We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding venue and perfect B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Grand Rapids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic wedding venue and perfect B&B!”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My sister held her wedding here and it couldn't have worked out better. The Inn is spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. The dining room table served as a buffet table, the coffee nook as a cake room (with a candy bar) and the yard was great for the ceremony. Charles was a perfect host and breakfast cook (the french toast was other-worldly)! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtBaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    14
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
61
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, MI
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here when I was 6 months pregnant with our 6th child to spend time together. The staff was so wonderful as well as the rooms and food. We had a couples in room massage and it was fantastic. Highly recommend staying here when visiting Grand Rapids or if you live here and want a night away from home.

The only down side was you couldn't adjust the heat or open the windows, being 6 months pregnant I was hot. Luckily we found a fan in the closet but it was still a little too warm.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstaskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The Leonard at Logan was the best kind of surprise. I had recently booked an evening there so that my husband and I could "getaway" for one night of our weekend visit to see family in the area. My only regret was that we couldn't stay the whole weekend. The rooms are huge and the beds are very soft. My husband and I slept better than we had slept in months! The caretaker was very kind and always available when needed, but was not "there" which made us feel like we had the place to ourselves even though there were many couples staying there for the weekend.

The location is amazing, surrounded by mid-century architecture. If you are interested, it is next door to a Frank Lloyd Wright designed home and across the street from another which is available to tour.

Breakfast was amazing--light if you wanted it to be (fresh berries, cereal, coffee, etc.) or indulgent if you chose (my husband had the ooey-gooey french toast and he raved about it). If you needed a late night snack, cup of tea or coffee it was always available.

I wish we would have had a couples massage---something for next time I guess. We will definitely be making a habit of staying here when we come up to visit family or when we decide not to tell them we are in town!

P.S. There was some construction nearby--but it didn't bother us at all. The caretaker let us park in the driveway, which was perfect.

Room Tip: The online reservations system worked well for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mssands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a wedding to go to in Grand Rapids and instead of staying in one of the giant high rise hotels downtown we opted to stay at The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast that a friend of mine recommended. We were pleasantly surprised at not only its convenient location but at the beautiful room that we stayed in.

The bed and breakfast is just a short cab ride from all the downtown attractions and was easy to get to. It's located in the historic district and is actually next door to a Frank Lloyd Wright style house. Restored and remodeled to fit the needs of modern guests our room had a shower and a deep jacuzzi tub, flat screen tv, free wifi, and plenty of outlets. We received a key code that provided entry to the house and the room so it was easy to stop in and leave as needed. We were only there for one night, but they do also offer spa services such as facials and massages. The rooms are not only beautifully decorated, large, and comfortable, but very quiet. We only heard other guests when we were in the hallway or dining room.

The service can't be beat, the house managers are very welcoming and did their best to answer any questions and provide us with whatever we needed. Next time we hope to stay a bit longer at The Leonard at Logan House and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: I recommend the Princess Cecile Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I stayed here two nights on a girls' weekend with three friends. We rented the Baron/Baronness suite, and it was perfect. The two rooms open into a little hallway that can be closed off from the rest of the house by a door, so the suite feels truly private. Both rooms were comfortable, with flat-screen TVs, queen-size beds, and lovely, classic furnishings. The bed was a bit soft for my taste, but my friends had no problem. The bathroom we shared had a heated floor - pure heaven! - and a nice shower and tub.

The rest of the house was equally beautiful and tastefully decorated. It was interesting to hear how it had been restored after being college housing for a number of years.

The breakfast was delicious and generous. They hand you room service-style menu cards to fill out with your choices, including a line for special requests, and you can also choose to dine anytime until 11 a.m. Among the four of us, we tried the French toast, pancakes, bacon, eggs, bagel and fruit cup, and all were yummy.

There were also some nice amenities like available snacks (including homemade chocolate-chip cookies, sodas and yogurt) and a machine that dispenses coffee or hot water 24/7, plus free wireless.

The service was wonderful. The manager, Mark, was friendly and helpful without being the slightest bit intrusive. The house was also quiet. Don't know if we were just fortunate in our fellow guests, but the house was full the weekend we stayed, and we didn't even realize it until the manager mentioned it.

We also took advantage of the in-house spa services, and they were marvelous. Three of us got massages, and what was great was that they were able to accommodate all of us at once, which most salons can't do. There is only one pedicure chair, so if a group of you wanted that, you would have to take turns. My friend said it was worth it - the leg massage that came with it was heavenly.

One other note: The house is within sight of the Frank Lloyd Wright-designed Meyer May House, so if you plan to visit that, this is an ideal accommodation. The manager knew a lot about the architecture of the rest of the neighborhood, including pointing out another house designed by one of Wright's students. It would be a far better experience than staying in a hotel, esp. considering the beautiful architecture of the B&B itself.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitmore Lake, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Leonard at Logan House is excellent. The house is beautiful and immaculately maintained. The staff does a great job of catering to your every need and always being available while still providing you with a real sense of privacy. The breakfast are very generous and tasty and prepared with love. The rooms are clean and thoughtfully appointed. I just couldn't find a bad thing about this place if I tried. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Stayed at the Leonard just because we wanted something different than a hotel and we wanted to be close to the museums and activities in Grand Rapids. We've stayed at other b&b's over the years, but, this is by far the most elegant. Paul, the inn keeper, has everything warm and inviting & is eager to assist in suggesting wonderful places to dine. Giant fire in the living room fireplace, homemade goodies, the inn is full of beautiful light through the many windows. This inn is really a mini mansion! It sits in the beautiful heritage hills historic area (full of mini mansions) of Grand Rapids and is in easy safe walking distance to downtown. We easily took a brisk winter walk to the Art Museum, which is about 1.3 miles one way walk.
Rooms are all very large and elegantly decorated. Flat screen tvs and private baths. We stayed in the LadyAnn room. Heated floors in bathroom and an unusual and separate double-headed shower for 2 complete with a marble bench and heated floor. No hair dryers in the baths, so bring your own.
Close to downtown, museums, and great places to eat. Great get away, we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.0 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#16 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 440 Logan St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-5354
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonard at Logan is a Grand Rapids, Michigan bed and breakfast proving an alternative to hotel lodging in a historic inn. Located in Heritage Hill, this B&B is in the middle of one of the largest urban historic districts in the country. As a historic bed and breakfast our guests enjoy comfortable beds, gracious rooms, and modern conveniences during their stay in this turn-of-the-century mansion. Whether in town for business or pleasure, the Leonard at Logan Bed and Breakfast will exceed your expectations while filling you with fond memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Leonard at Logan House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing