We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Visit, Will visit again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of XO Asian Cuisine

XO Asian Cuisine
Ranked #353 of 916 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“1st Visit, Will visit again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Last night was my first visit to XO and it was pretty good. My girlfriend and I had the Mongolian Beef and a chicken/peanut/veggie dish. I really liked the tender, flavorful chicken. We had rice and fried rice, but there wasn't much difference other than it seemed the "fried" rice was soaked in soy sauce. I was disappointed in it as I had heard it was really good. (I've had better). The beef was pretty decent too. Since Art Prize was going on and I think they had sushi special, it was quite busy. We sat outside though and were greeted in about 10 minutes. (The wait inside was 20 min). Once our orders were taken, the service was pretty good and prices are reasonable

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wallst25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, ideal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Last night was my first time at XO--I was taken by a friend of mine from Korea. He admitted that the food there wasn't much like anything they had "back home", but that hardly mattered. I don't like sushi, so we tried meals off their main menu--the Mu Shoo chicken and the Mongolian beef. The Mongolian beef was good, but the Mu Shoo chicken was fantastic. I had never had anything like it before, but it was delicious. The restaurant wasn't loud, was clean, and had a great serving style. The waitress that we had was always by my side when I needed more water, or anything else, but never hovered or intruded. The prices were spot on, too! I will definitely be returning here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biz_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattoon il
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't say it strongly enough: Avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Between craving sushi and reading the reviews on tripadvisor, this restaurant quickly became our top choice for the last night of our vacation. We could not have been more disappointed. I've never had sushi be so flavorless. It was just bizarre. I can only compare it to the pseudo-sushi you sometimes find on cheap Asian food buffets. If it weren't for adding a copious amount of wasabi, there would've been no flavor whatsoever. It's bad when you can't taste the difference between unagi and a California roll with your eyes closed. But not even that would compel me to write such a scathing review. No. What pushed me over the edge was (midway through our meal) the cockroach that crawled across the back of the bench seat lining the wall where my husband was seated. My husband tried to grab it with his napkin, but it got away only to later make it's appearance at his opposite shoulder and meander it's way down the front of the seat. At that point, we snagged the attention of a passing waitress who let out a muffled "OOOHHH, " and quickly dispatched the critter with a bunch of napkins. My husband asked, "Do you have many of those?" To which she replied, "A few..." Um, yeah. With cockroaches where you find one, there are HUNDREDS. Revolting. Best part--no apologies, no visit from the manager, no comp on the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank myra1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent For Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Love Eating Here, Especially For Lunch. The Food Is Really Fresh And The Prices Reasonable. The Spring Rolls And Sesame Chicken Are My Personal Fave. Atmosphere Is Nice And Quiet!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This a great place for Sushi with half off Tuesdays impossible to beat. Nice little outdoor space in downtown.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed XO Asian Cuisine also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to XO Asian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing