We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continued excellence at this hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Conference Center at Calvin College
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Central IL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Continued excellence at this hotel”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was my first stay at this facility -- which really is a hotel and should be re-classified on the web-site. Like other posters I found everything to be first class, immaculate and beautiful. The staff was very helpful, prompt and smart. I appreciated the 24 hour availability of snacks and tea/coffee in the breakfast area. Posters might want to know that the Prince Center is part of Calvin College which is a "dry" campus. You'll have to drive a mile to get to a place to have a beer -- no disadvantage in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinmint55, Meeting & Conference Planner at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We are so pleased the you enjoyed your first experience with us. We hope to see you again when you travel to Grand Rapids.
Many blessings,
Amanda Campbell
Meeting & Conference Planner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    37
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
15
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stay at the Prince CC whenever in Grand Rapids for business and pleasure, which is fairly often. The service, facilities, and amenities are first rate. The grounds and common areas are spacious and inviting. I wouldn't stay anywhere else and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fieldtree_Farms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinmint55, Meeting & Conference Planner at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We appreciate you kind words. It is a joy to have you stay with us and we looking forward to seeing you again real soon.
Safe Travels.
Amanda Campbell
Meeting & Conference Planner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Peaceful. Immaculate. Efficient. Exceeded my wildest expectations! Everything about this facility and its staff can be summed up in one word: EXCELLENCE. From the moment the shuttle driver met me at the airport, to the moment I had to leave, I was treated like royalty--and I believe all 160 of us at our 4-day conference felt the same. Morning, noon and night, the staff was gracious, friendly and accommodating, serving us well. I had to ship some items home, so they found a large box and even mailed it for me. We appreciated the hearty breakfasts, healthy meals, well-equipped workshop rooms, and comfortable beds--as well as the 3-mile walking trail around the property, the bright, open lobby and dining areas, where we were able to hold some of our meetings. We even indulged ourselves in the round-the-clock coffee/tea bar and freshly-baked cookies and muffins. I got to stay over an extra night and wished it could have been another week, there in the main floor suite--roomy, pristine, with gorgeous views--and completely wheelchair accessible. All in all, a grand experience in Grand Rapids. As soon as I can find an excuse to return to Michigan, I know where I'll stay--can hardly wait!

Room Tip: Suite 201 on main floor is roomy, bright, comfortable, well-equipped, convenient and wheelchair acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinmint55, Meeting & Conference Planner at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We were very happy to have you and can't wait to see you again. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and conference.
Blessings,
Amanda Campbell
Meeting & Conference Planner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed here for 2 days for a conference, and everything was perfect. The center's shuttle picked me and dropped me off promptly for my flights, and the hotel rooms were clean with comfortable beds. The front desk people were very helpful and solicitous, and breakfast was good and plentiful. There is a nice area with cafe type tables and chairs in the front of the center, which were perfect for getting to speak to other conference attendees in more intimate groups. I also found the cost of staying here to be very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evening5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinmint55, Meeting & Conference Planner at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed all of the amenities that our facility has to offer. We are thrilled to you stayed with us and we look forward to your next visit.
If we can be of assistance, just let us know.
Safe Travels.
Amanda Campbell
Meeting & Conference Planner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for one night following a wedding at the Meijer gardens. The staff was very nice and the room was clean, quiet and comfortable, and the rate we got was much better than most of the other hotels in the area. I would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinmint55, Meeting & Conference Planner at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Anne,
Thank you for your recent visit. I am sure that the wedding was beautiful and that you were able to enjoy the Frederick Meijer Gardens.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Safe Travels.
Amanda Campbell
Meeting & Conference Planner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very well situated, a short walk from the Calvin College campus, with excellent meeting rooms, cordial and attentive staff, and guest rooms supplied with every amenity. And there's a beautiful nature preserve just behind the Prince Conference Center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinmint55, Meeting & Conference Planner at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Walter,
We are happy to hear that you found everything to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Safe travels.
Amanda Campbell
Meeting & Conference Planner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Prince Center not only has awesome rooms and views and great, but every nook and crook has comfy chairs and a very relaxed atmosphere. It's more than just a typical conference center. It's a space designed for getting together with others in a way that most hotels don't even come close to. This would be a great place for any business / personal getaway.

Room Tip: Room 323 is a corner king room with a great view of the nature preserve and pond and has a virtual p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48912glb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thinmint55, Meeting & Conference Planner at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed the view from your room. The ecosystem is beautiful in all of the seasons and are glad to be able to offer that to our guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Safe Travels.
Amanda Campbell
Meeting & Conference Planner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 48 in Grand Rapids
425 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
6.5 mi away
The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conference Center at Calvin College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conference Center at Calvin College

Property: Prince Conference Center at Calvin College
Address: 1800 East Beltline SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a peaceful, serene setting, just a bridge walk east from the main Calvin College campus, is the Prince Center. You'll find the atmosphere casual and relaxing with many windows to take in the view, two cozy fireplaces, a patio overlooking the nature preserve and a baby grand piano—all designed to make your visit a pleasant and enjoyable one. Whether you're gathering with colleagues from around the country or celebrating a special occasion with an intimate group, you'll always feel right at home at the Prince. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing