We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pizza - Michigan Staple!”

Fricano's Pizza Tavern
Ranked #9 of 104 Restaurants in Grand Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Believed to be the first pizzeria in Michigan. Thin crust, REAL cheese, the BEST pizza anywhere!! They have been here since 1949. The other Fricano restaurants are off-shoots of this one-the ORIGINAL
Elburn, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Pizza - Michigan Staple!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I just went here for the 1st time. It's good thin crust pizza. Each pizza is about 12 inches and very thin crust. My husband can eat his own. They are about $9/each. Most people order their own. This place is very casual... no beers on tap - just bottles, no glass plates - just paper, no parm cheese, no other choices besides pizza. Waitress very nice and attentive. Place had Air Conditioning which we were pleased to see b/c it was 90 degrees out and we weren't sure. Lots of variety when it comes to people.... young college age kids, couples, couples with young children and elderly couples too. Plenty of parking. Outside of place doesn't look that great but pizza is very good! Cash only. ATM there in case you forget though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kariensean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    27
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Voted the best pizza in Michigan.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Fricano's Pizza Tavern is a cornerstone of the Grand Haven community, as it has been in business since 1949, and by the lines at the doors on any weekend, they are doing something right! If you really enjoy pizza from any of the "chain" pizza restaurants, you may not like Fricano's pizza. Yes, it is a bit greasy, but that is why I always enjoy a glass of red wine (Lambrusco) with the pizza because we all know that red wine is good for the heart! I love the thin crispy crust, and the toppings are always fresh and well balanced. The service is quick and friendly, and even though the surroundings aren't fancy, the decor isn't why I am there; its for the pizza!! They have installed air conditioning, so don't let a warm day in summer keep you away. If you don't like standing in line, be there when they open the doors at 5:00 pm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlinerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

If you were a Seinfeld fan, you will remember the episode with the Soup Nazi. Take the same philosophy and apply it to pizza and you've got Fricano's. One size. Five toppings to choose from. But what pizza! Each of the Fricano's up and down the lakeshore is owned by a different member of the family. For ambience, we love Ted Fricano's Muskegon Lake location, but The Grand Haven location is the grand daddy of them all. One pizza makes a hearty meal for one or a light meal for two.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank casagtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Only pizza. Only one size. Only five toppings. Old, dilapidated building out of the way. Salty. Greasy. Yet very delicious and unlike virtually any other pizza. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lookandlisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pizza, Pizza, and Pizza”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Always a "must do" when we are in the western Michigan area. The only thing they serve is pizza with a full bar. They offer five toppings and anchovies on the side, with one size pizza. The pizza comes with a crunchy thin crust and a sauce that is hard to describe since it seems to cook up in the crust and the pizza. All I can say is Yum Yum. Prices are reasonable, service is excellent and it's an experience that will have you wanting to come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fricano's Pizza Tavern also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to Fricano's Pizza Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing