We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very hard to find”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night in July. It was very difficult to find. We had to stop at several different businesses, including a different hotel to get directions. The hotel is tucked away beside the off ramp, next to the Mejers store. There is a very small sign, that is hard to see. If you stay at this hotel turn into the Mejers parking lot, and turn left. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Considering the proximity to the road, the hotel and rooms are very quiet. Now that we know how to get to the hotel, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel are quieter, although all are okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    128
    53
    39
    30
See reviews for
181
77
29
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here during a mini weekend vacation to Holland and Saugatuck. Front desk staff was friendly, and check in was very quick. The room was very large with a king bed and in room whirlpool. The bathroom and room was spotless with updated ammenities. Pool area looked very nice as well, although not utilized during the stay. King bed was very comfortable, and whole hotel had cozy feeling. The only complaint I have is that the hotel was a little hard to find as it shares parking lot with large retailer.

Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Whirlpool rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here prior to our flight into NY and the staff was very helpful. We were intending to park at the airport for ease of luggage transport, but the desk clerk told us that they had a shuttle to the airport and that we could park our car there at the hotel since we had reservations to stay there the night we returned from NY. This was beyond anything we could have expected. Very pleased with this stay.

When we got back from NY, we had a very late flight (arriving at 12:22 am!) so had arranged for late check in. Despite how late it was, they still had shuttle service available when we landed. The pool and hot tub were in great condition and very welcome after traveling (we cheated, we were actually in the pool after it was closed for the night, but we were told that as long as we were not loud and no one else complained, they would let us get away with it to unkink after our flights).

It is a little hard to find, in the parking lot by the Meijer's. The sign at the street entrance shows it, but it can be a little confusing as there is another hotel listed above it on the sign and it is easy to miss the Country Inn logo.

We definitely will stay here again if we travel out of Grand Rapids Airport and we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elessar10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I would have been thrilled with this hotel if they didn't give me such high expectations at check in.

We were told at check in there was a light dinner being served from 5-7. Checking it out it was a pasta dish, salad, garlic bread, chips, and pop. We tried a bit of everything, it was good, so we decided to not go out to dinner. When we came back at 6:45 to get some dinner, they had already put away all the dinner things! Definitely a disappointment.

At this brand of hotels, there's always supposed to be cookies at the front desk. The whole night we could not get cookies. We finally asked them to put some in, they said to come back in 20 minutes. It actually took over 40 minutes, and when the other members of our group went down 10 minutes later, they were out again! Then of course in the morning when we checked out a 9 AM there 30+ cookies.

Breakfast was disgusting. I've never actually wanted to spit out food at a hotel breakfast before. They really advertise their breakfast as good, so it was really disappointing. We left to get breakfast anywhere else.

The room was of good quality: great mattresses, clean, and very nicely updated.

All in all it was okay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeologyRocksKara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel while in town for a wedding. I work in the hosptiality industry...And I was VERY impressed by this hotel.

There was a very nice young man working at the front desk during their 3rd shift (he was there when we checked in very late on a Friday and when we returned late Saturday from the reception)...He was very nice; I enjoyed his personality and quietly helpful attitude.

Houskeeping did a fantastic job in our room...Everything was remade, cleaned, emptied, vaccuumed, etc...I was so pleased with their service...

If I am in the area again (which we probably will) I plan to stay at this hotel...

Room Tip: I really enjoyed being on the 2nd floor...accessable by staircase and/or elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisco-woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We checked in late and the lobby was very busy (little dirty). I was a little nervous about what the rooms would look like. I was happy to find the room clean. I was surprised when the front desk called the room to make sure everything was ok. The breakfast was nice and kept clean.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelleyswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Kelleyswanson,

Thank you so much for reviewing the Country Inn & Suites. I am so pleased to see you were happy with your stay here. We hope to see you again when you travel back to this area.

Sincerely,
Tara Groustra
General Manager
616-977-0909
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a lilttle hotel and hard to find, but well worth it. We stayed four days, three nights and couldn't have been happier with anything else. Most guests were travelers and single so we had the pool and hot tub to ourselves most of the several hours we were there every day. Full breakfast that was well stocked and then a dinner reception in the evening plus cookies and coffee 24 hours. The housekeeping was good and I'm a picky cleaner. All the staff were very nice. Finding it the first time was tricky and our room was not very big, but we weren't in it very long. Our family enjoyed it and we will be back!

Room Tip: Hotel is three stories and small, all rooms pretty much the same. I think the rooms on the "end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Tanya L.

Thank you for you kind comments regarding the Country Inn & Suites. I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the pool during your stay as well as take advantage of our light meal in the evening. We look forward to your return the next time you come to Grand Rapids.

Thank you so much.

Sincerely,
Tara Groustra
General Manager
616-977-0909
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
151 reviews
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Address: 5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#17 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, MI hotel and enjoy convenient amenities, unrivaled customer service and an ideal location. Our hotel features free Wi-Fi, premium cable on flat-screen TVs, indoor pool and all you need to feel right at home. We are located just minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport as well as a great variety of museums and top shopping opportunities. Book your reservations at Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other Grand Rapids hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Mi
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing