We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk down memory lane”

Gerald R. Ford Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand Rapids' pride in native son and 38th American President Gerald R. Ford is reflected in the museum that honors him, which transports you back to the 70s through interactive displays and holograms, including a chance to eavesdrop on an eventful day in the Oval Office.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Walk down memory lane”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

First time to a presidential museum. Glad we came. I remember watching the ceremony when he died and thought it would be great to visit someday. Well put together displays. The man did a lot for our country. I remember thinking he made a mistake pardoning Nixon. As they say in football, upon further: He got it right. GO BLUE

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HuronsForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    245
    38
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Teaching our children about a great man”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

There is so much history here. My wife and I took the kids to see this. I loved that they were able to learn so much about a former president from our own back yard.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murph2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Presidential Libraries”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Located in a beautiful spot in downtown Grand Rapids, it is very easy to get to, with free parking. The Library is wonderful, with all kinds of information about Ford's early life, militarty service, political career, and his unlikely ascent to the presidency. We learned so much. The thing I loved the most, was the emphasis on what a GOOD man he was. There's also lots of 70's nostolgia. The movie about his life is wonderful, as well. Highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWarrior0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Museum”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have visited many Presidential museums around the country and we were very surprised at how well the Ford Museum was. The layout was great as were the exhibits. They told the whole story and were very informative. You can't beat $7.00 a person to get in. Easy to find with a great location right off the freeway. Well done and worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank byronfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Vibrant Downtown”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Down the downtown Grand Rapid across the Grand River is situated the museum in loving memory of President Geral Ford.Our visit to this place was a brief one. Art and photos and life history of the man and the nation.
We strolled down the banks of the river lined by the convention centre and Amway grand plaza
hotel, Marriot hotel, sprawling apartment condo and hotels.
Center of the city has the Rosa Park with music arena bellowing vibrancy in the air.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dr_psb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerald R. Ford Museum also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Gerald R. Ford Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing