We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good way to impress someone from France!”
Review of Rosebud Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Rosebud Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a good way to impress someone from France!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I had been to Rosebud before and had exceptional service and pretty good food; this visit wasn't even close. We had taken our French exchange student for a freezing walk on the pier and wanted to treat her to a warm meal. We started with the Loaded Baked Potato Bites and they were not at all what we expected. Many of the potatoes were undercooked and crunchy and the sauce was like a poor-man's nacho sauce, thin and watery. Several in our party needed to eat gluten free so the only option was to order a salad or chicken breast without a bun. Given that's all we were able to eat (without much imaginary presentation by the kitchen), this $40 meal was disappointing. The service was also lackluster and no comparison to the charming gal we'd had in the past. Speaking to Grand Haven natives, we could have made a much better choice since this restaurant has somewhat recently changed hands and is suffering.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fritztc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    9
    5
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beer + location”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Nice place in downtown Grand Haven with interesting choices on tap. One of the few bars open late after Labor Day. Had a couple tv screens with games on.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmandaKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
394 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were on a family road trip/vacation. My wife went to college near here so she wanted to show me around. After a full day of beach, touring around, and seeing the sites we were hungry. After looking at the menu at Rosebud we said this is it. My wife, special needs daughter and granddaughter enjoyed a good meal. The service was good, food was good, and the old bank had history. We like history. The waiter was very friendly so we visited for a while. He told us it had been a bank at one time and was Pretty Boy Floyd's first bank to rob. Well I had to research this. In fact it was. It was a botched job but it was his first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leroys73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok place, ok food, friendly service but not all there...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

No crowd, so we got seated right away. Things slowed down a bit from there. We got our food (which was decent, not great). The pizza was "runny," the pasta was decent. There wasn't much in the way of "kids meals." When the food came, we had no silverware, which we pointed out to two different servers. It took a bit too long to simply hand us the silverware; I probably should have just grabbed from the other tables.

There was nothing overly great or overly terrible about the experience...there are better places to go in Grand Haven.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBTA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so great. Just average”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere was not bad. Our waitress was struggling with the new menu. The food was average, not great. Our orders were very simple with hardley anything special. They came to the table all wrong. We wont be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turnercrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosebud Bar & Grill also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing