We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That fresh new hotel smell!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Even though its not brand new, this hotel still seems so! the breakfast was a step above the normal fare.. and the staff was nice and helpful. We found the beds to be very comfortable!

Its a bit tricky to find the road leading to the hotel. work your way into the parking lot of the nearby shopping area then notice the access road in the near corner. EUREKA!! you've made it!

RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room near the side exit for quick access to your vehicle.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunkirk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to see that you've noticed all the hard work we put into keeping our hotel clean and "fresh!" We love welcoming out guest into their home away from home with aromatic smells of the seasons!
I'm sorry to hear you had difficulty finding us at first! we are trying out best to rectify the situation as soon as we can!

Thank you so much for visiting and we hope to hear from you soon

Amanda
Assistant General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 469 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Upon arrival Katelyn greeted us warmly, had warm cookies available, and offered us a piece of cheesecake. She made a huge effort to find us the most affordable rate possible. Like most Country Inn properties, this one is located in the center of a busy metropolitan area. But you can always count on this franchise to offer clean, comfortable, well-maintained accomodations and this location does NOT disappoint. Also, nice personal touches like the real plant on the bathroom counter, patio tables located outside and a stocked lending library. After traveling for hours, this was a nice, "home away from home."

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvernon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here overnight while transiting through to Kalamazoo from Grand Rapids Airport. The hotel is fairly close to the airport, and is right next to a big mall with lots of stores, etc. Therefore, location-wise, this hotel is decent, though I wouldn't want to stay here for extended periods, since it is concrete and tarmac all around.

The rooms were clean, and internet speeds were decent. Breakfast was acceptable for a hotel is this price / facility range.

Overall, about what I expected - nothing spectacular, but nothing bad either; just a generic hotel convenient for overnighters, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivekSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Sorry, but I was compelled to write this after coming back from a business trip. Apparently there are two Country Inns in the area, this is not the good one. You could get a flat tire manuvering the parking lot potholes. I suspect the only reason they serve "dinner", and I use that term loosely, is because they run some kind of assisted living program there. They gave me a handicapped room, the ironing board on the wall, no closet door. The air conditioner thermostat didn't work. Someone was complaining about a smell from their bathroom, as was told "that's normal", hummm. Guess he's an expert cuz he's worked there for three years, according to the desk. Their "Business office" is an antiquated desktop in the lobby in need of major maintainance with a crappy printer. PLEASE don't call this a business center!
Do yourself a favor and stay at the other one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbf5434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinngrmi, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We always like to hear feedback, good or bad, in order to improve ourselves for future guests.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the staff attitude towards room’s issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. I am also sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the light meal we offer in the evenings. We offer it as a small extra amenity for our guests and make the menu off of feedback we receive. Every menu item we offer is based on guest requests and feedback we have gotten in the past.

Again, I apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that we can exceed future guests expectations.


Sincerely,

Tara Groustra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

No complaints other than for some reason our fitted sheet popped off in the middle of the night...very unusual (and we know what you're thinking...it wasn't that!). Place is a little tricky to get to. Address is 28th street but it's actually on access road that goes around Meijers.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Russ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night in July. It was very difficult to find. We had to stop at several different businesses, including a different hotel to get directions. The hotel is tucked away beside the off ramp, next to the Mejers store. There is a very small sign, that is hard to see. If you stay at this hotel turn into the Mejers parking lot, and turn left. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Considering the proximity to the road, the hotel and rooms are very quiet. Now that we know how to get to the hotel, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel are quieter, although all are okay.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here during a mini weekend vacation to Holland and Saugatuck. Front desk staff was friendly, and check in was very quick. The room was very large with a king bed and in room whirlpool. The bathroom and room was spotless with updated ammenities. Pool area looked very nice as well, although not utilized during the stay. King bed was very comfortable, and whole hotel had cozy feeling. The only complaint I have is that the hotel was a little hard to find as it shares parking lot with large retailer.

Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Whirlpool rooms are very nice!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovetotravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#17 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $104 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, MI hotel and enjoy convenient amenities, unrivaled customer service and an ideal location. Our hotel features free Wi-Fi, premium cable on flat-screen TVs, indoor pool and all you need to feel right at home. We are located just minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport as well as a great variety of museums and top shopping opportunities. Book your reservations at Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other Grand Rapids hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Mi
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing