We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Leonard at Logan House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Grand Rapids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This house is in a beautiful neighborhood that has in a great part of the city, just a few minutes from downtown. Excellent, friendly staff. Our room, as well as the common area, was large, full of character and very comfortable. When in Grand Rapids, stay here! We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aVerySmartMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 110 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a lovely inn located in a the beautiful historic Heritage Hill district of Grand Rapids. We have stayed here many times and have always had a wonderful experience. We have stayed in multiple rooms and all of them have been spacious, clean and comfortable.
Walking around this area is a must......the historic homes are simply divine and across the street is the Frank Lloyd Wright designed prairie style house built in 1908 - the Meyer May house. This home was restored to its original splendor by the Steelcase Corporation. It is open free to the public on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10 am to 2 pm; Sundays from 1 pm to 5 pm. We went on one of the tours and it was well worth the time.
The Leonard on Logan is also centrally located to many great restaurants and other attractions in Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenLynn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in late August--our second visit at this B & B. We love the charm of the home, the interesting neighborhood, and the location near Wealthy St. and downtown GR. Each morning we walked for several blocks, just to see the variety of large, mostly restored homes in the area. Mark's outstanding breakfasts on the weekend and the outdoor patio made it special. We appreciate the friendly, young owners who take such good care of this historic home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had stayed at the Leonard at Logan for a night on a whim....now, we find every excuse to go back! We have stayed numerous times over the past 3 years, and we have always loved it! The staff is excellent, and they are very accommodating with both check-in and check-out. I have loved hanging out in the kitchen in the mornings just chatting with the staff. We have stayed in a few rooms, but we seem to now prefer the Grand Duke. The Leonard at Logan is close to the downtown attractions and nestled in a historic part of the city. We cannot wait for our upcoming visit in September.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hilary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Leonard at Logan House B and B is in a mostly lovely neighbourhood. Across the street is a Frank Lloyd Wright home and four blocks away is a terrific restaurant but in between you'll find the odd abandoned building and a few mansions converted to student housing. A bit of a mixed bag.
And that is in fact not unlike this bed and breakfast itself.
At one point in its history it was an imposing and opulent home, the vestiges of which can be found in the large living room with grand piano and settees and the dining room with its long shiny mahogany table for twelve. We stayed there on a weekday so there was no hot breakfast and no dining room service. Oh did I say service? Breakfast was a 'buffet' affair, set up in the small breakfast room off the dining room. Guests helped themselves to juice or fruit or hardboiled eggs from the fridge or made some toast or cereal. Not a staffperson to be seen. There were only seats for four people (two tables) so we felt pressured to leave quickly to accommodate the next guests. We had hoped to find one of the owners or a staffperson to help us with some directions but from the time that we arose in the morning until we left two and a half hours later, we never saw or heard (or could find) anyone except for other guests.
As for the room, it was adequate. Significant stains on the bathroom sink made us a bit queasy but the bed was comfy and the sheets clean.
From all that we had read on Trip Advisor and the B and B's website, we had anticipated a lot more than we experienced.
This is the only time that I have been to Grand Rapids and so can't comment on how this property compares to others. If you are planning to stay one night, it's fine. Longer than that and you may be sorry that you hadn't tried somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glengowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were so happy to be able to stay in this historic home. The information was posted about the rooms, the home's original owners and history, here and there around the place. Although the exterior is a bit bleak and plain, don't be fooled. The interiors are to die for. I took so many photos of the many beautiful rooms - too many to post here. There also are pretty grounds. We loved the Baroness room, and it served our purposes perfectly. The host's welcome was wonderful and the room absolutely perfect for us.
My husband was not feeling well, and didn't feeling up to going out for dinner. So they encouraged me to just take up some items to the room, and to make a supper for us from the breakfast room supplies. They had soups, breads, juices, milk, coffee and tea, and fruits there - more than enough for a light supper. The fact that the Baroness room was tucked away up the back staircase was great, we had complete privacy and quiet.
The breakfast next morning was fabulous. Absolutely everything you could want, and more.
We cannot recommend this place too highly. We paid $198, and it was worth every penny!
P.S. Visit the May house down the street, too.

Room Tip: The Baroness room is lovely and private, off by itself, with a separate closet, small dressing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After reading all the reviews we decided to stay at the Leonard.
The house is beautiful and is in a historic neighborhood not far from downtown.
When I made the reservation I did not realize they were accepting "well behaved children".
During our stay an unruly four year old could be heard throughout the house in the evening and
during breakfast.
The sheets were uncomfortable and when I checked the tag saw that they were 100% polyester.
In all the other inns we stayed we never experienced this.
Breakfast consists of a small buffet in a small room so if there are more than three persons it is
impossible to get food properly. The bread is old and dry (was there on our arrival the day before). How difficult is it to get muffins at the local bakery or to bake? In fact they have a top of the line kitchen.
We had a huge bedroom but not well kept :damaged furniture, just two generic paintings on the wall, no personal touch. We had the same feeling in the dining room and living room.
There is a patio but just table and chairs. No flowers.
We are so glad we just spent ONE night there. We will not go back and cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mflyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
1.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
1 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 49 in Grand Rapids
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
992 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leonard at Logan House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leonard at Logan House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 440 Logan St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-5354
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $120 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leonard at Logan House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonard at Logan House is a Grand Rapids, Michigan bed and breakfast providing an alternative to hotel lodging in a historic inn. Located in the Heritage Hill neighborhood, our B&B is in the middle of one of the largest urban historic districts in the country. As a historic bed and breakfast our guests enjoy comfortable beds, gracious rooms, and modern conveniences during their stay in our turn-of-the-last-century mansion. Whether in town for business or pleasure, the Leonard at Logan Bed and Breakfast will exceed your expectations while filling you with fond memories. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Leonard at Logan House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing