We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first trip to Grand Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Beacon Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Best Western Beacon Inn is awesome. They have the best hotel pillows, ever. Our whirlpool room included a large flat screen TV and a DVD player. The fridge and microwave came in handy, as well. The only way I will not stay at the Beacon Inn is if I can find a B & B with the same amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at Best Western Beacon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We are so happy to hear how awesome we are! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our pillows as well as our whirlpool rooms that include at no extra charge the mini refrigerator and microwave. We hope to see you on your next trip to Grand Haven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 494 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Enjoyed the hot tub and pool.. Room was clean and cleaned daily during our 5 night stay. The free internet was helpful. The staff were polite and helpful. The location was convenient. The Michigan u-turn to the hotel made it a little confusing getting to where we were going each day. I would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at Best Western Beacon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time the review our hotel. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the pool and hot tub. I am also glad to hear you found your room clean and comfortable during your 5 night stay with us. We are conveniently located on U.S. 31 and are only a mile and half away from the downtown and Grand Haven State Park. I am so happy to hear you would recommend us to others and we hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great stay, great service, clean rooms, great staff, great location, the staff was very helpful, and new there directions around the town, especially when I needed help on directions for the Grand Haven Beach & Resort, I was able to get there to the exact tee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Norman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at Best Western Beacon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so happy to hear you had such a great stay with us. I am glad to hear you had great service, a clean room, great location, and a wonderful and helpful staff that were able to give you great directions on your vacation here. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I would not recommend to stay at this hotel. The room was very outdated and dark. The room had an odor that was smokey, and the carpets were stained. The bed was uncomfortable and the sheets felt like cardboard. The walls were paper thin, and you could hear every word from the next room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at Best Western Beacon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All of our rooms have been updated in the last year. All rooms have brand new Samsung flat screen TV's, new bedding package, and new Serta beds. We are also 100% smoke free property as well as all of Michigan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The website did not explain options very well, ie: whirlpool rooms for $20.00 more, fridge is extra, microwave was extra. I thought that the bed was very hard, I did not sleep very well. The directions were not very accurate. Overall, I was not very happy with the experience, and probably would not stay at this hotel again. That is not to say That I would not stay at Best Western Hotels in general.

Room Tip: Find something with better service, if you have to stay here at least get the whirlpool room, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at Best Western Beacon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am not sure what website you were on but if you are on the www.bestwestern.com website each room has its very own description with price. With our whirlpool rooms they include the refrigerator and microwave at no extra cost. Our beds are only a year old and are Serta mattresses. The directions to the hotel as stated on the website are we are located on U.S. 31 from any direction. There is also a disclaimer next to the directions that read "mportant: Map and directions are for information purposes only. While we hope to provide the best mapping information for Best Western hotels, some mapping details may not be as accurate as we would like. Please contact hotel directly to obtain the most current and complete location information and driving directions". Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently stayed in the 2 story building, behind the main hotel. We just wanted a clean and comfortable room at the best price we could find. This was exactly that, clean and comfortable. It's a good location and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at Best Western Beacon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I so happy to hear you had clean and comfortable stay with us. We are a Best Western award winning property for cleanliness and quality and we take a lot of pride in our establishment. We are located about a mile and a half from the Grand Haven State park and the downtown shopping area. We hope to see you on your next visit to Grand Haven!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We did not have a good experience here. The rooms in the auxiliary side building were not acceptable. There was very little sound proofing and the room did not smell very good. Also the sheets seemed too short and the bed pad on the bed was plastic. I was told when I made the reservation that these rooms were "just as nice" as the main building. I doubt that this was true. It wasn't that cheap to stay here. We were very disappointed and very glad to leave. The following two nights at a Microtel were much more pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at Best Western Beacon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our beds are covereved in a rubber bed bug protector which helps protects and keeps our mattress clean for every guest. On top of the waterproof bed cover we have a typical mattress pad and then our standard queen size sheets that fit our beds. Our rates are in line with all the hotels in the area for a beach destination in peak season. All of our rooms are updated at the same time and all of the beds, TVs, and bedding package are only a year old. Again, Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Haven
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 6 in Grand Haven
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
385 reviews
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beacon Inn

Address: 1525 S Beacon Blvd, Grand Haven, MI 49417-2612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Price Range: $85 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beacon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Beacon Inn is located in picturesque Grand Haven, MI. We're only a mile and a half from award winning beaches. We offer rooms with both interior and exterior entrances, and either two queen or one king bed per room. All of our spacious rooms have iron, hairdryer, coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and a 40 inch flat screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beacon Hotel Grand Haven
Best Western Grand Haven
Grand Haven Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing