We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, friendly and super cute”
Review of Boyden House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boyden House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Grand Haven B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We loved our night in the Boyden House, which I found tasteful and very comfortable. It's located very near downtown and is within walking distance of the beach. The owners were very friendly (but not overly so) and the breakfast was wonderful. The house itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xa_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Boyden House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 73 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Safari Den for his 50th birthday. The room was very spacious and decorated nicely. The king size bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were fabulous!!! I can't wait to try some of the recipes. The neighborhood was very quiet but still within walking distance to downtown. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had an 'off-season' deal ($102/night incl. tax) which was good value for money. The house is great and the rooms are nice, with comfortable beds and a lot of space. The shared areas are as described by previous reviewers, and we enjoyed using them.

The breakfast was very tasty, with good coffee - you do need to come down pretty much at 9am though when it starts or the food will no longer be hot and fresh (and quiche ran out before we all had a chance to have a slice..!).

We met both Gail and Tony - both were very friendly and helpful. We too (as reported by previous reviewers) were 'greeted' by a note in the door rather than in person - we did arrive later than the allocated time (but did call and leave a message to report this) and I suppose it is fair for not to wait for us, but we did think this was slightly strange. In any case, Gail came out to greet/check on us when she heard us stumbling in.

If you are looking for a great place to sleep and relax in, with less emphasis on the 'personal touch' (we like to have our own space rather than eat with the hosts) then this place is ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Beautiful old home, with fantastic architectural details. Lovely porch and gardens. Our room was the "sunroom" with a comfortable queen bed. There was a window air conditioner in our bedroom and central air for the bathroom and sitting area. Not sure why. We did get a little warm at night in the bedroom area because we don't like the noise of a window air conditioner. Shower was a little small, but all in all a very nice room. There is a kitchen upstairs for quests to use and a living room area with a laptop and plenty of magazines and menus. Very nice touch. The staff was very friendly and the owner greeted us and showed us all around the place. We loved the breakfast. It was a buffet with the best stuffed french toast and sausage.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank traveler0101054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We really enjoyed the Boyden House! It was a different experience than other B&B's we have stayed at. The hosts are much more hands off... Which was a style we liked though it may not be for everyone. The house is stylish, not fru fru which is cool. We like to walk, and it was only a half mile from the water and from downtown shopping and eating. The porch is beautiful, and the food was good. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeT1nT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our room was very nice with a comfortable bed, balcony and flat screen tv with a dvd player.
The rooms are on the second floor. There is a library on the second floor with dvds, cds, books magazines, restaurant menus and the history of the inn. There is also a small kitchen on the second floor if you need to refrigerate anything or need water from the eco friendly water cooler. There are also complimentary Klondike bars in the freezer. Breakfast was great as were our hosts.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony but only a shower and no tub. It depends on what is more important to you.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sully06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were not greet upon arrival but were finally acknowledged ("Are you staying here?") and shown to our room. The room cleanliness was okay but there was no soap for the shower (only a hand pump next to the sink). The coffee grounds consisted of about 3T in a very old Ziploc baggie. For $280, we expected MUCH more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Psych4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Haven
0.9 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
471 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 6 in Grand Haven
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
18.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
878 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyden House Inn

Address: 301 S 5th St, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Haven
Price Range: $132 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyden House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boyden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing