We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Cinco de Mayo

Cinco de Mayo
Ranked #170 of 930 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: http://www.mlive.com/entertainment/grand-rapids/index.ssf/2010/02/post_10.html
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great atmosphere, friendly staff, knowledgeable to suggest true Mexican food. I would defiantly return, and try more items on the menu.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kmfsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    33
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Gross, like eating cat food.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is one of THE WORST Mexican restaraunts I have ever been too. I ordered the beef tacos and I'm almost positive they put cat food in the tortillas. I would never recommend going here, and the service is absolutely terrible. Look elsewhere for Mexican food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lclosner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

3300 Alpine Ave. NW...relatively new...lots of seating...BIG menu....average run of the mill mexican food. Server was nice, polite, helpful...but she did not have much to work with. I wonder when one of the bigger restaurants will find a way to serve more authentic and tasty food. This is close to an Olive Garden, next time I will go there vs Cinco de Mayo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 597RoyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Had the Chimichanga, one was beef, the other chicken. Simply delicious. Although it was a busy weekend evening, we were able to walk in and be immediately seated. Service was very fast and efficient. The plate we ordered was enough to feed the two of us! Price was very reasonable for the portion that was served to us! Very colorful decor made for a very festive environment. When the weather gets warmer, outdoor, sidewalk seating becomes available in a "cafe" type style.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martenve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Soooo not authenic Mexican”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stopped in at the Alpine location during a break from shopping.There were very few diners and the place was very spacious. The greeting was sincere, and the basket of chips and salsa that came to the table immediately was fantastic and greatly appreciated. We loved the decor and the bar, which is directly in front of you when you walk in and looked like a fun place to drink margaritas and watch a game. After that, it all went downhill.

The menu looked pretty good but it took a while to get our drink order, as well as our dinner order. My partner got a cheese and onion enchilada and a meat and bean enchilada, which came with a side of refried beans. While he specified 'cheese and onion', the enchilada came with the onions on top, not inside with the cheese as indicated. But that can be forgiven.

I ordered a hard shell beef taco and a cheese/chicken enchilada which came with a side of rice. The hard shell taco and the tortilla used to make the enchilada was not cooked thoroughly and was moist and pasty---easily pulled apart with a fork. Raw. The sauce on the top was actually a marinara sauce with hints of oregano/basil and the chicken was very dry. The rice had frozen corn, peas and carrots in it.....I could not eat the food. The best things on the table were the chips, salsa and the refried beans.
Since our server left after taking our order, the greeter brought our food to us.

There are too many excellent Mexican restaurants to ever patronize this one at this location again. I go to a lot of restaurants and know exactly where to go to get quality Mexican food.......this is the only one on the north side of Grand Rapids (Alpine area, near Celebration Cinema) so they have a captive audience at this time. But if another one moves in the area, this Cinco de Mayo will be in serious trouble.

There is another location downtown Grand Rapids which I'm willing to try, based on the reviews already posted about that Cinco de Mayo. But the one on the north end----no thank you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinco de Mayo also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Cinco de Mayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing