We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton,NJ, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Over-all the staff was great except for one manager. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean with a good view of the courtyard. great coffee. Wi-fi was very good and easy to sign on too. Avoid the room near the exercise facility, very noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy to hear you found our facility to be clean and comfortable. I am sorry to hear you a bad experience with one of our staff members and that the noise from the exercise facility was a problem for you during your stay. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy the ease of the Wi-Fi. I hope the next time you are in the Grand Haven area you will stay with us again and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    132
    39
    12
    2
See reviews for
174
110
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pontiac, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in September. Not a busy time of the year. We did not have a reservation, but decided to stop here since we have enjoyed staying at other Best Western's in the past The friendly woman working at the desk got us into a nice room. The Jacuzzi room was great. It had a nice comfortable bed.. You can tell the management has put a lot of effort into the renovations they have made to make this an enjoyable place to stay. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be very friendly. We are constantly upgrading our property. In the past year we have put all new Serta Mattresses and Samsung TV’s in every guest room. We are also working on many more upgrades for this winter. We hope you will be back soon to see all the improvements we continue to make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I don't often stay in Best Western as I have membership in another chain rewards program, but this location was chosen due to positive TripAdvisor reviews. The guest rooms were lovely and VERY clean, which makes all the difference at the end of a long travel day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are so happy hear you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms so clean. The housekeeping staff works very hard to make sure you have a clean and comfortable stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
393 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Clean and nice hotel. Consistent with Best Western standards. Centrally located. Free breakfast was good. Staff were friendly & helpful. It is an older hotel, but well maintained. Lots of brochures available to help you find the interesting tourist sites to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are centrally located on US 31 about a mile and half from the downtown shopping and beach. We do offer a free continental breakfast that includes waffle, cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit. We do have different buildings on property that were built at different times. All of our rooms are updated at the same time and have new beds, bedding, and flat screen TV's. Thank you again for taking time to write a review and we hope to see you on your next trip to the Grand Haven area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
327 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Best Western Grand Haven is clean, economical, and well-maintained. For a budget-priced hotel it's a cut above the rest.

There's really not anything to say negatively about it, other than it's a bit of a drive to get in and out of town. It's removed far away from the US31 that any noise is diminished. And that quietness was further abetted in that our room faced away from the highway.

One comment, however. The railroad runs somewhere fairly near the back of the property...and it barreled through, horn blaring, a couple of times the night we stayed. So, when checking in, or making your reservation, you may want to be sure you don't get one of the single-story rooms at the back of the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We work very hard to make sure our rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is located right on US 31 but in the town of Grand Haven the speed limit is reduced to between 30 and 40 MPH. The train does run behind the hotel but you can pretty much hear the train no matter where you are in the town of Grand Haven. The train typically runs through one time a night usually around midnight. We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful time in Grand Haven and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Best Western, Grand Haven is an excellent choice when visiting the west coast of Michigan. It is less than a 10 minute ride to Lake Michigan and downtown Grand Haven. Attempted to post this review at the end of the previous sentence, but TripAdvisor requires a minimum of 200 characters. Hopefully at the end of this sentence, the 200 word minimum has been met.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and not giving up before the 200 character requirement! I am so happy you had a wonderful trip and we hope to see you back the next time you are in the Grand Haven area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place was extraordinary for the price. We stayed in the single story wing, and it was far better than I expected. Everything was new and very clean. Large flat screen TV, sliding door to large outside courtyard, nice size refrigerator, microwave. Well designed bathroom with sink and vanity outside the toilet/shower area. Very clean and nice indoor pool and hot tub. Breakfast was what you'd expect. Had adjoining rooms which was great for our family visit. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank egvfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We work very hard to make sure our rooms are very clean and comfortable. All of our guest rooms have new beds, bedding, and large flat screen TV's. Our court yard rooms are extremely popular among families with little children. The courtyard offers children a place to play where away from the parking lots and parents can sit and enjoy. We hope to see you on your next trip to the Grand Haven area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Haven
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 6 in Grand Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
13.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
8.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
Address: 1525 S Beacon Blvd, Grand Haven, MI 49417-2612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Beacon Inn is located in picturesque Grand Haven, MI. We're only a mile and a half from award winning beaches. We offer rooms with both interior and exterior entrances, and either two queen or one king bed per room. All of our spacious rooms have iron, hairdryer, coffee and a 40 inch flat screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beacon Hotel Grand Haven
Best Western Grand Haven
Grand Haven Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing