We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse experience in a restaurant in a long time”
Review of Cascade Roadhouse

Cascade Roadhouse
Ranked #152 of 943 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worse experience in a restaurant in a long time”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I dined here after spending a few hours shopping on 28 th Street. We were greeted nicely by the hostess and seated in a mostly empty dining room. The waitress took our drink order and deliver the glass of wine in a timely manner but waited at least 25 minutes to ask us what we wanted for dinner. After almost an hour wait dinner arrived, my wife's salad was good but my sirloin was way over cooked and cold along with a cold bake potato and squash and no popovers. The two tables next to us left before getting their food because the wait was so long.
I have never been to a place that had this bad of service and food. We would have had better food and service at Mc Donald's.
Without a serious change in the way they do business they will not be in business long.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leroy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GRAND RAPIDS
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Musty, old, dated, wouldn't go again”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hubby and I stopped by for the first time the other night. Immediately upon entering, we knew it wasn't going to be great. Old, musty smell, dirty. Bar tender was prompt, and friendly. We ordered the artichoke dip and a burger. Fries were okay, burger was okay, dip not so good. If you are looking for something quick it would be fine but....if you want a good meal from a fresh, modern, clean restaurant. You may want to re-think.
Outdoor seating is sub-par. Cheap Plastic chairs, dirty plates left on tables.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimdurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's tired and so is the food”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have always enjoyed this place until out last couple of visits. The food is pretty basic and the service so-so. The staff seems to have a greater desire to go out for a smoke break than serve and the place was just kind of sad.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ditjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Nice local place”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The entrance off road is a bit worn and difficult for handicapped, but in summer it is a deck...the inside is quite dark, but cozy in winter. Food is good, nothing to write home about, but tasty enough.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Cozy Valentine Dinner”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband wanted to celebrate Valentine's Day with dinner out. I was thrilled. We looked for a place that was close, but one we had not been to before. The Cascade Roadhouse was everything we had hoped for, a quiet , cozy atmosphere, good food, fair prices, and helpful wait staff. We relaxed and refreshed after a long day of watching grandchildren. Check it out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascade Roadhouse also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Cascade Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing