We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Cottages”
Review of North Shore Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Shore Lodge
Liverpool, England
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Cottages”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

After a long drive we pulled into Grand Marais and liked the look of the cottages along the lake, the larger complex area didn't look enticing. The reception staff were friendly and let us look around a couple of cottages before deciding which one we preferred.

From the few I looked in they are well kept, clean, comfortable and would suit most guests. I think a lot of the poorer reviews are aimed at the lodge area instead.
Our cottage had a double bed, lounge/kitchen area and was a great place to stay, our little girl was very taken with the cosy seating area.

As other have mentioned the restaurant has been closed for a couple of years but the town has a good couple of bars/restaurants and I would highly recommend (as did reception staff) the Lake Superior Brewing Company. The morning continental breakfast was good quality and the other guests we chatted with all seemed happy with the hotel.

The Location is very scenic, right on the Lake and the town has a good quaint feeling to it. On a morning run through the town many of the friendly locals waved a hand in greeting.

I would stay again but feel the owners should put a bit of money into sprucing up the hotel and grounds as it seems to have a lot more potential.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryBarnstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    24
    30
    33
See reviews for
42
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The Lodge is located by a wonderful beach on Lake Superior. The one staff person was very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, the lodge itself is somewhat rundown but very clean. It seems more like an old fashined motel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the older back part of the Lodge which was pretty rundown. I think the rooms of the Lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoop5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

As another reviewer stated, there is no longer a resturant or pool or hot tub. Some of the rooms do not have A/C but the windows usually catch a nice breeze. The continental breakfast was not really set up and they coffe maker was a household 12 cupper.

On the plus side, there is a small in-room coffee maker and the rooms were clean and comfortable although dated. The towels are really nice! The location is within walking distance of "downtown".

I have to agree and say that it is not worth $80 a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrusinCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel has new owners and they are overwhelmed with how bad of shape it is in. The pool and hot tub are out of order. The breakfast is poor and doesn't open until 8am which is really 8:30 by the time they are set up. The waffles are cheap frozen toaster waffles. The ice machines do not work so they offer free bags of ice. Perhaps in a couple of years it will be worth the $80 per night they charge.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Marais hotels

Belmont, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for 4 nights, but only stayed 3. The location is so.o.o.o.o..o.o BEAUTIFUL, and could be a premier destination, if the owner cared at all about his property. Where - oh - where are the old owners, The Welkers. They had pride in their establishment. The walk to the beach could be really nice and relaxing, instead it is like a walk through the ghetto, trash, long weeds, and what is that smell outside? I do have to stay, the mattresses were quite comfortable, and the room was not as terrible as we have read from other reviews, but so many repairs are needed. And he has left the care of the place to a bunch of kids, but mind you, thank heavens for them......they really do try to keep up the place. They were helpful, respectful, and working hard to maintain things----Thank You! This is to you Establishment Owner.....where is your pride in something you own? SHAME ON YOU !! In the right hands this could be something.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KareStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked this from the web page - and should have read reviews first. The only positive I can give is that the clerk did refund my credit card when we wouldn't stay. We arrived later in the day after driving most of the day. The room was to be on the second floor and the registration person told me it was not air conditioned but that should not be a problem, because of the breeze from the lake. The location is a definite plus - would be a nice place if the owner would do some up keep. We were given a room directly behind the offfice - told the pool and jacuzzi were not working. That was an understatement-- They have been NOT working for quite some time. The pool had about a foot of water with scum that smelled horrible !! The trash dumpster just outside the door was overflowing, like it hadn't been dumped in weeks. The hallway to the room is disgusting with capital D. Light fixtures hanging down with spider webs and SPIDERS along with other bugs, that you had to walk through. The room was nasty and didnt take long to decide I could NOT sleep there. We asked to see another room, directly across the drive - was an improvement - but smelled like someone had been smoking in it for years. The toilet/sink/shower are mismatched peach/avacado/pink and bedspread should have been retired in 1985. For the price charging this was NOT acceptable. We ended up leaving and driving an hour away to spend the night.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcs1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Right, I saw the negative reviews and some of them are too harsh but not really. Let us start with the good. Great access to the beach and they take pets. The rooms are big. The beds should you get the right size are clean and comfortable. If I was going to take a big group of kids to the area or had small messy beach loving kids this is the place to be. However, pertaining kids they need to do two things at least. 1, repair the stairs so they are solid and not rotting and be sure all the nails are hammered in so no child or pet can get hurt on them. 2, they should rake a nice path to the beach so that it is safe for people to walk there without getting hurt. this might take two hours maybe.

The negatives...go get a drink this might take a while. No fridge in the room and no ice yet they give you ice buckets. (my husband was furious) The pool is empty. If you say you have such a thing it had better be working. The breakfast was OK but the restaurant had a smell that would turn away most folks. Now what made me made was that an elderly couple staying there though the restaurant like the pool was open and wanted to order. Well it was not and there are only 2.5 other places to eat in town so it was difficult for them to find a meal. Again, if you say you have a service people count on it and you need to be sure they are available.

The furniture was cut up pieces (I am not joking) of plastic 1970s furniture put together to make headboards and desks. I might be scared for life. Really. Our bathroom was a nice tan peach but I saw avocado green. Speaking of bathrooms the walls were make of 1970 travel trailer like wall panels and was coming away from the wall. Oh, there was no air conditioning and regardless of location in the day the rooms can get pretty hot. Some folks might count on such a thing and may have health issues...NOT good.

We were meant to check in at 3 but our room was not ready and was not ready until after 5. Now I will say this was around the 4th of July holiday but folks do know that happens every year and can plan ahead of time. The carpet was clean and decent and again if you have small children or snowy boots as you walk in someone had the good wisdom to put down ceramic tile for messes.

Now I have to say that most people we talked to were very unhappy with one big rough and tough motorcycle rider calling it "overpriced and dingy"

Now...they own the cabins across the street. The one we saw was charming and clean.

But if the owner or manager reads this...please repair the stairs and be sure all the nails are hammered in properly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morph66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Lodge

Property: North Shore Lodge
Address: 22020 Coast Guard Point, Box 211, Grand Marais, MI 49839 (Formerly America's Best Value North Shore Lodge)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value North Shore Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing