We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, safe”
Review of Hilltop cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilltop cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Haslett, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable, safe”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

You won't find anything very fancy in Grand Marais; given that this is the UP and very rural, this small motel with cabins was just right for us. Reasonably priced, plenty of room with two queen sized beds and a bath, with handy fridge and microwave. It was very clean, beds were quite comfortable. Walls of motel very thin, could hear neighbors. Might consider trying a cabin next time we go up. View is glorious; highly recommend watching sunset from barbeque patio. Lovely, overlooking bay. They do provide breakfast, but the selection isn't extensive and the eating area is cramped. People who run it are lovely.

Room Tip: consider a cabin if you want privacy or are traveling in a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    23
    14
    0
    5
See reviews for
29
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a few days during our honeymoon. The staff was very nice and the accommodations were about what we expected. It's not a five star resort, but you won't find that in Northern Michigan. The rooms were clean and the cabins provided a nice view of Lake Superior/the Bay.

The owner went out of her way to make sure we had everything that we needed and was very flexible. We had a family emergency and had to leave early. We didn't have any problem canceling the final day of our stay and the owner was very understanding.

The cabins are within a 5 minute drive to the start of pictured rock lake shore. There are plenty of very scenic hiking areas near the cabins. Grand Marais is a nice little town. If you're a fan of micro brews Lake Superior Brewing Company is about a two minute drive away from the cabins.

All in all I would recommend the cabins. They offer a clean and reasonably priced options for tourists visiting the area. The staff is very friendly and the cabins themselves are nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NRE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We used this spot for our headquarters for seeing Pictured Rocks. It is a nice quiet place in a nice quiet community. The mosquitos were fierce in June, the locals all said that was a lot worse than usual. There is a homemade breakfast available from 7 to 9 AM - not your motel continental breakfast, but homemade breakfast casserole and homemade sweet rolls. There are individual cabins and a small motel like unit. We were on the end of the motel in a one bedroom room with a small full kitchen and a full bath with tub/shower. The décor is rustic but the cabins are modern. A washer and drier are available for your use, and some general recreation space and equipment.

WE didn't really have an address beyond Grand Marias. We realized we didn't quite know where it was, but stopping to ask directions at the general store met our needs. This is a family owned, "MOM and POP" place, the owners live on site.

Room Tip: Ask the lady, Jeanette is nice and helpful, but she's not always in the office. Calling ahead i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2A_j_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

...This is the third year my wife and I have stayed in Grand Marais for the weekend. Past two years we stayed at a "motel" in town, but last year we decided to do a little exploring. We discovered a few really nice places to stay right outside of town, but Hilltop Cabins really impressed us. We stopped in to have a look around and met the head house keeper, who told us how she used to be a customer and stayed there every year. She went on to say that she enjoyed herself so much that when she moved up to Grand Marais, she got a job there ! Then we met the owner Jeanette.
She was very friendly and gracious, as she showed us around. We decided right then that this was a place we needed to experience further....great decision. We came up on July 11th, with some friends, and we spent the weekend. The "cabins" were clean and VERY comfortable. There is a fire pit in the main area where we spent many hours roasting hot dogs and making smores. And "breakfast" was awesome. Every morning there was freshly baked peach cobbler, bundt cake. bread pudding, and freshly baked bread, and Jeanette does all the baking herself !
This place is truly a lil piece of Heaven, nestled deep in the woods of the UP. Ive read other reviews here where folks were complaining about there being "no internet". and all I can say to that comment is.....this is the deep woods way up in the UP, right off the shores of Lake Superior. A place where folks come to get away from the hustle and bustle of "real life". So if you are looking for some Disney Land experience, you would do well to look elsewhere. In closing let me say....I can only give this place a Five Star Rating on this site.....but it is a definite Ten Star in my book !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 12 which was clean and well set out with 2 queen size beds, both of which were clean and had decent linen. Beds didn't seem too comfortable but having said that we both slept like logs and didn't ache on waking. A fly swatter was thoughtfully provided and came in very useful. A fan would've been nice as it was a hot night but we opened the window and were rewarded with a nice breeze. Breakfast was sufficient with a large selection of home baked goods. Breakfast area was small but there is ample outside space to enjoy it in. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and the price is an absolute bargain!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TangledMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Hilltop Cabins in one of the motel cabins. Hard to gauge the customer service since we didn't meet the owners. Would suggest doing introductions during breakfast, in passing or by making a brief visit to the room or cabin. Upon arriving, there was no one in the office, but they did have our keys and room number set out for us. The rooms had two queen size beds, hardwood floors, a decent bathroom, flat-screen TV, front and back windows and a heater. Our room was clean, but the showerhead needed replacing and the walls could have used some cleaning or touch-up paint from some of the bugs (probably mosquitoes). The beds were satisfactory. The breakfast is light but decent. Eating area was small and could have used some dusting. Facility also has a game room and a washer and dryer at no cost. Quiet time is respected by all. Location is blocks from the center of Grand Marais and overlooks Lake Superior.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbutler385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I totally enjoyed my stay from the minute I arrived until I left to come home. Jeanette, the owner was warm and welcoming. The cabins and rooms each have their own charm and are clean, cozy and comfortable. All have everything you need to enjoy your stay... Excellent beds...TV.. Radio.. Dishes and cookware.... Linens. The light breakfast available was great too. Give them a try... You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank syhink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilltop cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop cabins

Property: Hilltop cabins
Address: N14176 Ellen St., PO Box 386, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilltop cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing