We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Haven Islands - CLOSED

Grand Haven Islands
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

A hidden gem due to location and outward appearance, but don't drive by this little place! Away from all the touristic areas, Grand Haven Islands is a fresh change to ordinary fare. We had one bowl of the brisket with Thai peanut sauce and one garlic-lime chicken shish kabob. Both came with basmati rice. The bowls come with a side of tortilla chips and pineapple-mango salsa. Lots of different "bowl" combinations are available and everything was fresh made and very flavorful. If you want something extraordinary, try Grand Haven Islands.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acrofton54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something different in GH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

A little ways from downtown and all the "touristy" spots. Lots of flavor! Take out order took less than 15 minutes. Had two bowls. Shrimp and brisket. Sauces were authentic and full of flavor. Check it out. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
2 Thank Onetwothreebingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fresh food at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Found this gem on TA. Very good fresh food. Loved the Tamales and the mango salsa. Could tell the homemade in every bite. Highly recommend trying this place for some really good out of the ordinary fare.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grand Haven Islands -- a must eat restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a restaurant we could have easily just driven by without a second thought. We are so glad that we decided to go in and eat there. We were enthusiastically greeted by the restaurant staff and made to feel like special guests. Although our son warns that the menu is not good for picky eaters, my husband and I felt that this was one of the best meals we have ever eaten. The bowls come in numerous choices as the customer can choose both type of meat and type of sauce. I asked for a recommendation and got the perfect combination for my tastes (Cuban beef with thai peanut sauce). My taste buds were happy throughout the meal. If we are in the area again, we will eat there again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank genkigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food off the beaten path...SO WORTH IT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a little gem that is just slightly off the beaten path but oh so worth it! Really only about 10 min north of the tourist town area. I can see why it is rated #2 on the list of restaurants.
The food is homemade and authentic. I ordered the Cuban Beef Bowel with chili lime sauce for lunch. This is the kind of place that is not afraid to add flavor to food…not that it was over spicy but just had a ton of flavor. Prices were extremely fair and service was GREAT!

One of our “Must go to’s” when we return to visit Grand Haven

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank vega15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Haven Islands also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing