We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The McElgunn Family Annual Vacation”
Review of Hilltop cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilltop cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family, the McElgunn's have been vacationing in beautiful Grand Marais for over 40 years. We started up coming for short stays at the old "Welkers Motel" on the point. The family event kept growing every year, as more of the family joined in. We grew to a very large group and found the"Hilltop" four years ago. The Hilltop cabins are beautiful, clean and well supplied with everything you would need. The service is excellent, breakfast is ready in the breakfast room every morning, washer & dryer for our use with no charge, a great Rec room with big screen t.v., games, hot tub, fireplace and a beautiful view! We can't wait to come for our two weeks of fun, sun and great company at the Hilltop.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 114 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our second vacation to Grand Marais, MI and this year we stayed at the Hilltop Cabins. We stayed in one of the motel rooms with two double beds. The room was clean and comfortable with knotty pine walls, a nice sized bathroom and a small flat screen tv. The beds were comfortable however I did feel a few springs starting to come up. The property is nice with a gazebo, a deck with a double swing overlooking the bay and a breakfast room including a game room and an elliptical. The breakfast was included and consisted of cereals, breads, a waffle maker, muffins, milk and coffee. It was a little strange on our last morning because the mom was out of town so there was only cereal and bread that day.
There are several cabins on the property with bedrooms, living rooms, kitchens and a bathroom. Next year we would like to rent one of those with another family. The rates are great at $75 for a motel room and $170 per night for a two bedroom plus loft cabin per night and that was over the fourth of July!
There was no housekeeping service but there was a washer and dryer in the breakfast room. I'm not sure if we were supposed to wash our own towels but there were supplies such as toilet paper and soaps there if you needed more.
The location is great. Only blocks from the downtown area and beach. We would definately recommend this property to anyone visiting Grand Marais and we will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFinkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

stayed here for one night and it ws very peaceful. Stayed in room not cabin but had kitchenette. No airconditioning but had windows open and listened to the trees. Was very nice place to stay. Has a deck overlooking water. Nice

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michigansongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I recently stayed at Hilltop Cabins and all I can say is WOW!!! The location is amazing, the facilities are fantastic and the hospitality is second to none!!! I highly reccomend Hilltop Cabins to anyone planning a stay in Grand Marais!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boatgirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

A group of friends and I stayed for a long weekend and had a delightful experience! Jeanette was so welcoming and warm and it was very relaxing being there. We had a bonfire almost every night, went fishing and hiking and truly enjoyed our stay there. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: They have different size cabins, some more rustic than others and motel rooms. Bigger cabins are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichelleC185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette B, Owner at Hilltop cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

You guys were great!! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had a pleasant enough stay, but this is because we managed with what we were given -- Cabin #8, for example, provided only one fork, no colander, and a saucepan whose handle broke off. The bed linens and bedspreads were also very old and I doubt they were laundered recently.
All in all, I should have booked one of the Hilltop motel rooms because we were barely able to do any cooking and we ate a lot of pb&j, which would have been expected if we were staying in a motel room, rather than a full-equipped cabin. It was not fully equipped.
Otherwise, Grand Marais is a beautiful place and an excellent vacation destination.

Room Tip: I thought I booked early (April), but even earlier will insure a newer cabin for summer rental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grevstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Excellent motel with rooms and cabins. Clean. Friendly staff and pet friendly! Stayed 2 nights and would have welcomes another week there. Great view of the sunsets. Close to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wfss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilltop cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop cabins

Address: N14176 Ellen St., PO Box 386, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Grand Marais
Price Range: $81 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilltop cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilltop cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing