We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Grand Marais”
Review of Hilltop cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilltop cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My family and I have been staying at Hilltop for 6 years now. We are avid snowmobilers and we have found Hilltop to be a perfect place to stay for our trips. We usually stay several weekends throughout the winter months when the snow is on. I have stayed in the motel rooms, the small cabins and also the larger cabins. I have found all to be clean and comfortable for myself as well as my wife and kids. I have stayed at many establishments in the U.P. and found hilltop to be one of the best. I have taken several guests with us on our trips over the years and all of them seem to enjoy staying there as well. John and Jeanette are great hosts and have treated us very well. All this considered its easy to see why we keep going back.
If you decide to stay, I'd encourage you to try and reserve cabin #1 sometime. The view of Lake Superior is spectacular.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smilesforlife46706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 114 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed in a cabin with our 14 year old daughter and her friend and our two sons, ages 6 and 9 years old. We had just enough room in the very clean and cozy cabin. Sharing one bathroom with two teenage girls is always a challenge. We really enjoyed the high pressure hot shower. The kitchen had everything we need to make and eat family meals. The BBQ and picnic table was also put to good use. Grand Marais is absolutely beautiful. There is a quite, sandy beach right at the bottom of the hill as well as a very close public beach loaded with great skipping rocks. We explored several nearby waterfalls and had a blast on the sand dunes. The sunsets over Lake Superior are amazing. Hilltop cabins is an excellent location to accomodate a group for a get together with friends or familydue to the variety of cabins and motels.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarkston_MI_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The motel and cottages have been lovingly renovated with an "upnorth" theme that is well done. We stayed in room #12 of the motel. It was a large room, two double beds, flat screen TV, refrigerator and microwave. The large deck overlooking Lake Superior and the sunsets was my favorite spot, followed by the gorgeous "public" beach just down the hill. The beach is obviously a well kept secret as the trail to it was not marked and there was no one there the two hours that we were there. It was great for swimming, rock hunting and gazing at the big lake while protected in a cove.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank morningglorymichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I love the little town of Grand Marais and always stay at Hilltop Cabins. If I couldn't get a room at Hilltop I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms and cabins are all clean and well kept. Now you much understand this is the U.P. not Maui. The other review must of had higher expectations. You are in a very remote location that gets battered by snow & wind. Most travelers to this area are here for the nature not the fancy accomodations. I've always had friendly service when i've stayed there. The owner's have actually gone out of there way to be helpful with touring advice, forgotten items and accomadating requests. Once when I stayed there the possibly saved two lives by calling Search & Rescue for two travelers that they noticed hadn't came back to thier room that night. Now how many Inn Keepers care that much about thier patrons. I'd be happy to give anyone a recommendation to stay at Hilltop Cabins.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvinature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I would not recommend this place. The hosts seemed unhappy to be in this business. I felt like I was imposing whenever I had a need or question.

While the cabins are clean and provide the basic necessities, that is about all there is to recommend the place. The kitchen was equipped with only the barest of necessities, and the decor is sparse and uninspired.

The hosts have a great location and opportunity to create a hospitable environment, but it seems that their hearts are not in this business. We would not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Deb052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Frau-E_Rue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndreasHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilltop cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop cabins

Address: N14176 Ellen St., PO Box 386, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $82 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hilltop cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing