We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but a loud environment...”
Review of Lucy's Cafe

Lucy's Cafe
Ranked #37 of 1,055 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $5 - $15
Description: Lucy's Café is the Creston neighborhood family café offering breakfast, lunch and baked goods. Bloody mary and mimosa bar on Saturday and Sundays.
Restaurant details
Description: Lucy's Café is the Creston neighborhood family café offering breakfast, lunch and baked goods. Bloody mary and mimosa bar on Saturday and Sundays.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

The acoustics are obviously designed to diners from relaxing & becoming comfortable. There are no attempts at lowering the SPL (Sound pressure level) No sound absorbing ceiling tiles exist, the kitchen is open. Carrying on a conversation requires a conscious effort. Consider bringing ear plugs.

The chairs are wood, the floor is hard, the walls are minimally decorated. So,turnover is high, as intended by the owners...

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bigmik12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 68 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

The Irish soda bread and biscuits were both very good. They both come with butter and jam. The waitress was very nice and accommodating. An order of biscuits comes with two. The soda bread was one piece. My total for both was about $8. Parking on both sides of the building is available.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Glen_Arbor_Blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

I recently went with my friend to Luc's café and found it very hard to decide what I wanted from the menu; I loved too many of the options. Upon looking at the specials board I did see a flapjack special for 8.99. After reading the description: brownie crumble, peanut butter, syrup I couldn't resist.
The flapjacks were amazing! Two flapjacks, tons of homemade sauce, peanut butter, brownies, butter and syrup. For anyone who wants a sweet breakfast I would definitely recommend this meal. The flapjacks are so big you can even share with another person and still be full.
Since we were there shortly before closing time we were even able to buy some muffins and pastries at half of the original price!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank verbeea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019 via mobile

This is a beautiful sleek breakfast spot in the old fashioned yet reborn Creston area of GR. It’s got great service, stylish decor and cocktails too if you are brunching in the afternoon. Prices are reasonable and the wait is not as long as other better known breakfast places downtown and in Eastown. My new favorite weekday haunt to get a really innovative and filling meal with meat eggs and veggies in a very serene atmosphere. The only negative? The house coffee isn’t so great. Get the espresso.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank genieb071065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018 via mobile

Visiting Meyer May House in GR and had breakfast here. Yummy! We had the Michigan Root Vegetable Hash with eggs and bacon. How fabulous it was! Lovely interior and friendly staff.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank bryans752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy's Cafe also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Lucy's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing