We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brew Weekend Package was a huge hit!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peaches Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Grand Rapids B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brew Weekend Package was a huge hit!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at Peaches for their brew weekend package. It was fantastic! I've never done anything like it. The bed and breakfast itself was lovely. It is very well maintained (I love old houses!). Our room was clean, comfortable, and well decorated. We had a blast and learned so much. We learned what goes into making beer, shopped for the ingredients, attended lessons at the B&B on how to make our own brew, toured local breweries and were able to do tastings and talk with brewmasters. How fun! But the best part was the beer pairing dinner at Peaches. The chef and beer expert they brought in was a great presenter and I learned so much, plus the food and beer were excellent. A great present for the hubs. I don't know how often they offer this package but I'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in room #1 which has a nice view of the yard/garden as well as a nice, firm bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
7
30
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Owosso, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We needed to get away from our demanding schedule at least for a day and a night. With an early afternoon appointment in GR, we decided to stay over night at Peaches Bed and Breakfast. It was a wonderful quiet stay and was in walking distance of East Grand Rapids restaurants as well as downtown GR. The next day we took in the Gerald Ford presidential museum. We highly recommend Peaches. Make sure you play a round of pool in the basement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Peaches Bed and Breakfast very much. Our room was spacious and bright with natural light. It's a convenient walk to downtown. Jane was very helpful and gave us some excellent suggestions for places to eat in Grand Rapids. We would definitely come back again.

Green Features: It's a very environmentally friendly place. It was so nice seeing sheets hanging outside to dry!
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfansA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Peaches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us...and for your amiable review. We hope you can visit Grand Rapids again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our first visit to Grand Rapids coincided with ArtPrize - though that's not why we came - and we couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay at Peaches. Location was amazing - we walked to downtown, most of the art and fantastic breweries (Peaches is perfectly located just about 1 mile from Bar Vivant, Founder's and the Grand Rapids Brewing Company - all worth a visit!). Our room was quiet, peaceful and comfortable and had everything we needed - an incredible value based on price alone when compared to the downtown hotels and especially when one considers the amenities and benfits of a stay at Peaches. Wireless internet included (yay!) as well as a delicious breakfast and a coffee maker in each room. Two friendly (but not intrusive) dalmatians are available for any petting / love you may want to give them and breakfast seating is at a shared table in the dining room. There aren't tvs in the bedroom (though I think you can request one if you feel you need one) - if you want to keep to yourself, I imagine it's possible, but the vibe of the place favors those who welcome or at least don't mind conversation and interactions with other guests. There's a shared tv lounge / pool room / bar area downstairs where we hung out for a bit with the owners and other guests for a night cap on our second evening. There are some basic free weights in a room off the lower level available for guest use, too - not a full-on gym, of course, but a welcome amenity you might not expect at a B&B. We read other TripAdvisor reviews before our stay and had a few thoughts: given our personal values, we especially appreciated Peaches' green ethos - if you really needed a new towel/ sheet set up every day, you could request it, but we didn't. If you want to know more about the house and its history, I suppose you could ask for a tour - we didn't but with the website as our guide, we explored on our own and felt right at home. We also read a few reviews that suggest there wasn't enough food for breakfast but that wasn't our experience. It's not an all you-can-eat buffet, but we thought portions (served communally) were perfect, and since my husband had just run a 15-mile Iron Warrior race, that's saying something. All in all, we're very happy with our stay, would stay here again, and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were beautiful - ours had full carpeting; others had hardwood floors with rugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Peaches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We're glad you had a great stay at Peaches and hope to see you again. Thanks for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second stay here. Peaches is located a short walk from downtown Grand Rapids. This home, built in 1916, is a perfect example of homes of that era, and is among so many more examples in the Heritage Hill district. It is in remarkable shape and the rooms are well appointed with a separate bath.

The food served was plentiful and delicious. Grand Rapids is becoming a great destination. It has a wonderful library and museum and events like Art Prize that draw a very good crowd. It also has a wonderful downtown with many different kinds of restaurants and lots of craft beer. There is no better place to stay that Peaches, where you can walk to all the hot spots.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontiacdan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane L, Owner at Peaches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

When in GR . . . stay at Peaches . . . Period. The hosts, Jane & Doug were very friendly and helpful and the house is a beautiful and comfortable jewel in a historic setting. We and another couple were in GR for a "pub crawl" ;and, coincidentally Doug is an craft brewer who shared his brewing experiences with us. Breakfast was great. We're big fans of B&B's and this one ranks high on our list of favorites. We would recommend Peaches to anyone heading for Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleN48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Book yourself at Peaches, plain and simple. The historic house is utterly charming and the rooms great. One can comfortably lounge in the basement game-room, get on to the wifi if needed, or stroll the magnificent Heritage Hill neighborhood. Every little thing you might need is available in the rooms, with guest comfort in mind. Jane and Doug have arranged it thoughtfully. As owners they are rather matter of fact, but responsive to any request and efficient. They really are B and B pros. the Dalmatian dogs are a fabulous addition to the experience as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doodle1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
955 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#18 of 48 in Grand Rapids
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaches Bed and Breakfast

Property: Peaches Bed and Breakfast
Address: 29 Gay Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-4405
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Rapids
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaches is an elegant Georgian-style home located in Heritage Hill, downtown. Guests will find beautiful, bright, uncluttered rooms, gourmet breakfast, luxurious amenities, spectacular gardens and memorable hospitality. Business travelers and tourists who are weary and frustrated with routine accommodations are our first priority. Each room has a desk, phone, and free wi-fi. Enjoy Peaches’ game room with pool table, video library, exercise facilities or walk into the heart of Grand Rapids for great dining and activities. The Van Andel arena, convention facilities, and a variety of wonderful restaurants are within walking distance. A full gourmet breakfast is served in the dining room each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing