We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Will Not Be Ordering From Them Again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Wok

First Wok
Ranked #214 of 916 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
“We Will Not Be Ordering From Them Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've ordered take-out several times and had a different problem each time. The service has been horrible, it is clear that some of the employees are not interested in being polite. They've gotten the order wrong more than once. There isn't actually any crab in their Crab Cheese! This most recent time there were more veggies in the Kung Pow Beef than beef and the Sweet and Sour Chicken was so overlooked it was hard to chew. To top it all off, they are more expensive than the other local Chinese restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meaghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

First Wok always delivers fresh good food. I have never been disappointed with going there. The portions are large, so sharing is definately an option.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mongolian Beef and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I think for an Americanized Chinese restaurant, this is one of the best around. Flavorful sauces on most dishes. The hot and spicy dishes can be fine tuned for those of us who ask.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JGR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food Real Good not good service this time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We Went for Lunch on Saturday. The Food was real good. It usually is.
However , the Service was not so good this Time. Our Server never showed back up to see if everything was okay. Another Person roaming around filled our water and took our dishes. We will go back for the food , but the Server we had could put a smile on her face. Other servers smiled and seemed happy to be there. Not Ours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 42256Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
202 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food in a clean restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Always consistent quality at this Chinese restaurant. Friendly and efficient help and the lunch menu is priced economically. Dinner menu is 50% higher. Full course of soup and entrée has never been a disappointment. Great place for lunch but not much different to offer in the evening. Great place to eat lunch as you can order,get your meal, and eat in under 45 minutes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Wok also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to First Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing