We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Voyageurs Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Voyageurs Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grand Marais
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very clean motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We originally just booked one night in Grand Marias but we ended up extending our stay an extra night because we enjoyed the town and the motel so much. It is a basic room but it was very clean. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed using the hot tub. The motel has a very nice view from the ridge above town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    33
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel sits high up on the bluff overlooking the harbor and lighthouse of Grand Marais, out of the town proper, at the end of what seems like a residential street. The view from the room windows, even the ground level, is spectacular. One can see the treetops, the harbor with lighthouse, and Lake Superior beyond that.
The room I stayed looks to have been very well kept up- fresh paint on the door, new carpeting, and a heavy-duty entry rug- a must for snowmobiling, and great for collecting sand from beach-feet. There was plenty of room- a queen size bed, futon, closet space, dresser with TV, coffee maker, microwave, and mini-fridge, and a table and two chairs, and still space for walking around. This motel does not have A/C, but this is the U.P.- and even though it was an unheard of 95 degrees outside (!!!), the breeze coming from Superior was able to keep the room nice and cool. There are plenty of places to put your "stuff"- including MANY hooks on the wall for holding coats and bags: again, pretty much a necessity for winter.
I kept the windows open at night, and had a great conversation with Delphine (the host) while sitting on the swing outside as the sun set, the sailboats made their way into the harbor, the lighthouse started flashing, and a freighter went by on Lake Superior. Very relaxing, very clean, very quiet, very well-kept. Ahhh...

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1: Handicap accessible, complete with lowered hooks, shower chair, and grab bars. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Grand Marais is a very small community with limited choices. This motel is a favorite of the kayaking and biking set. Sits at the end of a dirt road so is kinda hard to find but well marked. Beautiful view. Rooms were clean but older. No AC but we knew that going there. They do have big fans for you and windows open. We had a nice breeze off the lake so it was fine. Had two large queen beds that were very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and water very hot. Room also had a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Owners were nice and provided us with ice on request. Was better than sleeping in a tent, so was happy to have the room. Town shuts down around 8pm so be sure to get your dinner and ice cream before that or you are out of luck. For the price an acceptable place to stay.

Room Tip: No much soundproofing and floors squeaky. If you don't want nosie stay in top floor. Our "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The owners are very nice and very hard working.If u need anything all u have to do is ask them and boom u got it.You can tell the owners have worked very hard on this place.CANT WAIT TO GO BACK!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 10 or 6 best view but all rooms do have a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rj32387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Also no AC. Miles from the beach. No balcony and way over priced for an aging motel with no breakfast. Owner is a little strange.

Room Tip: If you stay in Grand Marais avoid this place. There are better spots down by the water in the main t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voyageursmotel, Owner at The Voyageurs Motel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I didn't know we were responsible for the weather now too......
The Upper Peninsular isn't normally hot like this. The people that had the motel built in 1996 didn't see a need for them This has been a very hot year for everyone. It would cost $33,000.00 to have AC put in and for a 10 unit motel that is very costly but is being implemented in our building plans when we add on.
As for the price!!! I wasn't twisting your arm to stay and really if it was so bad why didn't you say something I would have gladly given you back your money so you could find that per fit spot.
You are right our motel does need work and we have been doing so sense we bought the motel in 2004 you should have seen it then you think this is bad what would you of wrote seeing dirty sheets, beds, no towels in the rooms and in the winter time no heat.... I know this because the customers that used to come here stopped coming because of that and when they saw the sign that said "new owners" they came back to check us out and they still come back and compliment us on all the things we are doing to it.
Now for attacking me personally...... Really!!!!! Seriously!!!
I suppose saying good morning and wishing someone well and safe travels would seem strange to some people but I love talking to people and seeing them off I'm sorry you found that strange.... such as life I will move pass this negative review... I really hate that no matter what someone does to their place and how hard they work there is always someone that has to be negative.. you have no idea what we have done to this place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Upon arrival the Owner said I could park my motorcycle in the garage for the night. Very clean room. No AC but window that opens and a fan. three blocks form downtown. sits up on the hill overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

As we traveled from PA to MT, we wanted to stop and see Lake Superior. Grand Marais seemed to be a smart stop so we could wake up and drive to Pictured Rocks the next day.

We found a hidden gem! Delphine was so sweet and was always available if we had any questions. For $98/nt we couldn't beat the price for us with our two boys. I like the concept of the older motels - park right in front of your room which makes for easy loading/unloading. What a difference vs. carrying bags up and down elevators/hallways.

It was quiet when we stayed there. Only a few rooms were occupied, but everyone was very nice. There was a little noise coming from upstairs when the 'neighbors' came in later at night - you could hear them walking around above us - but it wasn't anything to complain about.

The room was spotless! I don't care how to up date a room is. If it's clean, it's perfect! I did find it interesting that they don't have phone service. There also wasn't a hair dryer, but Delphine probably had one for anyone who needs it.

No breakfast included, but that's just because there's no space to offer that. The jacuzzi/sauna room at the end of the building is a GREAT idea. The windows look out toward the lake. On that note, the rooms all have a lake view which is such a bonus. You can also walk into the little village of Grand Marais if you want to.

The best part was the beauty that surrounded us. The motel is set up on a high hill overlooking the lake. We took a short drive into town at night and walked the Agate Beach which is just FILLED with beautiful rocks (and agate!). The kids had a blast searching. We could have stayed there all day.

We ate at "Sportsman's" right in town - one of a handful of eateries in Grand Marais - and it was really tasty. (See my other review for them!).

Just down the road from the motel is a very pretty park with a boardwalk staircase that goes to another secluded section of Agate Beach. Why people go to the Atlantic Ocean beaches is beyond me when this hidden gem exists. Stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor to avoid 'foot traffic' above and get a slightly better lake view. First...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Voyageurs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Voyageurs Motel

Property: The Voyageurs Motel
Address: 21914 East Wilson Street, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Voyageurs is a 10 unit motel that sets on a bluff that over looks the Grand Marais harbor and Lake Superior.We have a community room that offer our guest a sauna and a 7 person hot tub.We do not at this time have AC in our rooms but we do have fans in the rooms.We have wireless internet available. We do have grills for our customers who want to grill out.We bought the motel in Dec. of 2004 and we are gradually up dating as we go so don't expect a Hilton motel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Voyageurs Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing