We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$116
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn Airport(Grand Rapids)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge & Suites(Grand Rapids)(Great Value!)
$70
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites(Grand Rapids)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport(Grand Rapids)(Great Value!)
$98
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Grand Rapids(Grand Rapids)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveler rating
240
148
68
54
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
148
68
54
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesroom was cleanmeijer storeconvenient locationfront desk staffgreat ratequeen bedgreat place to staystayed two nightsoff the highwaycomplimentary breakfastpleasant stayone night stayyogurtrestaurants and shoppingwould stay here againhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 549 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

First of all, I will tell you my wife and I spent two nights at this hotel free, due to an enormous amount of loyalty points—which reflects on why I choose Country Inns and Suites so often, and this location is no exception.

It is well-run, clean, and with all CI&S amenities. It is close to an Interstate interchange, but what traffic noise reaches the room does not disturb sleep. Its location, in fact, was one of the reasons for our choice of this hotel, as it made it easy to get to the Meijer Gardens, and the shuttle bus to ArtPrize 2012, in downtown Grand Rapids. Although on the outer portion of the Grand Rapids, there are several places to dine right in the area, and, if none attract you, it’s just a short hop onto the highway, and into the main part of the city.

And while on the subject of location, the building is, as others have commented, a little tricky to find at first. There is a shared sign at the entrance to a Meijer store, but the Country Inns logo is quite tiny, and can be easily missed at first glance. However, if you turn into the Meijer lot, and follow a road running beside the store, you will see the hotel. (And having a huge store next to your hotel makes it easy to stock-up on beverages and snacks, plus anything else you forgot to take on your trip.)

No bad surprises here. Rooms are large and well-appointed, the beds are comfortable, and the bathroom has an extra-long countertop, so two people could do morning mirror-work at the same time. There was a problem with getting the air conditioner to work, but someone from the front desk came up quickly to rectify the situation. (We didn’t use the pool, but it looked in excellent condition.)

The breakfast is above-average, although I felt the eggs/sausage/potatoes warmer could have done a better job. I found the eggs and sausage were a bit cooler than I prefer, but my wife said it wasn’t that bad. While there seems to be enough tables for a weekday, they were at a premium on Sunday morning. However, the hotel provides disposable dishes and cutlery, so breakfast could be taken back to the room. (We weren’t there on the days when light evening meals are served.)

Even with the egg temperature not quite what I like, I can still give this hotel an “Excellent” rating. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKTravelerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Grand Rapids Airport, MI, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so thrilled you were able to stay with us using your points! On behalf of our entire staff, we hope you had a safe travel home and we will see you soon!

Thank you,

Katelin Parmelee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I normally will go out of my way to avoid a Country Inn and Suites, but every thing was sold out and I took a chance. The place was built in 2007 and is fairly new and fresh. It is located near the airport, but far enough away that you do not hear the airplanes at night. I had a king room. Everything was clean and well maintained. Service at the front desk was quick and efficient. The air conditioning was quiet and worked well. Overall it was a restful night...bed was comfortable and the bedding was in great condition. Bathroom was large and clean. My only complaint...the hot section of the breakfast was disappointing. Suggest you go with the cereal and fruit. They have a shuttle to the airport and the hotel is located near a great super market....5 minute walk. This hotel is recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor that faces the back. These rooms face the trees and remain dark with the blackout curtains...also very quite.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Grand Rapids Airport, MI, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Rory,

I am so glad that you took a chance on us and that we were able to make you feel better about Country Inn's! Your kind words mean a great deal to us as we strive every day to make everyone feel welcome and happy! I hope you will come visit us again soon!

Amanda P.
Assistant General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We usually write a great review about this little gem. It's not a four or five star, but usually a counted on "steady three star" stay,clean and very friendly staff. Stayed Sept 22 & 23rd while visiting Art Prize.

Our room - carpet stained, dust ruffles not set on the beds properly which just made the room look sloppy, and the cloth shower curtain rod drooped so that the curtain wouldn't stay closed, therefore, water pooled on the floor.

Breakfast - something should be done regarding occupancy and anticipated breakfast participants. Only one server just couldn't keep up with the demand, and please, get rid of the re-constituted scrambled eggs. Hire someone else to help out with the food prep on those busy weekend.

Entry - Michigan finally passed "no smoking" rules, but the trash receptacle at the front door/entry was still the old style that used to have sand at the top for smokers to extinguish their butts on the way in. Well, guess what, you can't change "old smokers and ask them to be considerate of others." They are still using the ashtray, and the law now state you must have the smoking area away from the entrance by 20 feet! Smokers were gathered around and everyone who wanted to access the lobby had to walk through the smoke. Not good, actually terrible health risk for asthmatics.

Staff - Always pleasant..... Always......

Come on folks, change it up!!!!! We won't be back until things change.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skate62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Grand Rapids Airport, MI, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel.

We are currently working on relocating the smoking area and we appreciate you bringing to our attention your concerns with the issue.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. I'm so glad to hear you enjoy our staff so much.

If you would like to further discuss the issues you experienced during your stay please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Katelin Parmelee
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
cx_grmi@countryinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Even though its not brand new, this hotel still seems so! the breakfast was a step above the normal fare.. and the staff was nice and helpful. We found the beds to be very comfortable!

Its a bit tricky to find the road leading to the hotel. work your way into the parking lot of the nearby shopping area then notice the access road in the near corner. EUREKA!! you've made it!

RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room near the side exit for quick access to your vehicle.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunkirk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Grand Rapids Airport, MI, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to see that you've noticed all the hard work we put into keeping our hotel clean and "fresh!" We love welcoming out guest into their home away from home with aromatic smells of the seasons!
I'm sorry to hear you had difficulty finding us at first! we are trying out best to rectify the situation as soon as we can!

Thank you so much for visiting and we hope to hear from you soon

Amanda
Assistant General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Upon arrival Katelyn greeted us warmly, had warm cookies available, and offered us a piece of cheesecake. She made a huge effort to find us the most affordable rate possible. Like most Country Inn properties, this one is located in the center of a busy metropolitan area. But you can always count on this franchise to offer clean, comfortable, well-maintained accomodations and this location does NOT disappoint. Also, nice personal touches like the real plant on the bathroom counter, patio tables located outside and a stocked lending library. After traveling for hours, this was a nice, "home away from home."

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvernon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews