We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Marais # 1 Motel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Voyageurs Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grand Marais
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Grand Marais # 1 Motel”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This a great place! Their care and hard work shows! Great folks! Our stay was wonderful!
Thank you so very much! Delphine is warm and caring person and she'll make your visit comfortable and goes over and above to make your time here comfy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    34
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was a really nice place to stay. It's up on top of a hill and on a dead end with a great view overlooking Lake Superior. It was spacious, clean, and quiet. The owners were very friendly and helpful. She must be a great cook too, because I joked with her at the front desk about supper. She had made spaghetti and it smelled really, really good-lol. Grand Marais is a cute little town with access to the beach, and is somewhere I would want to live if it wasn't so cold in the winter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voyageursmotel, Owner at The Voyageurs Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Terry and I are so grateful to hear you enjoyed your stay.
I wish we had a restaurant up here maybe if we sale the new owners can put one in it would differently be a asset to this motel and guest.
Thank you again and God bless you and your family.
Delphine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our third stay at The Voyageurs Motel!  Delphine is, by far, the friendliest, most helpful, most hospitable and caring hotelier you're bound to meet.  The rooms are more than clean, spacious, well-equipped with coffee maker, fridge and microwave and the softest, largest towels you'll ever use.  From D.C. to Fairbanks, Alaska, this is my absolute favorite hotel at which to stay.  Set on a rise at the end of a dead end street, The Voyageurs fulfills the promise of the Grand Marais road sign:  "Nature in Abundance".

The view from your large window of the harbor and Lake Superior is astounding and soul-soothing.  [See photos of hotel and view here http://crito.smugmug.com/Travel/The-Great-Agate-Odyssey/20000798_dchhHm#!i=1577256297&k=GTZqNzz, http://crito.smugmug.com/Travel/The-Great-Agate-Odyssey/20000798_dchhHm#!i=1577239062&k=dp6spgc
and here http://crito.smugmug.com/Travel/The-Great-Agate-Odyssey/20000798_dchhHm#!i=1577239040&k=BnXpPZq ]  When you're ready to turn in and turn out the lights, make sure you take a last look out the window (yes, you can safely leave your curtains and window open) and you may be fortunate enough to feast on a view of the Northern Lights [See photos here http://crito.smugmug.com/Travel/UP-Michigan-2012/22535000_SqkFZV#!i=1803113674&k=dgggHT5 , http://crito.smugmug.com/Travel/UP-Michigan-2012/22535000_SqkFZV#!i=1803111679&k=ssBXbZh
apologies for quality of photos from hand-held camera.]

A short walk from The Voyageurs takes you to the mesmerizing agate beach of Grand Marais. A fairly short drive south on 77 from The Voyageurs takes you to Seney National Wildlife Refuge.  Make the drive slowly;  wildlife doesn't recognize the boundaries of the park and you don't want to miss the Sandhill Cranes on the edge of the road or the bear bounding across 77. Make sure you take a drive west on PAVED H58 to Munising and the Picture Rocks National Lakeshore.  Again, drive slowly and be prepared to stop and get that picture of a wolf or a grouse or whatever wildlife which ventures to the edge of the road.  Besides, why not drive slowly through the beautiful scenery of sand dunes, lakes and forests?

We've stayed at Whitefish Bay, Grand Marais and Copper Harbor. Grand Marais wins hands down for an experience of nature's peaceful and abundant beauty.  When you stay at Grand Marais, no motel or bed and breakfast can compare with The Voyageurs Motel for a center row seat for the show.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crito N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voyageursmotel, Owner at The Voyageurs Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
WOW!!! that was a wonderful introduction not just about us but for the whole area around and in Grand Marais many, many thanks.
It is always a pleasure serving our guests. Terry and I are very happy that you and your sister return every year or when possible during the year you make our day or should I say days :)
We enjoy that breath taking view too we never get tired of it. Hope to see you soon.
God bless
and great photo shooting :) to you.
Delphine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Went there mid April with lots of snow on the ground. The rooms were spacious and clean. The only problem was the water in the shower was very sensitive. Any slight change of the shower handle the temp wild change drastically. Watch out! The view was amazing!

If we travel to Grand Marais again we will stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSC1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed one night on 10/28/12 as a convenient base to come and go from while visiting Pictured Rocks area. The Voyager was very clean, beds comfortable, and the owners were very helpful. I hope we can make it back in the winter, it looks like a great place to stay while snowmoviling or cross country skiing. It is right around the corner from a local brew pub with decent food and tasty beers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIMaryandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Michigan
Level Contributor
826 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Called a couple of hours out and reserved a room. When we arrived Dephine was a great hostess. She was friendly and wanted to make sure we were comfortable and happy with our room. The room itself was huge and the view out of our window looking at the harbor was awesome and we were able to see a freighter out in the lake. The room had a refrigerator which was helpful and the room was clean. The hot tub felt good after our hikes earlier in the day. We enjoyed stargazing outside before turning in for the night. The only downside was noise carried from other rooms. It didn't keep us awake but more soundproofing would be helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This out of the way place doesn't look like much from the rd. but it is very clean. Comfortable, reasonable and well worth the money, it's excellent deal and its the best place to stay in Grand Marais. The view was awesome, and it was very quiet, however it was Sept., well past tourist season.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Voyageurs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyageurs Motel

Property: The Voyageurs Motel
Address: 21914 East Wilson Street, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Voyageurs is a 10 unit motel that sets on a bluff that over looks the Grand Marais harbor and Lake Superior.We have a community room that offer our guest a sauna and a 7 person hot tub.We do not at this time have AC in our rooms but we do have fans in the rooms.We have wireless internet available. We do have grills for our customers who want to grill out.We bought the motel in Dec. of 2004 and we are gradually up dating as we go so don't expect a Hilton motel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Voyageurs Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing