We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The whole place to ourselves”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peaches Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Grand Rapids B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The whole place to ourselves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our first time at Peaches Bed and Breakfast. My wife and I were attempting to have an all Grand Rapids evening with a local dinner, a show a the Civic Theater and then an overnight at Peaches. The hope was to walk to each event. However, I did not bring the weatherman into the plans and Grand Rapids was blanketed in snow. That changed our plans somewhat but didn't lessen our enjoyment with the Peaches.
We were the only guests this night except for a new Dalmatian puppy which joined the two existing dogs at the inn. A cute puppy that was named Dervish. That should say something as to his energy level. He wanted to make his presence known at Breakfast but the hosts were already working on training him to stay out of the dining room. Speaking of Breakfast, It appears from reading other reviews that this has been a point of contention. We enjoyed the breakfast which started with a peach baskets (very tasty), then went to an egg "Frittata" and toast. It was plenty filling. Also served with juice (orange and cranberry).
We stayed in the Green Room which was large and comfortable. The bathroom was also large with what appeared to be date appropriate fixtures. The room had a nice fireplace which we made use of on this cold night.
The building was very nice and clean. The price was good. We don't often have a demand for a B&B in Grand Rapids but if we did we would return here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
7
28
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Suttons Bay, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have stayed here twice and loved both times. It is close to downtown, yet feels like you are in a neighborhood. Allows for convenience to many locations and peaceful escape from everything afterwards.. just like home. Rooms were perfectly clean, beds comfortable, and breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at Peaches for their brew weekend package. It was fantastic! I've never done anything like it. The bed and breakfast itself was lovely. It is very well maintained (I love old houses!). Our room was clean, comfortable, and well decorated. We had a blast and learned so much. We learned what goes into making beer, shopped for the ingredients, attended lessons at the B&B on how to make our own brew, toured local breweries and were able to do tastings and talk with brewmasters. How fun! But the best part was the beer pairing dinner at Peaches. The chef and beer expert they brought in was a great presenter and I learned so much, plus the food and beer were excellent. A great present for the hubs. I don't know how often they offer this package but I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in room #1 which has a nice view of the yard/garden as well as a nice, firm bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We needed to get away from our demanding schedule at least for a day and a night. With an early afternoon appointment in GR, we decided to stay over night at Peaches Bed and Breakfast. It was a wonderful quiet stay and was in walking distance of East Grand Rapids restaurants as well as downtown GR. The next day we took in the Gerald Ford presidential museum. We highly recommend Peaches. Make sure you play a round of pool in the basement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Peaches Bed and Breakfast very much. Our room was spacious and bright with natural light. It's a convenient walk to downtown. Jane was very helpful and gave us some excellent suggestions for places to eat in Grand Rapids. We would definitely come back again.

Green Features: It's a very environmentally friendly place. It was so nice seeing sheets hanging outside to dry!
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfansA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Peaches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us...and for your amiable review. We hope you can visit Grand Rapids again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our first visit to Grand Rapids coincided with ArtPrize - though that's not why we came - and we couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay at Peaches. Location was amazing - we walked to downtown, most of the art and fantastic breweries (Peaches is perfectly located just about 1 mile from Bar Vivant, Founder's and the Grand Rapids Brewing Company - all worth a visit!). Our room was quiet, peaceful and comfortable and had everything we needed - an incredible value based on price alone when compared to the downtown hotels and especially when one considers the amenities and benfits of a stay at Peaches. Wireless internet included (yay!) as well as a delicious breakfast and a coffee maker in each room. Two friendly (but not intrusive) dalmatians are available for any petting / love you may want to give them and breakfast seating is at a shared table in the dining room. There aren't tvs in the bedroom (though I think you can request one if you feel you need one) - if you want to keep to yourself, I imagine it's possible, but the vibe of the place favors those who welcome or at least don't mind conversation and interactions with other guests. There's a shared tv lounge / pool room / bar area downstairs where we hung out for a bit with the owners and other guests for a night cap on our second evening. There are some basic free weights in a room off the lower level available for guest use, too - not a full-on gym, of course, but a welcome amenity you might not expect at a B&B. We read other TripAdvisor reviews before our stay and had a few thoughts: given our personal values, we especially appreciated Peaches' green ethos - if you really needed a new towel/ sheet set up every day, you could request it, but we didn't. If you want to know more about the house and its history, I suppose you could ask for a tour - we didn't but with the website as our guide, we explored on our own and felt right at home. We also read a few reviews that suggest there wasn't enough food for breakfast but that wasn't our experience. It's not an all you-can-eat buffet, but we thought portions (served communally) were perfect, and since my husband had just run a 15-mile Iron Warrior race, that's saying something. All in all, we're very happy with our stay, would stay here again, and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were beautiful - ours had full carpeting; others had hardwood floors with rugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Peaches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We're glad you had a great stay at Peaches and hope to see you again. Thanks for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second stay here. Peaches is located a short walk from downtown Grand Rapids. This home, built in 1916, is a perfect example of homes of that era, and is among so many more examples in the Heritage Hill district. It is in remarkable shape and the rooms are well appointed with a separate bath.

The food served was plentiful and delicious. Grand Rapids is becoming a great destination. It has a wonderful library and museum and events like Art Prize that draw a very good crowd. It also has a wonderful downtown with many different kinds of restaurants and lots of craft beer. There is no better place to stay that Peaches, where you can walk to all the hot spots.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontiacdan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Peaches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaches Bed and Breakfast

Property: Peaches Bed and Breakfast
Address: 29 Gay Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-4405
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Rapids
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaches is an elegant Georgian-style home located in Heritage Hill, downtown. Guests will find beautiful, bright, uncluttered rooms, gourmet breakfast, luxurious amenities, spectacular gardens and memorable hospitality. Business travelers and tourists who are weary and frustrated with routine accommodations are our first priority. Each room has a desk, phone, and free wi-fi. Enjoy Peaches’ game room with pool table, video library, exercise facilities or walk into the heart of Grand Rapids for great dining and activities. The Van Andel arena, convention facilities, and a variety of wonderful restaurants are within walking distance. A full gourmet breakfast is served in the dining room each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing