We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Russ' Restaurant

Russ' Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 106 Restaurants in Grand Haven
Restaurant details
Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We recently had our first meal here even though we have been in Grand Haven several times--Russ' just looked like your old timey Big Boy type restaurant and we wanted something a little fancier.. Well, it sort of is old-timey, but there were some pleasant surprises-- our server was friendly, helpful, and competent and the food arrived reasonably quickly. The prices were modest and we thought the food was good. And hey, the onion rings were outstanding. So we'd come back another time, for sure. It's nice to get away from the pricey downtown restaurants that lean towards mediocre. Here at least you get your money's worth.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bushwhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Accomodated our group of 14”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Good food at very good price, large lobby area. Have a variety of seating arrangements and plenty of seating for the hungry of Grand Haven.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank laughljp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Indiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stop here for a decent, inexpensive meal”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Nothing special about this place. The food is average in about every aspect. The food was hot and as described in the menu. The prices are good. The wait staff seemed attentive and personable. Decent menu, and a large desert menu. See no reason not to return the next time we're in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

4 of us ordered the breakfast bar. We were all very unhappy with it. Most everything was cold. It tasted like one of those frozen breakfast meals only worse. We complained and they didnt offer to do anything about it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sodapopart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fun place to visit often.”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The food is always good at Russ'. The selection is good and the service is fast. They always have a good selection.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizZ189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russ' Restaurant also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to Russ' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing