We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leonard at Logan: the Only Place to Stay in GR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Grand Rapids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Leonard at Logan: the Only Place to Stay in GR”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a group of 13 people stay here for four nights in early June. The space is beautiful, the staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, and the location can't be beat. Would definitely stay here again- so much better than a boring ol' hotel!

Room Tip: From what I could see, all of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
64
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Came in to Michigan from California for a week to visit family and friends in our hometown. We needed a get-away in the middle of the trip. My boyfriend made reservations here, and so glad we did!! In the heart of downtown's Heritage Hill neighborhood. This B&B is Soooo beautiful, peaceful, and spacious. The gracious hospitality is impeccable. I don't do well with traveling and not being in my own bed, but the big comfy room and bed made me sleep like a baby. The espresso/coffee maker was to die for, and the little food "spread" (all day/night) gives you a nice variety to munch. We stayed 2 nights during the week, so there was quiche and fresh fruit. (stay on a weekend and you get a bigger breakfast).
The area is in walking distance of some nice bars and pubs. Try "Winchesters" for sure! The food and Sangria's are yum.
This place is awesome~sauce!! Thank you so much! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sir Charles, but we peeked at a few more during the day...You can't go wrong wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Travelling in Michigan with a friend and came across this lovely B&B in Grand Rapids. Charming house in the city's Heritage Hill area with lovely and spacious rooms. Extra points for the incredibly comfortable bed, the convenience of keyless entry to the room and the house (no keys to lose or juggle with your own keys) and the well-stocked coffee bar and snack area off the main dining room. Also appreciated the warm, homemade cookies on arrival! Would have liked to have sampled the cooked breakfast, but this was not available as we were staying through the week rather than a weekend. Also felt the off brand toiletries provided let a B&B that seems to pride itself on the details down a bit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Grand Duke, which was spacious and has it's own en suite (not all rooms do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philmchick31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was a great B&B. We stayed one night for my birthday and found it to be a perfect location. It is a bit pricey, but if you're willing to share a bathroom or are going with another couple you can get the rooms on the top floor. The hosts were so accomodating and answered all my questions. The house itself is a great place to relax. There is a sitting room with a fireplace and a kitchen nook where there is a help your self station all day (and night long) with cereal, granola bars, coffee, juice, water, yogurt and even cheese sticks! In the afternoon there were fresh baked cookies which were a perfect snack late at night when we came home from a night of celebrating! We had a hot breakfast which was delicious. There were eggs, pancakes and an out of this world french toast! The room we stayed in was very comfortable although you can hear everything in the hallway through the door. Don't expect to be sleeping in. The room had a comfy king size bed, walk in closet, sitting area and a bathroom with a heated floor. The B&B is right in the middle of the historic district which is a short cab ride away from downtown Grand Rapids. Parking is a little tight on the property (3 or 4 spots) and if it's full, you'll be parking on the street, but not really a big deal. Overall, this was such a great place to stay and we will have to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widget_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had to be downtown for a memorial service and all of the hotels were full. We thought we'd search for a B&B and found The Leonard House, what a great stroke of luck! We will definitely stay here again. The room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. We stayed in The Baron and the only negative comment is that the bathroom sink needs upgrading. The rust stains and lack of a drain stopper need to be corrected. But that's the only negative I have. Mark was very attentive to any question or request that we had and breakfast was wonderful, something for everyone. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWL_TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently went to a concert in GR and at the last minute decided to spend the night. But, hotel prices were outrageous! I found the Leonard at Logan on tripadvisor, and chose to book it based upon the great reviews....and am so happy I did. The house is absolutely beautiful, and our host was super friendly and welcoming. She was cleaning and cleaning, and cleaning some more -- but it appeared already clean to us. They take the time needed, and really go above and beyond in every way. I was very impressed with the breakfast room options, which are available at all times. Here are the things I can remember seeing in there: several different soda options, bottled water, coffee "bar", yogurts, cereals, milks, bagels, cream cheese, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit cups, pop tarts, breads, homemade cookies. We never heard another guest, though apparently there were others there. I will definitely be booking a room here again, and maybe next time it will be a girls night out! Stay, you can't possibly regret it.

Room Tip: We loved the Princess Cecile, but I toured all the rooms, and they really are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our family packed the Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast the weekend after Christmas. We traveled from Cincinnati, OH and Normal, IL to celebrate with our Grand Rapids family. Leonard at Logan House is spacious enough to accomodate our large family, and the Innkeepers Charlie and Melanie were exceptionally accomodating and friendly. The house is beautifully decorated, beds are comfortable and warm, and this is one of the cleanest inns that I have ever stayed in (I am a stickler for cleanliness, so this ranks very high in my book). The weekend breakfast on Saturday and Sunday accomodated our large party. Everything served was warm and well prepared (awesome french toast). The extra treat was the coffee bar, where all types of teas, coffees, and cold drinks and treats were available at all hours. This is a very beautiful house. True, the floors creak, but that is the nature of a house of this age and part of the charm. Our family looks forward to future stays at Leonard at Logan House B & B. It was truly a home away from home and a fantastic place to celebrate Christmas with our entire family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Werner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
1.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
956 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#12 of 48 in Grand Rapids
365 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 440 Logan St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-5354
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonard at Logan is a Grand Rapids, Michigan bed and breakfast proving an alternative to hotel lodging in a historic inn. Located in Heritage Hill, this B&B is in the middle of one of the largest urban historic districts in the country. As a historic bed and breakfast our guests enjoy comfortable beds, gracious rooms, and modern conveniences during their stay in this turn-of-the-century mansion. Whether in town for business or pleasure, the Leonard at Logan Bed and Breakfast will exceed your expectations while filling you with fond memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing