We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant 1916 built B&B near Downtown Grand Rapids”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peaches Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Grand Rapids B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Pleasant hosts. Large and comfortable room.
Rare opportunity to "live" in a 1916 Georgian Manor style home and tour the Heritage Hill District.
The two Dalmatians made things lively and entertaining.
We will return.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank BbDk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 69 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our 1 night stay was OK, definitely not great. It was hot outside during our stay. Window air conditioner needed to run continuously to maintain a somewhat acceptable room temperature. Everything was clean. Bed mattress was a bit on the tired side, bed squeaked with every move. Bathroom fixtures were really dated but they were clean and everything worked. Old style cast iron tub would present a challenge for anyone with restricted mobility. Breakfast was acceptable but well below the variety and quality we usually experience in most other B&B's. Parking was excellent. Location suited our needs very well, close to downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JohnLondon_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachesinn, Owner at Peaches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

We’re sorry you didn’t feel 100% satisfied with your stay. We appreciate your feedback & have made sure the bed no longer squeaks. We’re glad you found our bathrooms clean & fully functional, since we’re very proud of our original 1916 bathroom fixtures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've stayed a number of times at Peaches B&B while in Grand Rapids on business, and will do so again. Jane is always warm and welcoming, and has been flexible and helpful when I've needed any kind of assistance. The building is beautiful and comfortable, and I enjoy being able to walk downtown for dinner or events. When I've needed recommendations for anything, Jane is always ready with useful information, including great conversation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummblingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Peaches B&B is not very customer service oriented. When we arrived we were shown to our room and that was it, no tour was ever given. In the morning when we went down for breakfast the table was set for 3 even though there were 4 of us which she was aware of because she is the person that booked the room and she showed us to our room. She never brought another setting. There were 3 peaches & 1 black berry in the 3 dishes that were sitting at the place settings when we came down for breakfast, 2 types of juices & some jam or something for the toast and coffee. My 5 year old ate the fruit and asked for more upon which he was told that was all there was as she had to go to the market. She then delivered 3 plates of food which had 1 scrambled egg and 1 piece of toast cut in half. AGAIN THERE WERE 4 OF US!!! I had to feed my eggs to my son who was sitting on my lap since there was no place setting for him. Not once were we asked how the food was or if we wanted more. Once she delivered the plates she shut the light off in the kitchen and left the room!!!! My husband is 6’3 do you really thing 1 egg is going to fill him up!!!????
She snapped at my son when he asked if she could keep her dog from barking as it was hurting his ears. She snapped at him and accused him of chasing the dog which he was not at that time.
After all of that we packed up and left. The owner Jane is in the WRONG business.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else and save your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Paige B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachesinn, Owner at Peaches Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

We’re sorry your stay was not pleasant. We didn’t feel that it was convenient to offer a tour when you were trying to check in with your 5-yr old and 2-yr old after a long drive, so we apologize.
In our years’ of experience, we have never had a 2-yr old who sat at a place setting and ate a prepared breakfast, so we did only set for you and your husband and your 5-yr old. We serve what are FDA recommended servings of breakfast for adults (two eggs with cheese, toast, fruit, juice, coffee) and this also aligns with our environmental policy.
Our puppy is not normally a vocal dog, but she was afraid of a child chasing her with a sword. We’re sorry she barked at your son.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Had a party for my husband and needed a place for out of town guests to stay so we booked all the rooms and also stayed! From the moment you drive up, you feel welcomed. It is absolutely beautiful inside & out and can walk to the downtown area easily. Jane is very hospitable and serves up a delicious breakfast. Her coffee's great too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitz49525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Excellent everything. A mellow, cozy get-away. Beautiful rooms, in a beautiful historic home centrally located- walking distance to down town. I'd love to go back in the winter to enjoy the fireplace in the rec room! Love!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Charming and comfy rooms, yummy breakfasts, friendly inn keeper, lovely neighborhood, and very well priced. I was unable to write in the actual date of my stay (only a drop list, and my stay was the previous year).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.6 mi away
The Leonard at Logan House Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Grand Rapids East, MI
0.8 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peaches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaches Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29 Gay Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-4405
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Rapids
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaches is an elegant Georgian-style home located in Heritage Hill, downtown. Guests will find beautiful, bright, uncluttered rooms, gourmet breakfast, luxurious amenities, spectacular gardens and memorable hospitality. Business travelers and tourists who are weary and frustrated with routine accommodations are our first priority. Each room has a desk, phone, and free wi-fi. Enjoy Peaches’ game room with pool table, video library, exercise facilities or walk into the heart of Grand Rapids for great dining and activities. The Van Andel arena, convention facilities, and a variety of wonderful restaurants are within walking distance. A full gourmet breakfast is served in the dining room each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing