We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not believe what they say...run away!”
Review of North Shore Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Shore Lodge
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel looked nice on website picture & their descriptions sounded good, so we booked one night....but do not believe it! They may have renovated the outside but the inside is horrible. We DID stay in one of the air-conditioned rooms (and that was about all that worked!). We walked in the room & almost walked right out but we thought we could "rough it" for one night. The TV was outdated and when we could not figure out how to work it, we tried calling the front desk but got a recording saying that the "phone was no longer in service!" The wall light switch turned the alarm clock on and off but was not coordinated with any lamp. The pool/hot tube area was filthy! So, we walked outside over the bluff to the lake and that was beautiful but when we came back to shower... we realized that we were given only one set of towels (remember we couldn't call to ask for more) and there were BUGS in the bathroom. The bedsheets were clean & the bed was comfortable but there was a nasty red stain on the blanket (we didn't use that!). The "restaurant & lounge" that was advertised were closed, and the Continental breakfast was a joke! I would recommend that you skip this town altogether: there was one restaurant and one bar but plenty of sportsman-type shops. Go to Munising! There are a variety of (clean) hotels, restaruants, boat cruises, nice swimming beaches, and family activities.

Room Tip: Go to Munising!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

The motel is looking for new ownership and may not be open at all. I would suggest calling first before presuming a Memorial day opening. Disappointed that their web site wasn't updated. We were disappointed that it wasn't open when we were in Grand Marais a couple of weeks ago, but found a better place, Voyageurs Motel, in town. The owners were super friendly and the place was immaculate.

Room Tip: If the place ever opens again, the rooms definitely need to be updated and cleaner. The pool area h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Sharon Lea Mitchell

Sad they are not open until Memorial weekend!!! :( Love this place, feels like my home away from home. Pam and the rest of the staff are freindly and warm. Loved it here so much that i got married on the Agate Beach Boardwalk in 2009. Spend hours walking the beach looking for the beautiful elusive Agate ... and just sitting and enjoying the endless waves that wash away every care. Beautiful sunsets and great food! Healing for your soul is just waiting for your trip to this ~near Heaven~ destination. <#

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotel is simple and had everything we needed. For $90 bucks a night you cannot go wrong with this place. My three kids loved the pool and hot tub (when we were not snowmobiling!!). There is no internet wireless service in the rooms which was awesome because my kids spend way to much time on the computer games as it is.

The hotel is five minutes away from snowmobile trails (which is why we came up). Rented snowmobiles from an outfit up in Munising. Snowmobiles were there the day I requested them, and the hotel staff here handled the coordination, they even had some extra helmets for us!!!

Awesome place to stay if you are looking for something simple, accomodating, and friendly. If you are looking for five star service, the UP is not for you...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Room was older style but clean. We stayed here one night prior to starting our backpacking trip in Pictured Rocks NP. Breakfast in the morning was good but nothing to recognize. The one bad incident from this place was a double charge on our credit card one month after we had stayed there. Managements lack of interest reversing the charge is why I rate this hotel a two.

Room Tip: we had a room on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ancgerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Remember this is the U.P. It's not fancy. Just clean, comfortable rooms. We went here in late July 2011 and only intended to stay 1 night. Spent the next day on the beautiful beach and decided to stay another night. We were here during the worst heatwave in years, There is no air conditioning because you never need it here. We were given a fan and slept with the windows open to hear the waves on the beach. The staff was very friendly, more than accommodating, and there was a free continental breakfast. Pool is nothing special but the beach is what matters here. Beautiful Lake Superior sunsets and agate hunting on the nearly deserted beach was great. Had dinner at the Lake Superior Brewing Company and had a great time in this laid back, relaxing vacation spot..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mittengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Dirty and beat down, the place has potential and needs serious TLC

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DetroitGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Lodge

Address: 22020 Coast Guard Point, Box 211, Grand Marais, MI 49839 (Formerly America's Best Value North Shore Lodge)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value North Shore Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing