We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Beacon Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Goshen, IN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a room with a king-size bed in the main building. Everything was extremely clean and neat. We will definitely book here again when we travel to Grand Haven.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvsT0Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, Manager at Best Western Beacon Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you so much for the comments on your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forwarding to having you come back in the future.

Tom Kammeraad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    136
    42
    15
    2
See reviews for
182
115
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville, IL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Nice hotel on the strip. Very nice pool with whirlpool. Next door to Micky d's for the kids and across the street from Tim Horton's for mom and dad. If you don't know who Tim Horton is ask your Canadian cousin. Great rate friendly staff lots of parking and close to everything but the beach.


  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at Best Western Beacon Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Best Western Beacon Inn and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, pool, hot tub, and local attractions. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Grand Haven area.


Sincerely,

Tom Kammeraad
General Manager
Best Western Beacon Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion,IN
Level Contributor
178 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were in Grand Haven for a weekend getaway and picked the Best Western Beacon Inn based on the reviews and being a BW Rewards member. The room was very nice and very clean with two queen beds. Sometimes with 2 beds the room can be tight, but this was spacious enough for us. It also had a desk with two comfy chairs we moved around to watch TV. The bathroom had a separate vanity area which makes it much easier for 2 to get ready in the morning. Maybe it was because it's not the busy season, but the room was really quiet. The breakfast was very nice with the basic continental items plus waffles. The OJ was some of the best we have had at a hotel breakfast area. Check-in & checkout were very pleasant and speedy. No issues came up during our stay that needed to be addressed.

Room Tip: The room we had faced away from US 31 so that probably helped it to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 732MPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconInn, General Manager at Best Western Beacon Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear 1967giant,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Best Western Beacon Inn. We strive to ensure that every guest has a pleasant stay. We are happy to hear that you liked the size and cleanliness of our rooms. The housekeeping department works very hard to ensure each room is cleaned to our award winning standards (2012 Best Western Director's Award Winner). Thank you for mentioning our deluxe continental breakfast which includes Minute Maid orange juice, Carbon waffles, Quaker oatmeal, and much more. We work very hard to make sure that each of our guest has a positive experience. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We hope that we will see you again in the near future.


Thank you,


Thomas Kammeraad
General Manager
Best Western Beacon Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Everybody looks for different things in a hotel. Cleanliness is a big one. Comfort is another. For me, another important quality is plumbing. I loved the jet-engine high-flow toilet flush. But the other bathroom amenities weren't so hot. First of all, the sink and the tub both took forever to drain. Between the time I turned on the tub faucet and pulled up the shower knob, the bathtub was almost half full! And since I don't like standing in a tub of water while I shower, I had to wait a few minutes for it all to drain. Also, the temperature of my shower is very important to me. Here, it was very difficult to find the "sweet spot". It was either ice cold or scalding hot. It was possible to find the right temperature, but not easy. Other than that, it was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly. The location was great -- right near our destination and Lake Michigan. S. Beacon Blvd. had lots of good businesses on it, a McDonalds right next door. The rate was affordable. Unfortunately, the plumbing issues are a dealbreaker for me, but if that type of thing doesn't bother you, Best Western Beacon Inn is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant View, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I rely heavily on reviews for choosing hotels and then typically give Marriott's the priority. However, none of the Grand Haven hotels really excited me and there were no Marriott's. We didn't feel like running all the way to Grand Rapids. So we took a chance on the Beacon Inn, and they delivered. We were traveling with 3 children under the age of 5, and the staff took very good care of us. For once, I didn't even remotely feel bad about parading through the lobby with all the luggage and talkative kids. The staff were great with our kids. The room was immaculate and well maintained. Breakfast was on par with what you'd find at a more expensive hotel. The location was just perfect for what we wanted to do. We went in cautiously with low expectations, and the Beacon Inn far exceeded them. This is now our place to stay in Grand Haven.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Was pleasantly surprised by our stay here. Very clean--bathroom and shower were spotless. Would definitely stay here again. Only 1-2 miles from Grand Haven State Park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavafabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The other reviews about the cleanliness of this hotel are right! I was so surprised at how clean the room was. We stayed in the older section that has an exterior entrance to the room...I was a little concerned at first but it was just fine. Eventhough we were in the old section, everything was updated and didn't feel old. The breakfast & coffee were less than desirable, but it was free so I couldn't really complain. Would definitely stay here again. The Front Desk staff was also friendly & knowledgable about area restaurants...which was very helpful since it was our first time in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Haven
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 6 in Grand Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
8.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beacon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beacon Inn

Property: Best Western Beacon Inn
Address: 1525 S Beacon Blvd, Grand Haven, MI 49417-2612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Beacon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Beacon Inn is located in picturesque Grand Haven, MI. We're only a mile and a half from award winning beaches. We offer rooms with both interior and exterior entrances, and either two queen or one king bed per room. All of our spacious rooms have iron, hairdryer, coffee and a 40 inch flat screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beacon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beacon Hotel Grand Haven
Best Western Grand Haven
Grand Haven Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing