We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Troy Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Smelly Hotel”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed here with my kids one evening on my way back from Michigan's Adventure. It was too late to drive all the way back home. So, we looked for a place to stay for about 6 hours of sleep then back out onto the road. This was one of the few cheap hotels still available when I called. I think I know why. This hotel is old, and the 2nd story floors squeeked while you walked to tell you so. However, the most objectionable part of the stay was the smell in my room. It was musty, smokey, and bad cleaning products smelling in each breath I took. Luckily, I could open the 2nd floor room's window to get some relief.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATravel0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    51
    33
    29
See reviews for
47
32
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I have to admit this is one of the better Super 8 properties I have ever stayed at. The room was basic but clean, very comfortable bed. Employees were nice and I was situated right near the ice machine which was cool (no pun intended). The AC was great first night, not AS good (but not bad) the second night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgliradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I house groups here often and they always have great things to say about this property.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbunny06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I had read mostly positive reviews about this place so I wasn't worried at all... We came in late, the side door glass was cracked and the door wasn't even locked. Our first room was filthy. The floor didn't look like it had been vacuumed and there was half of a condom rapper by the trash can (not ours), gag. I called the front desk and the guy was friendly enough and gave us a new room. It was on the second floor and seemed to be cleaner. However, the walls were paper thin and we could hear EVERYTHING going on around us. Also, Michigan just became smoke free in 2010 so the hotel still smelt of stale smoke. Honestly I thought $50 was way too much for this place, $25-$30 a night would have been more appropriate. I would not ever stay here again. We won't cheap out next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandaboo923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyscales, General Manager at Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
We at the Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport truly pride ourselves on the cleanliness, safety, and comfort of our guests. In your case we failed badly and wish to sincerely apologize for the concerns you had on your recent visit. Concerning the cracked door, it was damaged on Friday the 8th of April and a new door was installed on Tuesday the 12th as soon as it arrived (damage was caused by a rock thrown by a mower). The door locking system was operating properly and is programmed to lock at 11:00pm nightly. The condition of your first room is inexcusable and should not have been available as it had not been cleaned prior to your arrival.
Since the opening of the hotel as a Super 8 in 2008 we have received the Pride of Super 8 Award and have received an “A” score every month since opening. I am truly sorry for the problems you encountered during your stay and hope you will give us and all the Super 8’s another chance to prove how great we can be at a reasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Rapids hotels

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2011

they charged us multiple times for the stay even though we could prove that we pre-paid back in january, would not help resolve the issue, the manager never showed for work to help at all, was hung up on 3 times, told to not ring back, was spoken to rudely, swore at and i still havent received my money, they owe my $125, will never stay there again, or at any other super 8, has ruined that last days of my vacation, beds uncomfortable and pillows lumpy.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyscales, General Manager at Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Guest made reservation through Rabbitrate and using a Debit Card to hold the reservation it was “authorized” for the length of stay requested by the client. Being from outside the U.S. it appeared that the guest was unaware that an Authorization would “freeze” the funds and would be released based on their Banks policy. We did not charge her card until check out as she requested. Debit Cards have always been a problem for individuals who are unsure of how they work and want to hold the hotel responsible for the holding of an authorization when in fact it is at the Banks discretion. We are very sorry for any inconvenience the guest may have encountered and truly hope that they will stay at a Super 8 in the future and see how welcoming and friendly we can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We had a room with a jacuzzi in it and it was wonderful! Room was clean and it was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Given the cheap price, we didn't know what to expect. But we've had good experiences with Super 8's, so we gave it a try. We weren't disappointed. The staff was very friendly, and lots of recommendations as to local activities. The rooms were clean. Overall, we felt this hotel was quite a bargain. We'll stay there on our next trip to Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#30 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#17 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#28 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Grand Rapids
Travelodge Grand Rapids
#33 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
#35 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport

Property: Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport
Address: 4855 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2001 (Formerly Super 8 Grand Rapids/Airport)
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Grand Rapids/Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Super Eight Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Super 8
Grand Rapids Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing