We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kirby House

The Kirby House
Ranked #20 of 104 Restaurants in Grand Haven
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Kirby House is the place to meet and eat in Grand Haven. A community favorite for excellent food, live entertainment, and simple relaxation with friends and family. Formerly a historic hotel of note, The Kirby House retains its old world charm, while providing all the pleasantries of new world fare and hospitality. Within walking distance of the shores of Lake Michigan, The Kirby House transcends the level of simple restaurant, and is the destination in Grand Haven for all things fun. The primarily American influenced menu is incredibly diverse and is exemplary in its attention to culinary detail and passion. Good times and laughter are located within.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I went to the Kirby House for her birthday dinner. The food is excellent as always. (we live in Grand Haven). Their fish dinner is always good. Since it was her birthday, her meal was free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingfriends63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Glad to hear you had a good dinner with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    63
    42
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Churubusco, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner in Grand Haven”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very busy on a Saturday night. Had a 35 minute wait, not bad. It was a little confusing entering, not sure of the options between the 3 different restaurants and having to choose before putting our names in. Kind of felt like we were holding the "regulars" up since they already understood how that all worked. Once seated our waitress, Stephanie, was very attentive. Portions were large. I had nachos, couldn't even finish half. Husband had the chicken stir fry, he really enjoyed. Son had one of the burgers, was cooked correctly as ordered and he thought it was good. Had no issues with the food quality. Would love to return to try the upstairs area and sit outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KayberlyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks for your great review. We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Nachos”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped here in the mid afternoon on Labor Day weekend. Restaurant was hopping. We were seated right away. Food was really good, the nachos were fantastic. Nice location close to the beach and the shops.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyoffour9039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We take a lot of pride in those Nachos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok, not great”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I had the prime rib, it was vry good, cooked properly and was hot. My wife had salmon, and although tasted good, it was barely warm. Brother in law had risotto and it was awful, he should of sent it back but he didn't want to cause a fuss. Many other had various steaks and all said their they were cooked well and tasted good. In fairness we were in a large party (16), however when paying top dollar for an a la carte meal, there really shouldn't be any excuses. The servers did a good job. I would be willing to try it again with a smaller group (4 to 6 people tops).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the review it was very helpful. We spoke to the kitchen staff about your remarks, and they are making the appropriate changes. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“overrated”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

When you enter they state they are actually three restaurants in one and you must choose then what you want to eat. While you are still standing there. Server did not refill drinks even once even though they were obviously empty and the tables are far too close together to feel like you are having a private meal. Steak was dry and over priced. Was dining with a child and they burned her cheeseburger.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babely80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Public Relations Manager at The Kirby House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are so sorry to hear you had a poor experience with us. We take our guests feedback very seriously and will do our best to correct the areas you pointed out. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kirby House also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to The Kirby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing