We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Szechuan Shrimp”
Review of First Wok

First Wok
Ranked #196 of 928 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Szechuan Shrimp”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Brought my elderly dad for dinner here in July, and we were promptly seated, and had our order taken after briefly perusing the menu. My dad ordered Moo Goo Gai Pan and while not on the menu, I asked them to prepare Szechuan Shrimp. The orders came in a timely fashion, and the portions were generous. My dad loved his Moo Goo Gai Pan and my Szechuan Shrimp was excellent, with plump, tasty shrimp and a very good variety of vegetables, including baby corn, Chinese cabbage, onion, green pepper, carrots, and more.

Attractive decor, clean and easily accessible on 44th Street, near the Breton intersection.

Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelreviewer3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“First time visit , we shouldn't have waited so long!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very clean and nicely decorated. Well made cocktails and only finer liquors are used, not "well" liquors that are terrible. Service was excellent without being over attentive. Food was well prepared and delicous. Nice area , nice restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
“We Will Not Be Ordering From Them Again”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've ordered take-out several times and had a different problem each time. The service has been horrible, it is clear that some of the employees are not interested in being polite. They've gotten the order wrong more than once. There isn't actually any crab in their Crab Cheese! This most recent time there were more veggies in the Kung Pow Beef than beef and the Sweet and Sour Chicken was so overlooked it was hard to chew. To top it all off, they are more expensive than the other local Chinese restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meaghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

First Wok always delivers fresh good food. I have never been disappointed with going there. The portions are large, so sharing is definately an option.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mongolian Beef and more!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I think for an Americanized Chinese restaurant, this is one of the best around. Flavorful sauces on most dishes. The hot and spicy dishes can be fine tuned for those of us who ask.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JGR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Wok also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to First Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing