozy fireplaces, a patio overlooking the nature preserve and a baby grand piano—all designed to make your visit a pleasant and enjoyable one. Whether you're gathering with colleagues from around the country or celebrating a special occasion with an intimate group, you'll always feel right at home at the Prince. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing