We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Conference Center at Calvin College
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I used the recommendations on tripadvisor to choose the Prince. My friend and I enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Prince to others looking for a wonderful place to stay. The staff is friendly, the facility is well maintained and the breakfast was great. The snacks all day including coffee makes the Prince feel very comfortable and welcoming.

I agree that the shower is small but was thrilled to see a fan in the bathroom. Something I have not seen in many hotels recently. The rooms, bedding and facility is beautiful down to the floral centerpieces on the tables in the lobby and breakfast area.

The location is convenient to the Meijer Gardens and was not far from downtown and Gas Light Village and restaurants on Cherry and Wealthy Sts. Next time we stay we will explore the Ecopreserve on campus.

Congratulations to the staff of the Prince for a job well done.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zumba2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Zumba2010,

Thank you very much for the kind words. I am happy to see you plan on coming back, and to enjoy the Ecopreserve that is behind us.

We look forward to having you come back.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Prince Conference Center at Calvin College
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 178 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

In addition to what other reviewers have said: We enjoyed exploring the ecosystem preserve outside the hotel. The kids loved the snacks, which are available all day once breakfast is over. This is a family friendly hotel (other than a shower in the bathroom, which may be difficult for families with really small children).

The only dislike that I had: I made a reservation for a king suite. However, when I arrived, I was told that the king suite was handicapped accessible and was given to someone else requiring it. I understand this, but I wish I had known this when I made the reservation. When I expressed this, Christy quickly found us a room in a nice location and gave us a discount. Thank you, Christy! If we are in this part of town again, we would try to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor facing the ecosystem preserve are quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaMay0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

MamaMay0402

Thank you for your kind words. I will make sure to discuss what you brought up about change in room type. We should be making sure you are contacted before your arrival.

I will make sure Christy is aware of the great comments about her. Thank you again, and we hope you and your family are able to come back and stay with us again.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were a family party of 10 - 3 rooms - 2 stays in GR a week apart on our way to the UP and Mackinac Island and back. This was the nicest hotel experience on our 3,000 mile trip. Beautiful grounds, very clean accommodation (grounds, building, rooms), great beds and pillows, good size, well lighted rooms, excellent quality free breakfast. So what? Many hotels can claim this but this hotel is special because the staff cares - really cares.

Picture the difference between a family run accommodation vs. a chain hotel staffed by minimum wage employees. The Prince Center's staff makes one feel like it is a family run establishment. The staff is fully committed and actively engaged to making this your most satisfying hotel stay in GR - and they have succeeded. No, it's not a 4 Seasons, but neither is the price - about one-third of high end hotels.They are the #1 hotel on Trip Advisor in Grand Rapids because they earned it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

rrs517

Thank you for the kind comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you and your family will be able to come back and stay with us again.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Quiet, peaceful, & beautiful apply equally to the facilities & staff, at a very reasonable price point. We'll stay there again & recommend it to everyone.
A pair of prescription reading glasses were lost under our bed. The staff quickly found & mailed 'em to us straightaway
Can't think of anything to add to other glowing reviews except "torchlake99". We had adult beverages in a cooler, and enjoyed the in-room mini fridge...lovely room was better than any hotel bar. .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailsCall412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

SailsCalls412

We are so happy we were able to locate your missing glasses, and be able to return them to you. We appreciate your wonderful comments, and hope to see you visit again.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is positively the best hotel we have ever stayed at! We were in Grand Rapids especially to visit Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park, and the Prince Center couldn't have been more convenient for that. Although convenience had something to do with our choice of lodging, it has nothing to do with this review! Our double queen room was beautifully appointed and was sparkling clean, with a lovely view of the nature areas of the campus. The staff were friendly, courteous, and accommodating. Breakfast could not be listed in the same category as most free breakfasts. From 6:30 to 10:00 a.m. there were cheeses omelets, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy, waffles, specialty breads, bagels and muffins, fresh fruit including melons, pineapple and berries, cereals, assorted juices, coffee, tea and milk. I probably have not even named the entire menu! The attendant made sure everything was fresh, hot where desirable, and plentiful. No one could possibly go away unsatisfied. Coffee, tea, cookies and snacks were available throughout the day in the bright and spacious breakfast room. The large lobby appropriate to a conference hotel has comfortable furniture for relaxing and reading, as well as many tables where guests can work or play games. You really need to plan a trip to Grand Rapids just for the pleasure of staying at this lovely facility!

Room Tip: We never heard any noise at all from hallway or other rooms. We enjoyed being on the main floor and...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Mary K

We appreciate your wonderful comments about Prince Conference Center, and are happy that you were able to stay with us to enjoy the amazing Frederik Meijer Gardens.

We hope to see you come back and enjoy our facility.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here because we were touring the college and were pleasantly surprised by the value and excellence of the hotel. It is neat, clean and convenient. They have a wonderful breakfast area where one can fix a cup of coffee or tea, and then relax with a newspaper or book. The beds were soft and comfortable, and we had no trouble with sleep quality.
Although it is not near the center of town, it is a great place to stay for whatever reason.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drnicksir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Drnicksir

Thank you for your wonderful comments. They are greatly appreciated.

We hope to see you again in the future when you are in the Grand Rapids area.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Here in GR for a conference and wanted to stay on this side of town. Very clean hotel, nice lobby to sit and read if needed. Quiet hotel, off the road so very little noise at night if your a light sleeper. On a Christian campus so no alcohol or bar so if you would like a cocktail in the evening do not stay here. Other than that this is a nice choice if your looking for a quiet place to spend a night or two, fair prices for the lodging also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torchlake99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

torchlake99

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your kind words, and hope to see you again in the future when you are in the Grand Rapids area.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
440 reviews
2.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
1.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conference Center at Calvin College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conference Center at Calvin College

Address: 1800 East Beltline SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $99 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a peaceful, serene setting, just a bridge walk east from the main Calvin College campus, is the Prince Center. You'll find the atmosphere casual and relaxing with many windows to take in the view, two cozy fireplaces, a patio overlooking the nature preserve and a baby grand piano—all designed to make your visit a pleasant and enjoyable one. Whether you're gathering with colleagues from around the country or celebrating a special occasion with an intimate group, you'll always feel right at home at the Prince. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing